Curran set to lead Galway attack

GALWAY boss Tommy Joyce has made three changes to his starting fifteen for this afternoon’s All-Ireland MFC quarter-final against Cavan in Pearse Park at 3pm.

Edwin Murray comes into the team at left corner-back, Tom Curran is named at centre-forward while Gearóid Armstrong, younger brother of senior star Sean, is selected at right corner-forward. Liam Silke, Gearóid Canavan and Sean Moran are the three players to make way.

Positional changes see Adrian Nolan move to right corner-back, Conor Cunningham switch to centre-back, Shane Maughan shift to midfield, Shane Walsh go to left half-forward while Ian Burke is named at full-forward. Ulster champions Cavan have yet to name their team but report no injury concerns with key players Conor Moynagh, Conor Finnegan and Andrew Graham all set to feature. Today’s other All-Ireland MFC quarter-final sees Armagh come up against Roscommon in Croke Park at 2pm.

Meanwhile Tipperary minor manager David Power has made just the one change in personnel for their All-Ireland MFC quarter-final battle with Meath in Portlaoise on Monday at 2pm. Dual star John Meagher, who was introduced during the Munster final victory over Cork, starts at full-back instead of Adrian McGuire.

The other All-Ireland MFC quarter-final on Monday sees Cork face Dublin in Portlaoise at 4pm and Brian Cuthbert has made five changes in personnel on the Cork side. Conor Dorman replaces Kevin Fulignati at full-back while Killian O’Hanlon and Killian McIntyre come into the wing-back positions as Kevin Crowley and TJ Brosnan make way. Kevin Kavanagh is selected at midfield instead of Sean Kiely while David Harrington gets the nod in attack ahead of Darragh Murphy.

GALWAY (MF v Cavan): C Gleeson; A Nolan, J Shaughnessy, E Murray; E Walsh, C Cunningham, C Mulryan; S Maughan, S Moran; P Glynn, T Curran, S Walsh; G Armstrong, I Burke, C Rabbitte.

TIPPERARY (MF v Meath): G Slattery; N Sullivan, J Meagher, C O’Sullivan; C O’Riordan, D Fitzelle, S Kennedy; S O’Brien, I Fahey; G Henry, P Quirke, B Maher; L McGrath, M Quinlivan, TJ Ryan.

CORK (MF v Dublin): J McDonnell; J Davis, C Dorman, S Cronin; K O’Hanlon, B O’Driscoll, K McIntyre; K Kavanagh, M Sugrue; C Vaughan, A Cadogan, C O’Sullivan; D McEoin, S O’Mahony, D Harrington

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: pearse parkplace: croke parkplace: tipperaryplace: portlaoiseperson: curranperson: tommy joyceperson: edwin murrayperson: tom curranperson: gearoid armstrongperson: seanperson: liam silkeperson: gearóid canavanperson: sean moranperson: adrian nolanperson: conor cunninghamperson: shane maughanperson: shane walshperson: ian burkeperson: conor moynaghperson: conor finneganperson: andrew grahamperson: david powerperson: john meagherperson: adrian mcguireperson: brian cuthbertperson: conor dormanperson: kevin fulignatiperson: killian o’hanlonperson: killian mcintyreperson: kevin crowleyperson: tj brosnanperson: kevin kavanaghperson: seán kielyperson: david harringtonperson: darragh murphyperson: c gleesonperson: a nolanperson: j shaughnessyperson: e murrayperson: e walshperson: c cunninghamperson: c mulryanperson: s maughanperson: s moranperson: p glynnperson: t curranperson: s walshperson: g armstrongperson: i burkeperson: c rabbitteperson: g slatteryperson: n sullivanperson: j meagherperson: c o’sullivanperson: c o’riordanperson: d fitzelleperson: s kennedyperson: s o’brienperson: i faheyperson: g henryperson: p quirkeperson: b maherperson: l mcgrathperson: m quinlivanperson: tj ryanperson: j mcdonnellperson: j davisperson: c dormanperson: s croninperson: k o’hanlonperson: b o’driscollperson: k mcintyreperson: k kavanaghperson: m sugrueperson: c vaughanperson: a cadoganperson: d mceoinperson: s o’mahonyperson: d harringtonevent: all-ireland mfc quarter-finalevent: all-ireland mfc quarterevent: munsterevent: all-ireland mfc quarter-event: mforganisation: galwayorganisation: cavanorganisation: armaghorganisation: meathorganisation: corkorganisation: dublin
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up