No rush to replace O’Mahony as Mayo board focus on reform

THE Mayo County Board are set to delay appointing John O’Mahony’s replacement as county senior football boss until after they have undertaken a review that will look into root and branch reform of football in the county.

The board released a statement yesterday revealing that they will arrange a series of meetings in the coming weeks where all clubs and delegates in the county will be given the chance to offer their views on the state of the game in the county. The board will also undertake discussions with members of the current county senior football panel, and have urged all the relevant stakeholders to take advantage of this opportunity. They also voiced concerns about the comments on local radio during the past week.

“We feel that it is important that all those involved in our game in the county get the chance to contribute to this review. We do not think it is constructive for the floor to be opened to everyone as has happened on local radio this week. While many of those who have contributed have the best interests of Mayo football at heart, we do not feel that all who have voiced their opinion do. Therefore we believe it would be more prudent and productive to voice their thoughts through the medium of this review process.”

Meanwhile, the 29th Féile Peil na nÓg takes place this weekend with approximately 15,000 people expected in Derry city tonight for the annual parade involving the players and mentors from the 160 U14 football teams that will be taking part in the event.

This is the inaugural Féile competition that is being hosted in Derry, with 38 football clubs in the county acting as hosts, along with clubs in Donegal, Armagh, Monaghan and Tyrone. The group stages commence today, and the finals take place on Sunday in Celtic Park and Foreglen.

The Division 1 boys competition will be contested by Na Fianna (Dublin), Carryduff (Down), Douglas (Cork), Claregalway (Galway), An Ghaeltacht (Kerry), Sarsfields (Kildare), Galbally (Tyrone), Simonstown Gaels (Meath) and Derry sides Slaughtneil, Swatragh, Glenn, Magherafelt, Bellaghy, Ballinderry, Dungiven and Ballinascreen. The Division 1 girls competition will feature Tyrone clubs Clan na Gael, Aodh Ruadh, Sperrin Og, Kileeshil and Errigal Ciarán, Dublin duo Ballyboden St Enda’s and St Laurence O’Toole’s, Monaghan pair Emyvale and Scotstown, Banner Ladies (Clare), Claregalway (Galway), Armagh Harps (Armagh), Moy Davitts (Mayo), Éire Óg (Cork) and Kerins O’Rahillys (Kerry).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up