Connors wins Déise award

NOEL CONNORS has been named Waterford Hurler of the Year after a sensational season.

Connors, who collected All Star and GPA awards, said he was thrilled with the decision. “It’s a marvellous honour,” Connors said.

Stradbally’s Tony Grey, who led his club to a county senior championship title, collected the ‘Footballer Of The Year’’ accolade. He was also an influential presence in the county team that made history by winning National League promotion to Division Three for the first time.

The young “Hurler And Footballer Of The Year’’ awards have been won by Ballygunner’s Pauraic Mahony and Paul White of Kilrossanty respectively.

De La Salle were crowned club of the year; Michael Harney collected the coveted Jack Furlong Award while special achievement awards were won by Ballydurn/Newtown and Stradbally’s football manager Sean Ahearne.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.