Counihan goes same again for Rebel showdown with Rossies

CONOR COUNIHAN has given a vote of confidence to the Cork team that stuttered over Limerick after extra-time last weekend for Sunday’s All-Ireland SFC tie with Roscommon.

Aidan Walsh, Paul Kerrigan, Derek Kavanagh and Paddy Kelly all retain their places on the team despite being substituted in that game, meaning that Donncha O’Connor, Nicholas Murphy, Alan O’Connor and John Miskella must all be content with a place amongst the substitutes once again.

There is no place either for dual star Eoin Cadogan, who chose to play with the Cork hurlers in the past weeks rather than the football team.

Brian McGuigan will make his first start for Tyrone since the 2008 All-Ireland quarter-final win over Dublin when the sides meet again in tomorrow’s last-eight eliminator at Croke Park.

The Ardboe man replaces his brother Tommy, who has been ruled out by a knee injury, in the only change made by manager Mickey Harte from the side that started the Ulster final victory over Monaghan.

McGuigan comes in at centre forward with top scorer Sean Cavanagh pushing up to full forward.

There’s no place in the starting 15 for 2005 footballer of the year, Stephen O’Neill, who has played just 10 minutes football in the past 10 weeks.

He was forced out of the Ulster semi-final win over Down in the early stages after suffering a heel injury, and missed the provincial decider against Monaghan due to severe bruising. He is likely to be introduced from the bench however.

Eoghan O’Flaherty has been rewarded for his impressive appearances off the bench in recent qualifier victories over Derry and Monaghan with a recall to the Kildare team for Sunday’s clash with Meath.

The Carbury man’s speed, creativity and eye for score get him back into the team in place of Ken Donnelly, who is named amongst the subs despite having ruptured a cruciate knee ligament in May.

O’Flaherty, who is a brother of wing-back Morgan, first came to prominence during Kildare’s run to the All-Ireland U21 final in 2008 and graduated to the senior panel that season.

He missed the entire league campaign as he concentrated on his studies but some excellent form with his club saw him invited back onto the squad just before Kildare’s Leinster championship loss to Louth.

The long-serving Anthony Rainbow is also back amongst the subs having missed the qualifier campaign with a leg injury. There were no surprises on the Down team for the clash with Kerry.

James McCartan makes no change from the side that overpowered Sligo. That means that Ronan Murtagh will have to bide his time on the line despite scoring 1-5 from play when called into the fray against the beaten Connacht finalists.

CORK (SF v Roscommon): A Quirke; R Carey, M Shields, J O’Sullivan; N O’Leary, G Canty, P Kissan; D Kavanagh, A Walsh; P Kerrigan, P O’Neill, Paddy Kelly; D Goulding, C Sheehan, C O’Neill

TYRONE (SF v Dublin): P McConnell, C McCarron, Justin McMahon, R McMenamin, D Harte, C Gormley, P Jordan, C Cavanagh, K Hughes, B Dooher, B McGuigan, Joe McMahon, M Penrose, S Cavanagh, O Mulligan.

KILDARE (SF v Meath): S McCormack; P Kelly, H McGrillen, A Mac Lochlainn; M O’Flaherty, E Bolton, B Flanagan; D Flynn, D Earley; J Kavanagh, P O’Neill, E O’Flaherty; J Doyle, A Smith, E Callaghan

KERRY (SF v Down): B Kealy, M Ó S, T Griffin, T O’Sullivan, A O’Mahony, M McCarthy, K Young, S Scanlon, M Quirke, Darran O’Sullivan, Declan O’Sullivan, D Walsh, C Cooper, K Donaghy, B Sheehan.

DOWN (SF v Kerry): B McVeigh; D McCartan, D Gordon, D Rafferty; D Rooney, K McKernan, C Garvey; A Rogers, K King; D Hughes, M Polan, P McComiskey; B Coulter, J Clarke, M Clarke

MAYO (MF v Offaly): P Mannion; B Harrison, N Freeman, C Twomey; R Quirke, C Walsh , C Horan; D Kirby, S McGarry; F Durkan, M Forde, S Kelly; C Costello, D Coen, C O’Connor.

