McIntyre rings the changes

GALWAY hurling boss John McIntyre has wielded the axe and drafted nine players into his squad for next season.

Experienced performers such as Fergal Healy and Alan Kerins have been dropped, while midfielder David Tierney and full-back Damien McClearn have opted out.

There is a surprise recall for former full-back Tony Óg Regan who did not feature at all during McIntyre’s first year in charge.

And Galway will be boosted by the return from long-term injury of three players including the 2005 Young Hurler of the Year David Collins who has not played in over two years.

Promising defender Ciaran O’Donovan and the versatile Iarla Tannian, both of whom suffered serious injuries early in the year, are included for next season.

“The squad is open at both ends and as we showed this year, team management will be quite flexible in moving players in and out as the need arises,” said McIntyre.

Also dropped from the squad are defenders Ger Mahon, Martin Ryan and Brian Costello, along with U21 forward Eoin Forde.

There is a return to the squad for Mullagh defender Conor Dervan, who will be eligible at the end of January after a proposed 48-weeks ban for his involvement in the incidents which followed his club’s exit from the county championship was reduced to 12 weeks.

McIntyre once again places huge faith in the all-conquering Portumna side with eight players – Ollie Canning, Eugene McEntee, Eoin Lynch, Kevin Hayes, Andy Smith, Damien Hayes, Joe Canning and Niall Hayes – included in the 34-man squad for next year.

GALWAY SQUAD: C Callanan, J Skehill, F Moore, E McEntee, T Òg Regan, O Canning, D Joyce, C O’Donovan, J Lee, D Collins, C Dervan, A Cullinane, S Kavanagh, E Lynch, G Farragher, R Murray, K Hynes, A Coen, A Callanan, A Smith, K Hayes, C Donnellan, N Healy, J Canning, D Hayes, J Gantley, N Hayes, I Tannian, D Burke, P Holland, E Ryan, N Cahalan, A Harte, D Barry.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up