Quinn and Brennan in for Dubs

DUBLIN boss Richie Stakelum has drafted David Quinn and Ciaran Brennan into his team for tomorrow’s Bord Gais Energy All-Ireland U21HC semi-final against Galway in Tullamore.

They replace Shane Stapleton and David Treacy, who have both been ruled out for the rest of the season after suffering cruciate ligament injuries in training recently, in the only changes in personnel from the team thatdefeated Wexford in the Leinster final.

Dual star Quinn, who scored a goal after coming off the bench in theLeinster final win over Wexford, had started the provincial semi-final victory over Kilkenny, while Brennan of Faughs comes in for his first championship start of the season. Positional changes in the Dublin attack see Daire Plunkett move to centre-forward, Liam Rushe go to full-forward and Barry O’Rorke switch to left half-forward.

Senior star David Burke will captain the Galway team at centre-back while right corner-forward Richie Cummins is the only other senior panellist in the starting fifteen named by Tribesmen manager Anthony Cunningham last night. The side contains four members of the NUI Galway team that lifted Fitzgibbon Cup honours last March with Declan Connolly at right corner-back, Paul Gordon starting at full-back, Barry Daly named atmidfield and Gerry Kelly selected at left corner-forward. Right half-back Sylvie Óg Linnane, centre-forward Niall Quinn and left half-forward Eoin Forde are other survivors from the side that were defeated by Clare in lastAugust’s epic All-Ireland U21semi-final.

Tipperary manager Ken Hogan has made no changes for his side’sAll-Ireland U21 semi-final against Antrim which is the curtain-raiser to the Dublin and Galway clash inTullamore. Hogan has kept faith with the team that claimed Munsterhonours against Clare in SempleStadium last month. The team contains eight Tipperary senior panellists in defenders Michael Cahill, Padraic Maher and Brendan Maher, midfield duo Seamus Hennessey and Noel McGrath, and attackers Patrick Maher, Brian O’Meara and Michael Heffernan.

Kerry have kept faith with team that defeated Lancashire at the semi-final stage for tomorrow’s All-Ireland JFC final against Sligo in Pearse Stadium at 3pm. The side features former county seniors Brendan Guiney and Aodhan MacGearailt at left half-back and full-forward respectively. Sligomanager Kevin Walsh has made three changes from their semi-final win over Louth with Eoin McHugh replacing Niall Walsh at right half-back, Adrian McIntyre coming in for Michael Quinn at centre-back and Brendan Egan selected instead of BrendanMcGrath at left half-forward.

Meanwhile Mayo and Tyrone have named unchanged teams for Sunday’s All-Ireland minor semi-final.

DUBLIN U21H: F McGarry; R Walsh, D Kelly, O Gough; R O’Loughlin, M Quilty, P Kelly; C Clinton, P Buckeridge; D Quinn, D Plunkett, B O’Rorke; C Brennan, L Rushe, N McMorrow.

GALWAY U21H: C Finnegan; D Connolly, P Gordon, G O’Halloran; S Óg Linnane, D Burke, N Donoghue; J Coen, B Daly; J Regan, N Quinn, E Forde; R Cummins, G Burke, G Kelly.

TIPPERARY U21H: J Logue; K O’Gorman, J Coghlan, M Cahill; J Barry, Padraic Maher, B Maher; S Hennessy, N McGrath, S Carey, Patrick Maher, B O’Meara; M Heffernan, P Murphy, J O’Dwyer.

KERRY JF: S Og O’Ciardubháin; G O’Connor, F Griffin, A Cahill; E Hickson, A Greaney, B Guiney; M Coakley, D Murphy; M Murphy, M O’Donoghue, A O’Sullivan; G Sayers, A MacGearailt, J Buckley. Subs: P O’Sullivan, B Poff, B McGuire, T McGoldrick, A Fitzgerald, B Gleeson, F Courtney, C O’Mahony, D Doyle, F McAuliffe.

SLIGO JF: J Farrell; D McLynn, D Rooney, L Bree; E McHugh, A McIntyre, K Gallagher; J Murphy, P McTiernan; K Finan, P McGoldrick, B Egan; C McNamara, S Stenson, D Maye.

MAYO MF: P Mannion; B Harrison, N Freeman, C Twomey; R Quirke, C Walsh, C Horan; D Kirby, S McGarry; F Durkan, M Forde, S Kelly; J McDonnell, D Coen, C O’Connor.

