Hammersley calls tune as Clonoulty bag five-in-a-row

TIMMY HAMMERSLEY scored 0-13 for Clonoulty-Rossmore yesterday in their facile West Tipperary SHC final victory against Cappawhite at Dundrum.

For the first time in the club’s history, Clonoulty-Rossmore captured a fifth successive divisional crown and Hammersley was on fire as Cappawhite were outclassed.

The senior All-Ireland medal winner from last year had eight points posted by half-time as the winners established a 0-15 to 0-7 lead.

Cappa’ pulled the deficit back to six points twice in the second-half but Clonoulty-Rossmore pulled away for an impressive win, with Tipp senior panellist John O’Neill on target for a stunning 41st minute goal.

The ball was transferred to O’Neill via hard-working midfielder Sean O’Connor, before reaching the corner forward and his finish left Franny Quinn with no chance.

Scorers for Clonoulty-Rossmore: T Hammersley 0-13 (5f, 1 65), J O’Neill 1-3, P White 0-3 (1 sl), C Ryan & Thomas Butler 0-2 each, F O’Keeffe, J Forrestal & C Hammersley 0-1 each.

Scorers for Cappawhite: J O’Neill 0-5f, J Bradshaw 0-3, J Carr 0-2, P Julian, J Ryan & D Heffernan 0-1 each.

CLONOULTY-ROSSMORE: D Dwyer; J O’Keeffe, P Heffernan, K Horan; J O’Keeffe, J Devane, A Kearney; P White, S O’Connor; Tom Butler, C Ryan, Thomas Butler; F O’Keeffe, T Hammersley, J O’Neill.

Subs: C Hammersley for F O’Keeffe (36), J Forrestal for O’Neill (53), J Heffernan for J O’Keeffe (56), A White for Thomas Butler (59), C Quirke for Tom Butler (60+2).

CAPPAWHITE: F Quinn; R Dunne, T Costello, M Kennedy; T Treacy, S McDermott, M Buckley; D Kelly, P Julian; J Ryan, N Hayes, D Heffernan; S Ryan, J O’Neill, J Carr.

Subs: P O’Neill for Costello (ht), J Bradshaw for S Ryan (h.t.), G Ryan for Kelly (54).

Referee: F Horgan (Knockavilla Donaskeigh Kickhams).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up