Boost for Cork as Kenny and Cadogan win fitness battles

TOM KENNY and Eoin Cadogan have shaken off injury worries to make the Cork starting side for Sunday’s Munster SHC quarter-final in Páirc Uí Chaoimh, as manager Denis Walsh makes three personnel and three positional changes for the clash against Tipperary.

Despite a hamstring problem incurred in a recent club game, Kenny is named at midfield while Cadogan has recovered from a stress fracture in his foot to start at full-back.

Experienced duo Jerry O’Connor and Niall McCarthy both return but there is no place for Michael Cussen who has failed to recover sufficiently from a broken bone in his hand and is listed among the substitutes.

O’Connor, who was introduced as a second-half substitute in the league final defeat against Galway, is named at centre-forward with McCarthy at left half-forward.

This necessitates a positional reshuffle that sees Kieran Murphy go to right corner-forward, Ben O’Connor to right half-forward and Cathal Naughton move to midfield.

The other players to lose out along with Cussen are Eoin Dillon and Lorcan McLoughlin.

Cork’s team features 13 players that started against Tipperary in last year’s corresponding Munster championship clash in Semple Stadium.

The two exceptions are Brian Murphy who plays at corner-back instead of Conor O’Sullivan while Cathal Naughton comes into the team in place of the retired Timmy McCarthy.

The Cork subs feature four players set to start for Ger Fitzgerald’s U21 side in next Wednesday’s Munster U21HC quarter-final against Waterford in Páirc Uí Chaoimh – Conor O’Sullivan, Lorcan McLoughlin, Cian McCarthy and Luke O’Farrell.

A shoulder injury picked up in a recent challenge game against Galway ruled William Egan out of contention.

Meanwhile Roscommon boss Fergal O’Donnell has handed out three championship debuts for Sunday’s trip to Ruislip to face London in the Connacht SFC quarter-final.

Stephen Ormsby gets the nod to start at left corner-back, Cathal Dineen, from last year’s county champions Castlerea St Kevins, will play at centre-back and Paul Garvey is selected to feature at centre-forward.

Ger Heneghan has regained his place in attack at left corner-forward after opting out of the panel earlier in the season during the National Football League campaign. Karl Mannion returns to the team to partner Michael Finneran at midfield, having missed six league games due to injury. A number of players including Enda Kenny and Senan Kilbride were not considered for selection due to injury problems.

O’Donnell has made seven changes from Roscommon’s last league outing when they succumbed to a 0-20 to 0-13 defeat against Cavan.

Geoffrey Claffey returns to goal, Ormsby and Sean Purcell are drafted into the defence, Finneran comes in at midfield while the attack sees the additions of Garvey, Donal Shine and Heneghan.

Garvey and Shine were rested for that clash due to their involvement the following week with the Roscommon U21’s that suffered defeat to ultimate All-Ireland champions Dublin in the All-Ireland U21FC semi-final.

Meanwhile defender Derek Morkan of Shinrone has been handed his championship debut for Offaly’s Leinster’s SHC clash with Offaly at Parnell Park on Sunday.

Brendan Murphy (back), Ger Healion (broken thumb) and Ger Oakley (shoulder) who have been out of action in recent weeks due to injury are listed among the subs.

Thomas McCann has been elevated from Division 4B of the Antrim League to wear the Saffron shirt at centre half-forward for the clash against the Faithful county.

Antrim have several other players returning to their starting side for their trip to the capital. Gareth McGhee, Cormac Donnelly, Neal McAuley, Paul Shiels, Eddie McCloskey and Neil McManus all return.

Liam Watson is missing after quitting the county panel last week.

ANTRIM: G McGhee, K McGourty, C Donnelly, A Graffin, N McAuley, J Campbell, C Herron, P Shiels (capt), K Stewart, E McCloskey, T McCann, J Scullion, S McNaughton, N McManus, K McKeegan.

OFFALY (SH v Antrim): B Mullins; D Franks, P Cleary, M Verney; J Rigney, D Kenny, D Morkan; R Hanniffy, K Brady; D Currams, J Brady, D Molloy; B Carroll, J Bergin, S Dooley.

