Mayo make two changes for Down clash

MAYO have made two changes from the side that defeated Tipperary for next Sunday’s All-Ireland MFC semi final clash with Down at Croke Park.

Caolan Crowe from Garrymore takes over the left half back position from Danny Geraghty, while Knockmore’s Daryl Herbert replaces Brian Ruttledge at top of the right.

MAYO (MF v Down): M Schlingermann (Kiltimagh); D Gavin (Breaffy), K Rogers (Ballaghaderreen), M Walsh (Ardnaree); C Charlton (Kiltimagh), S McDermott (Burrishoole), C Crowe (Garrymore); D Kirby (Castlebar), A Walsh) (do); A Farrell (Killala), D Coen (Hollymount), F Durkan (Castlebar); D Herbert (Knockmore), C O’Connor (Ballintubber), A Corduff) (Ballina).

NEWCOMERS Ballysteen are the first side to book a place in the semi-finals of the Limerick senior football championship after a 0-16 to 0-5 win over Claughaun last evening in Clarina.

The reigning intermediate champions led 0-5 to 0-4 at half time.

Helped by Maurice Carrig frees and sterling performances from county duo Pa Ranahan and Shane Gallagher, Ballsyteen powered home to maintain their 100% record after four rounds and secure a place in the knockout stages prior to the final round of games.

St Senan’s kept their title aspirations alive with a 1-11 to 0-12 win over Monaleen in Ballingarry.

Monaleen led 0-6 to 0-4 at half time, but a Wayne Enright goal six minutes into the second half set St Senan’s on their way. County star Ian Ryan helped himself to seven of the winners’ points, with three crucial points from play in the final 10 minutes.

lST KIERAN’S 15-year wait for a Kerry MFC title is over.

Heading into last night’s county final against the odds-on favourites South Kerry – who boasted eight players from the Kerry minor panel – not many handed the Saints a chance of an upset.

But ripping the form-book to shreds, a superb St Kieran’s, inspired by James Walsh in the middle of the park, shocked South Kerry as they captured their first minor county title since 1994 with a 0-16 to 2-9 victory.

Despite an Ian Galvin goal for South Kerry in the third minute, in this decider played in the JP O’Sullivan Park, Killorglin, a really impressive St Kieran’s side remained composed and got their rewards.

ST KIERANS: W Casey; G O’Connor, P Galvin, M Brosnan; C Fitzgerald, M Galvin, M King; J Walsh (0-5, 0-3 frees), M Shanahan; P O’Connor (0-1), D McCarthy (0-1), M Finnegan (0-2); M McCarthy (0-5, 0-2 frees, 0-1 45), T Hickey, P O’Shea (0-1).

Subs: M O’Shea for P O’Shea (40); E Sugrue (0-1) for P O’Connor (50); D Linehan for M Finnegan (65).

SOUTH KERRY: D Horgan; D Daly, M Griffin, N Fitzgerald; O Clifford, D O’Sullivan, P O’Sullivan; M Thiemann (0-1), G Gibson (0-1); B Dwyer, S Dwyer (1-2, 1-0 pen, 0-1 45), N O’Shea; I Galvin (1-2), D Kelly (0-3), E O’Connor.

Subs: M O’Connor for D Daly (42); C Keating for B Dwyer (17); S O’Sullivan for O Clifford (62).

Referee: B Twiss (Milltown/Castlemaine).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Croke ParkPlace: NEWCOMERSPlace: ClarinaPlace: BallingarryPlace: ParkPlace: MilltownPerson: MayoPerson: Caolan CrowePerson: GarrymorePerson: Danny GeraghtyPerson: Daryl HerbertPerson: Brian RuttledgePerson: M SchlingermannPerson: KiltimaghPerson: D GavinPerson: BreaffyPerson: K RogersPerson: BallaghaderreenPerson: M WalshPerson: ArdnareePerson: C CharltonPerson: S McDermottPerson: BurrishoolePerson: C CrowePerson: D KirbyPerson: CastlebarPerson: A WalshPerson: A FarrellPerson: D CoenPerson: HollymountPerson: F DurkanPerson: D HerbertPerson: KnockmorePerson: C O’ConnorPerson: BallintubberPerson: A CorduffPerson: Maurice CarrigPerson: Pa RanahanPerson: Shane GallagherPerson: St SenanPerson: Wayne EnrightPerson: Ian RyanPerson: St KieranPerson: James WalshPerson: Ian GalvinPerson: O’SullivanPerson: ST KIERANSPerson: W CaseyPerson: G O’ConnorPerson: M BrosnanPerson: C FitzgeraldPerson: M GalvinPerson: M KingPerson: J WalshPerson: M ShanahanPerson: P O’ConnorPerson: D McCarthyPerson: M FinneganPerson: T HickeyPerson: M O’SheaPerson: O’SheaPerson: E SugruePerson: D LinehanPerson: D HorganPerson: D DalyPerson: M GriffinPerson: N FitzgeraldPerson: O CliffordPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: M ThiemannPerson: G GibsonPerson: N O’SheaPerson: D KellyPerson: E O’ConnorPerson: M O’ConnorPerson: C KeatingPerson: B DwyerPerson: S O’SullivanPerson: B TwissEvent: All-Ireland MFC semiOrganisation: DownOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: ClaughaunOrganisation: MonaleenOrganisation: lSTOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: South KerryOrganisation: Saints
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.