Killavullen conquer courageous Youghal

THIS Evening Echo Cork IFC game at Fermoy yesterday might have started slowly, but the excitement built up to fever pitch in the closing stages before Killavullen finally advanced to the next round after a close call.

In the end they needed a 50th minute point blank save by goalkeeper Sean O’Regan and some generosity from the Youghal full forward line to prevail in a marvellous climax to a decent match.

Goals from Alan O’Drsicoll in the 13th minute and Ian O’Gormon seconds before the end of the half were crucial as the winners established a 2-4 to 0-5 half-time lead.

The contribution of Paul Hartnett, who was both the ball winner in the air and the provider of inch perfect passes to the goalscorers, was equally important to securing that lead.

Youghal kept in touch through the scoring efforts of Leigh Desmond, who kicked four points, two of them from frees, and Youghal, apart from the concession of those goals, would have been happy enough in that they were playing against a stiff breeze.

They were happier still within seconds of the restart when Nigel Roche was deemed to have been hauled down and the east Cork side benefited from a strong penalty strike from Paul O’Driscoll to put his team to within a couple of points.

But Youghal lost the initiative quickly and allowed Killavullen strike back for three unanswered points from Liam Dorgan, Colm O’Connell and Billy Norris in the fifth, sixth and seventh minutes. That purple patch proved to be of great importance as the drama unfolded later.

Killavullen somehow kept their nerve even as Youghal drove forward and the game ebbed and flowed as Youghal came back with their own points, but with the game so delicately balanced it was O’Regan’s save that proved most important. As Roche bore down on goal the keeper somehow got his body in the way and there were others on hand to block a further attempted shot from the rebound.

Scorers for Killavullen: A O’Driscoll 1-1, I O’Gormon 1-0, B Norris, C O’Connell 0-2 each, D Dorgan, L Dorgan, P Hartnett, B Hayes 0-1 each.

Scorers for Youghal: P O’Driscoll 1-0, L Desmond 0-5, B Coleman, J O’Mahony 0-2 each, J Ormonde 0-1.

KILLAVULLEN: S O’Regan; P Sheehan, E O’Connor, J O’Regan; P Egan, B O’Driscoll, B Hayes; C O’Connell, D Dorgan; D Luddy, L Dorgan, B Norris; I O’Gormon, P Hartnett, A O’Driscoll. Subs: D Brosnan for J O’Regan (52), K Finnegan for P Egan (57).

YOUGHAL: P Mackey; P O’Driscoll, J Grace, M Cronin; B Ring, D Ring, B Ring; L Desmond, B O’Sullivan; E Coleman, S Lyons, N Roche; J O’Mahony, B Coleman, A Frahill-O’Connor. Subs: J Ormonde for Frahill-O’Connor (40), A Fox for M Cronin (45).

Referee: C O Mhurchú (Nemo).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.212 s