CORK (SH v Tipperary): D Óg Cusack; S O’Neill, E Cadogan, B Murphy; J Gardiner, R Curran, S Óg O’hAilpín; T Kenny, C Naughton; B O’Connor, J O’Connor, N McCarthy; K Murphy, A O’hAilpín, P Horgan.

Subs: M Coleman, S Murphy, E Dillon, C O’Sullivan, R Ryan, M Walsh, L McLoughlin, M Cussen, P O’Sullivan, A Nash, M O’Sullivan, T Óg Murphy, G Callanan, C McCarthy, L O’Farrell.

ROSCOMMON (SF v London): G Claffey; S McDermott, P Domican, S Ormsby; S Purcell, C Dineen, M O’Carroll; M Finneran, K Mannion; D Keenan, P Garvey, C Cregg; J Rogers, D Shine, G Heneghan.

Subs: M Miley, R Brady, J Nolan, C Garvey, B Higgins, D Casey, K Higgins, J Dunning, D Hussey, T Kelly, M Killelea, M Reynolds, I Kilbride, D Carney, D O’Gara.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Semple StadiumPlace: RuislipPlace: LondonPlace: ShinronePlace: Parnell ParkPerson: KennyPerson: CadoganPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Eoin CadoganPerson: Denis WalshPerson: Jerry O’ConnorPerson: Niall McCarthyPerson: Michael CussenPerson: O’ConnorPerson: McCarthyPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: Ben O’ConnorPerson: Cathal NaughtonPerson: CussenPerson: Eoin DillonPerson: Lorcan McLoughlinPerson: Brian MurphyPerson: Conor O’SullivanPerson: Timmy McCarthyPerson: Ger FitzgeraldPerson: Cian McCarthyPerson: Luke O’FarrellPerson: William EganPerson: Fergal O’DonnellPerson: Stephen OrmsbyPerson: Cathal DineenPerson: Paul GarveyPerson: Ger HeneghanPerson: Karl MannionPerson: Michael FinneranPerson: Enda KennyPerson: Senan KilbridePerson: O’DonnellPerson: Geoffrey ClaffeyPerson: OrmsbyPerson: Sean PurcellPerson: FinneranPerson: GarveyPerson: Donal ShinePerson: HeneghanPerson: ShinePerson: Derek MorkanPerson: Brendan MurphyPerson: Ger HealionPerson: Ger OakleyPerson: Thomas McCannPerson: Gareth McGheePerson: Cormac DonnellyPerson: Neal McAuleyPerson: Paul ShielsPerson: Eddie McCloskeyPerson: Neil McManusPerson: Liam WatsonPerson: G McGheePerson: K McGourtyPerson: C DonnellyPerson: A GraffinPerson: N McAuleyPerson: J CampbellPerson: C HerronPerson: P ShielsPerson: K StewartPerson: E McCloskeyPerson: T McCannPerson: J ScullionPerson: S McNaughtonPerson: N McManusPerson: K McKeeganPerson: D FranksPerson: P ClearyPerson: M VerneyPerson: J RigneyPerson: D KennyPerson: D MorkanPerson: R HanniffyPerson: K BradyPerson: D CurramsPerson: J BradyPerson: D MolloyPerson: B CarrollPerson: J BerginPerson: S DooleyPerson: CorkPerson: Óg CusackPerson: S O’NeillPerson: E CadoganPerson: B MurphyPerson: J GardinerPerson: R CurranPerson: S Og O’hAilpinPerson: T KennyPerson: C NaughtonPerson: B O’ConnorPerson: J O’ConnorPerson: N McCarthyPerson: K MurphyPerson: A O’hAilpinPerson: P HorganPerson: M ColemanPerson: S MurphyPerson: E DillonPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: R RyanPerson: M WalshPerson: L McLoughlinPerson: M CussenPerson: P O’SullivanPerson: A NashPerson: M O’SulEvent: Munster SHC quarter-finalEvent: Munster championshipEvent: Munster U21HC quarter-finalEvent: Connacht SFC quarter-Event: Football LeagueEvent: All-IrelandEvent: All-Ireland U21FCOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: Castlerea St KevinsOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: Roscommon U21Organisation: DublinOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Antrim LeagueOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: SH
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.25 s