TYRONE MF: M McReynolds, S McGarrity, C Clarke, HP McGeary, N Sludden, M Donaghy, E Deeney, C Grugan, H Og Conlon, R Donnelly, T Canavan, R Devlin, S Tierney, J McCullagh, R O’Neill.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: TullamorePlace: DublinPlace: Pearse StadiumPerson: QuinnPerson: BrennanPerson: Richie StakelumPerson: David QuinnPerson: Ciaran BrennanPerson: Shane StapletonPerson: David TreacyPerson: Daire PlunkettPerson: Liam RushePerson: Barry O’RorkePerson: David BurkePerson: Richie CumminsPerson: Anthony CunninghamPerson: Declan ConnollyPerson: Paul GordonPerson: Barry DalyPerson: Gerry KellyPerson: Sylvie Og LinnanePerson: Niall QuinnPerson: Eoin FordePerson: Ken HoganPerson: HoganPerson: Michael CahillPerson: Pádraic MaherPerson: Brendan MaherPerson: Seamus HennesseyPerson: Noel McGrathPerson: Patrick MaherPerson: Brian O’MearaPerson: Michael HeffernanPerson: Brendan GuineyPerson: Aodhán MacGearailtPerson: Kevin WalshPerson: Eoin McHughPerson: Niall WalshPerson: Adrian McIntyrePerson: Michael QuinnPerson: Brendan EganPerson: BrendanMcGrathPerson: McGarryPerson: R WalshPerson: D KellyPerson: O GoughPerson: R O’LoughlinPerson: M QuiltyPerson: P KellyPerson: C ClintonPerson: P BuckeridgePerson: D QuinnPerson: D PlunkettPerson: B O’RorkePerson: C BrennanPerson: L RushePerson: N McMorrowPerson: C FinneganPerson: D ConnollyPerson: P GordonPerson: G O’HalloranPerson: S Óg LinnanePerson: D BurkePerson: N DonoghuePerson: J CoenPerson: B DalyPerson: J ReganPerson: N QuinnPerson: E FordePerson: R CumminsPerson: G BurkePerson: G KellyPerson: J LoguePerson: K O’GormanPerson: J CoghlanPerson: M CahillPerson: J BarryPerson: B MaherPerson: S HennessyPerson: N McGrathPerson: S CareyPerson: B O’MearaPerson: M HeffernanPerson: P MurphyPerson: J O’DwyerPerson: S Óg O’CiardubháinPerson: G O’ConnorPerson: F GriffinPerson: A CahillPerson: E HicksonPerson: A GreaneyPerson: B GuineyPerson: M CoakleyPerson: D MurphyPerson: M MurphyPerson: M O’DonoghuePerson: A O’SullivanPerson: G SayersPerson: A MacGearailtPerson: J BuckleyPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: B PoffPerson: B McGuirePerson: T McGoldrickPerson: A FitzgeraldPerson: B GleesonPerson: F CourtneyPerson: C O’MahonyPerson: D DoylePerson: F McAuliffePerson: J FarrellPerson: D McLynnPerson: D RooneyPerson: L BreePerson: E McHughPerson: A McIntyrePerson: K GallagherPerson: J MurphyPerson: P McTiernanPerson: K FinanPerson: P McGoldrickPerson: B EganPerson: C McNamaraPerson: S StensonPerson: D MayePerson: P MannionPerson: B HarrisonPerson: N FreemanPerson: C TwomeyPerson: R QuirkePerson: C WalshPerson: C HoranPerson: D KirbyPerson: S McGarryPerson: F DurkanPerson: M FordePerson: S KellyPerson: J McDonnellPerson: D CoenPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: TyronePerson: M McReynoldsPerson: S McGarrityPerson: C ClarkePerson: HP McGearyPerson: N SluddenPerson: M DonaghyPerson: E DeeneyPerson: C GruganPerson: H Og ConlonPerson: R DonnellyPerson: T CanavanPerson: R DevlinPerson: S TierneyPerson: J McCullaghPerson: R O’NeillEvent: All-Ireland U21HCEvent: LeinsterEvent: All-Ireland U21semi-finalEvent: -Ireland U21 semi-finalEvent: All-Ireland JFCEvent: All-Ireland minorOrganisation: Dubs DUBLINOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: NUI GalwayOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: MunsterhonoursOrganisation: LancashireOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: LouthOrganisation: Tyrone
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.206 s