Kingdom romp to meeting with Cork

KERRY booked a McGrath Cup semi-final with All-Ireland champions Cork on Sunday following this mismatch at Austin Stack Park, Tralee yesterday.

The hosts bossed this tie from the outset with Darran O’Sullivan looking sharp, in his return to attack after playing at wing-back last week.

LIT, thanks to two early points from their Limerick senior Ger Collins, trailed 0-4 to 0-2 after 15 minutes, with Alan O’Sullivan, Gary Sayers and David Geaney (2 frees) on the mark for Kerry.

However, with Tomas Ó Sé, Padraig Reidy and Jonathon Lyne solid in defence, the Kingdom began to pull clear.

A succession of points, including a superb effort from Lyne, saw Kerry race 0-8 to 0-2 clear by the 30th minute, and it was game over in the 32nd minute when David Geaney’s 45 was punched to the net by his cousin Paul.

Kerry led 1-10 to 0-3 and early points from Alan O’Sullivan and Darran O’Sullivan extended Kerry’s lead before a David Geaney goal heaped further misery on the students (2-14 to 0-3).

Scorers for Kerry: D Geaney 1-6 (0-4 frees), P Geaney 1-3, D O’Sullivan 0-2 (0-1 free), J Lyne and A O’Sullivan 0-2 each, G Sayers, and B O’Grady 0-1 each.

Scorers for LIT: G Collins 0-3 (0-1free), E O’Connor 0-1 free, G O’Gorman 0-1.

KERRY: T Mac An tSaoir; K O’Dwyer, P Reidy, S Enright; J Lyne, T Ó Sé, E Hickson; S Scanlon, A O’Sullivan; G Sayers, Darran O’Sullivan, B O’Grady; D Geaney, K Donaghy, P Geaney.

Subs: N O’Mahony for G Sayers (ht), D Moran for S Scanlon (47), C O’Mahony for T Ó Sé (47), D O’Sullivan for S Enright (47), M O’Donoghue for K Donaghy (52).

LIMERICK INSTITUTE TECHNOLOGY: P Dwyer; S Bolton, N Brady, P Dalton; N Gaughan, E Leamy, P Sheehan; E Cummins, C Talty; D McNamara, D Clohessy, E O’Connor; D Heffernan, G Collins, G O’Gorman.

Subs: T McCarthy for D Clohessy (43), S Lenihan for E Leamy (45), S Hayes for D Heffernan (50), D Murtagh for P Dalton (inj 55).

Referee: B Tyrell (Tipperary).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up