Carr quits Cavan after Cork mauling

CAVAN are on the lookout for a new senior football manager after Tommy Carr last night decided to bring the curtain down on his two-year reign in charge.

Cavan crashed out of the All-Ireland qualifiers last Saturday with a heavy defeat against Cork and Carr made no immediate decision on his future after the Cavan County Board asked him to reflect on the matter. However he has now opted to step aside and concludes an unsuccessful two-year spell in charge. Carr’s position came under threat last summer after their All-Ireland qualifier exit to Wicklow when the county board attempted to have him removed from his position, but the support of the Cavan football panel persuaded Carr to remain in charge.

Meanwhile Roscommon manager Fergal O’Donnell has kept faith with the side that defeated Leitrim for Sunday’s Connacht SFC final against Sligo. The Rossies triumphed in that semi-final clash 1-13 to 0-11 and O’Donnell has resisted the temptation for change.

David O’Gara and Kevin Higgins both made substitute appearances in the second-half of that game, but have been kept in reserve again. Enda Kenny returns to the panel after missing the London and Leitrim ties through injury, while Fintan Cregg, a regular last season, also returns to the substitutes bench after missing the earlier part of the season through injury.

Roscommon will be captained by Peter Domican at full-back as they chase their first provincial senior football title since current boss O’Donnell captained them to success with a 2001 triumph over Mayo.

U-21 stars Paul Garvey and Donal Shine will lead the attacking charge at centre-forward and full-forward, respectively.

Antrim manager Dinny Cahill has made just the one change for Saturday’s All-Ireland SHC qualifier phase 3 clash against Dublin from the side that defeated Carlow by three points in their phase 1 tie.

Shane McCrory, introduced to the team during that win over Carlow, comes into the side at right-half forward instead of Conor McFall.

Meanwhile, Pat Roe has emerged as the early favourite to succeed Sean Dempsey as Laois football manager. Dempsey was ousted from the post last weekend following a county board vote and officials have already begun the search for his replacement with Roe on the list of possible candidates.

Roe has extensive inter-county managerial experience, having had spells in charge of Wexford, Carlow and Offaly, while he also managed the Laois U21 footballers this year.

Portlaoise manager John Mulligan has already ruled himself out of the running, while Mick Lillis isn’t expected to allow his name to go forward after being turned down on three previous occasions. Other candidates from within the county could include Timahoe manager Tony Maher and Arles-Killeen boss Nicky McGrath.

ROSCOMMON (SF v Sligo): G Claffey; S McDermott, P Domican, S Ormsby; S Purcell, C Dineen, D Casey; M Finneran, K Mannion; D Keenan, P Garvey, C Cregg; J Rogers, D Shine, G Heneghan. #

Subs: M Miley, J Dunning, D O’Gara, K Higgins, J Nolan, I Kilbride, R Brady, T Kelly, E Kenny, M Reynolds, D Hussey, C Garvey, D Carney, C Shine, F Cregg.

ANTRIM (SH v Dublin): C O’Connell; K McGourty, C Donnelly, S Delargy; P Shiels, J Campbell, C Herron; S McNaughton, K Stewart; S McCrory, N McManus, T McCann; PJ O’Connell, L Watson, K McKeegan.

MAYO (MF v Galway): P Mannion; B Harrison, N Freeman, C Twomey; R Quirke, C Walsh, C Horan; D Kirby, S McGarry; F Durkan, M Forde, S Kelly; C Costello, D Coen, C O’Connor.

More in this section

courtsgaaplace: wicklowplace: carlowperson: carrperson: tommy carrperson: fergal o’donnellperson: o’donnellperson: david o’garaperson: kevin higginsperson: enda kennyperson: fintan creggperson: peter domicanperson: paul garveyperson: donal shineperson: dinny cahillperson: shane mccroryperson: conor mcfallperson: pat roeperson: seán dempseyperson: dempseyperson: roeperson: john mulliganperson: mick lillisperson: timahoeperson: tony maherperson: nicky mcgrathperson: roscommonperson: g claffeyperson: s mcdermottperson: p domicanperson: s ormsbyperson: s purcellperson: c dineenperson: d caseyperson: m finneranperson: k mannionperson: d keenanperson: p garveyperson: c creggperson: j rogersperson: d shineperson: g heneghanperson: m mileyperson: j dunningperson: d o’garaperson: k higginsperson: j nolanperson: i kilbrideperson: r bradyperson: t kellyperson: e kennyperson: m reynoldsperson: d husseyperson: c garveyperson: d carneyperson: c shineperson: f creggperson: antrimperson: c o’connellperson: k mcgourtyperson: c donnellyperson: s delargyperson: p shielsperson: j campbellperson: c herronperson: s mcnaughtonperson: k stewartperson: s mccroryperson: n mcmanusperson: t mccannperson: pj o’connellperson: l watsonperson: k mckeeganperson: p mannionperson: b harrisonperson: n freemanperson: c twomeyperson: r quirkeperson: c walshperson: c horanperson: d kirbyperson: s mcgarryperson: f durkanperson: m fordeperson: s kellyperson: c costelloperson: d coenperson: c o’connorevent: all-irelandevent: connacht sfcevent: all-ireland shcorganisation: cavanorganisation: corkorganisation: cavan county boardorganisation: roscommonorganisation: leitrimorganisation: sligoorganisation: rossiesorganisation: dublinorganisation: laoisorganisation: wexfordorganisation: offalyorganisation: laois u21organisation: sforganisation: shorganisation: galway

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.