Ó Sé kicks off season at full-back for Kerry

MARC Ó SÉ will make his seasonal debut for the Kerry footballers tonight when he lines out at full-back for their McGrath Cup semi-final clash against Cork in Austin Stack Park (7.30pm).

The inclusion of the An Ghaeltacht defender is one of five changes made by manager Jack O’Connor from last week’s quarter-final victory over Limerick IT. Brendan Kealy comes into goal, Anthony Maher is named at midfield, Donncha Walsh starts at half-forward and David Moran is drafted in at wing-forward.

Cork hurling boss Denis Walsh has handed out 10 intercounty senior debuts for tomorrow’s Waterford Crystal Cup senior hurling quarter-final against UCC in Páirc Ui Rinn. Four members of last year’s Cork minor hurling side are included in half-back Christopher Joyce, wing-forward Conor Lehane, and corner-forward pair Jamie Coughlan and Brian Hartnett. The other newcomers are corner-back Paul O’Leary, full-back Cian Fogarty, centre-back Mark Ellis, midfielder Brian Lawton, centre-forward Bill Cooper and full-forward Seamus Harnedy are the other newcomers. Fogarty, Ellis, Lawton and Cooper all featured in Cork’s All-Ireland IHC final defeat against Kilkenny last August.

KERRY (SF v Cork): B Kealy; P Reidy, M Ó’Sé, S Enright; J Lyne, T Ó’Sé, E Hickson; A Maher, S Scanlon; A O’Sullivan, Darran O’Sullivan, D Walsh; D Geaney, D Moran, P Geaney.

Subs: T Mac an tSaoir, G Sayers, B O’Grady, K Dwyer, M O’Donoghue, Danny O’Sullivan, C O’Mahony, P McCarthy, P O’Connor.

CORK (SF Panel v Kerry): D Lordan, B Shanahan, D O’Sullivan, E Keane, M Cronin, A O’Connor, F Lynch, C O’Driscoll, R O’Sullivan, AJ O’Connor, K O’Connor, M Mennis, G Spillane, D Goold, J Sexton, K O’Halloran, K McMahon, D O’Connor, T O’Neill, M Herlihy, M Dilworth, E Cotter, D O’Donovan, I Jones, S McLoughlin.

CORK (SH v UCC): M Coleman; P O’Leary, C Fogarty, S Murphy; C Joyce, M Ellis, R Ryan; G Callanan, B Lawton; T Murray, B Cooper, C Lehane; J Coughlan, S Harnedy, B Hartnett. Subs: A Nash, G Moylan, P O’Mahony¸ D O’Sullivan, C McCarthy, E Murphy, M Cussen, J Wall.

LOUTH (SF v UCD): S Connor; G Hoey, A Hoey, R Greene; R Finnegan, D Crilly, L Shevlin; P Keenan, R Carroll; D Byrne, A Reid, B Donnelly; JP Rooney, S Lennon, D Maguire.

SLIGO (SF v NUIG): B McGovern; B Kennedy, G Gilsenan, R Donovan; C Harrison, P McGovern, B Curran; T Taylor, B Egan; F Quinn, E O’Hara, P Hughes; M Brehony, A Marren, D Maye.

NUIG (SF v Sligo): N King; C McDonald, S McHale, K Rogers; P Gardiner, C Conroy, J Moore; S Gilmartin, D Corroon; F Deasmhúnaigh, G Higgins, M McHugh; N Douglas, A Mullan, J Doherty.

More in this section

gaaplace: austin stack parkplace: páirc uí rinnperson: ó séperson: kerryperson: jack o’connorperson: brendan kealyperson: anthony maherperson: donncha walshperson: david moranperson: denis walshperson: christopher joyceperson: conor lehaneperson: jamie coughlanperson: brian hartnettperson: paul o’learyperson: cian fogartyperson: mark ellisperson: brian lawtonperson: bill cooperperson: seamus harnedyperson: fogartyperson: ellisperson: lawtonperson: cooperperson: kealyperson: p reidyperson: m o’seperson: s enrightperson: j lyneperson: t o’seperson: e hicksonperson: a maherperson: s scanlonperson: a o’sullivanperson: darran o’sullivanperson: d walshperson: d geaneyperson: d moranperson: p geaneyperson: t mac an tsaoirperson: g sayersperson: b o’gradyperson: k dwyerperson: m o’donoghueperson: danny o’sullivanperson: c o’mahonyperson: p mccarthyperson: p o’connorperson: d lordanperson: b shanahanperson: d o’sullivanperson: e keaneperson: m croninperson: a o’connorperson: f lynchperson: c o’driscollperson: r o’sullivanperson: aj o’connorperson: k o’connorperson: m mennisperson: g spillaneperson: d gooldperson: j sextonperson: k o’halloranperson: k mcmahonperson: d o’connorperson: t o’neillperson: m herlihyperson: m dilworthperson: e cotterperson: d o’donovanperson: i jonesperson: m colemanperson: p o’learyperson: c fogartyperson: s murphyperson: c joyceperson: m ellisperson: r ryanperson: g callananperson: b lawtonperson: t murrayperson: b cooperperson: c lehaneperson: j coughlanperson: s harnedyperson: b hartnettperson: aperson: g moylanperson: p o’mahony¸person: c mccarthyperson: e murphyperson: m cussenperson: j wallperson: s connorperson: g hoeyperson: a hoeyperson: r greeneperson: r finneganperson: d crillyperson: l shevlinperson: p keenanperson: d byrneperson: a reidperson: b donnellyperson: jp rooneyperson: s lennonperson: d maguireperson: b mcgovernperson: b kennedyperson: g gilsenanperson: r donovanperson: c harrisonperson: p mcgovernperson: b curranperson: t taylorperson: b eganperson: f quinnperson: e o’haraperson: p hughesperson: m brehonyperson: marrenperson: n kingperson: c mcdonaldperson: mchaleperson: k rogersperson: p gardinerperson: c conroyperson: j mooreperson: s gilmartinperson: d corroonperson: f deasmhúnaighperson: g higginsperson: m mchughperson: n douglasperson: a mullanperson: j dohertyevent: mcgrath cupevent: waterford crystal cup seniorevent: all-ireland ihc finalorganisation: kerryorganisation: corkorganisation: an ghaeltachtorganisation: limerick itorganisation: uccorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: sforganisation: shorganisation: ucdorganisation: sligo

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.