TYRONE (MFC v Kerry): M McReynolds; S McGarrity, C Clarke, HP McGeary; N Sludden, M Donaghy, E Deeney; C Grugan, H Óg Conlon; R Donnelly, T Canavan, R Devil; S Tierney, J McCullagh, R O’Neill.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Croke ParkPlace: LouthPerson: CounihanPerson: RossiesPerson: Conor CounihanPerson: Aidan WalshPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: Derek KavanaghPerson: Paddy KellyPerson: Donncha O’ConnorPerson: Nicholas MurphyPerson: Alan O’ConnorPerson: John MiskellaPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Brian McGuiganPerson: TommyPerson: Mickey HartePerson: McGuiganPerson: Sean CavanaghPerson: Stephen O’NeillPerson: EoghanPerson: Ken DonnellyPerson: O’FlahertyPerson: MorganPerson: Anthony RainbowPerson: KerryPerson: James McCartanPerson: Ronan MurtaghPerson: CorkPerson: A QuirkePerson: R CareyPerson: M ShieldsPerson: J O’SullivanPerson: N O’LearyPerson: G CantyPerson: P KissanPerson: D KavanaghPerson: A WalshPerson: P KerriganPerson: P O’NeillPerson: D GouldingPerson: C SheehanPerson: C O’Neill TYRONEPerson: P McConnellPerson: C McCarronPerson: Justin McMahonPerson: R McMenaminPerson: D HartePerson: C GormleyPerson: P JordanPerson: C CavanaghPerson: K HughesPerson: B DooherPerson: B McGuiganPerson: Joe McMahonPerson: M PenrosePerson: S CavanaghPerson: O MulliganPerson: KildarePerson: S McCormackPerson: P KellyPerson: H McGrillenPerson: Mac LochlainnPerson: M O’FlahertyPerson: E BoltonPerson: B FlanaganPerson: D FlynnPerson: D EarleyPerson: J KavanaghPerson: E O’FlahertyPerson: J DoylePerson: A SmithPerson: E Callaghan KERRYPerson: B KealyPerson: M Ó SPerson: T GriffinPerson: T O’SullivanPerson: A O’MahonyPerson: M McCarthyPerson: K YoungPerson: S ScanlonPerson: M QuirkePerson: Darran O’SullivanPerson: Declan O’SullivanPerson: D WalshPerson: C CooperPerson: K DonaghyPerson: B SheehanPerson: B McVeighPerson: D McCartanPerson: D GordonPerson: D RaffertyPerson: D RooneyPerson: K McKernanPerson: C GarveyPerson: A RogersPerson: K KingPerson: D HughesPerson: M PolanPerson: P McComiskeyPerson: B CoulterPerson: J ClarkePerson: M Clarke MAYOPerson: P MannionPerson: B HarrisonPerson: N FreemanPerson: C TwomeyPerson: R QuirkePerson: C WalshPerson: C HoranPerson: D KirbyPerson: S McGarryPerson: F DurkanPerson: M FordePerson: S KellyPerson: C CostelloPerson: D CoenPerson: C O’ConnorPerson: TyronePerson: M McReynoldsPerson: S McGarrityPerson: C ClarkePerson: HP McGearyPerson: N SluddenPerson: M DonaghyPerson: E DeeneyPerson: C GruganPerson: H Og ConlonPerson: R DonnellyPerson: T CanavanPerson: R DevilPerson: S TierneyPerson: J McCullaghPerson: R O’NeillEvent: RebelEvent: All-Ireland SFCEvent: 2008 All-Ireland quarter-finalEvent: UlsterEvent: All-Ireland U21 finalEvent: Leinster championshipEvent: KerryOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: Cork hurlersOrganisation: TyroneOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: DownOrganisation: DerryOrganisation: KildareOrganisation: Down teamOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: MeathOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Kerry
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.