Horgan in for injured McCarthy

THE Cork team for Sunday’s All-Ireland SHC quarter-final against Clare shows one change from the side that defeated Galway last Saturday night.

Timmy McCarthy was not considered due to injury and Pat Horgan, who came on to replace him during the game against Galway, holds his place.

There are a number of positional switches as a result. Ben O’Connor comes out to right half forward, with Cathal Naughton crossing from left to right corner forward and Horgan coming in for his first championship start at top of the left.

Despite having six stitches inserted in a facial injury, Diarmuid O’Sullivan has been declared fit to play in his customary full back position.

Donal Óg Cusack is picked in goal, despite having been sent off late in the first-half of the Galway game. He is eligible to play as he received only two yellow cards.

The Offaly U21 hurling team to play Kilkenny in the Leinster final tomorrow night shows one change from that which defeated Wexford in the semi-final. 18-year-old Daniel Currams, nephew of former county dual star Liam, comes in for John Gorman at left half forward.

Kilkenny failed to Offaly at the semi-final stage last year after winning four titles in a row, while the Faithful County lost last year’s final to Dublin and last won the title in 2000. The team includes four seniors, Diarmuid Horan, son of the coach Padraig, Derek Molloy, Conor Mahon and Joe Bergin.

Meanwhile Tipperary’s failure to beat Cork in the Munster MHC has resulted in six changes being made in the team to play Antrim in Saturday’s All-Ireland quarter-final. Sean O’Brien comes in at corner-back in place of the injured Ciaran Haugh while Lee Burke and Eoin O’Connell will fill the wing-back positions. Peter Acheson starts at centre-field while Michael Sheedy and Kieran Shelly are named in attack.

Meanwhile, Donegal football manager Brian McIver is concerned about the fitness of Barry Monahan ahead of their All-Ireland Qualifier against Monaghan in Ballybofey on Sunday. Monahan has a hamstring injury and is struggling to be fit.

Laois’s chances of beating Down in their All-Ireland Qualifier have been boosted by the availability of Padraig Clancy, who returns after a month’s suspension. He received a straight red card against Wexford in the Leinster semi-final and had to serve a one match also.

CORK (SHC v Clare): D. Óg Cusack; S. O’Neill, D. O’Sullivan, B. Murphy; J. Gardiner, R. Curran, S. Óg Ó hAilpin; T. Kenny, J. O’Connor; B. O’Connor, N. McCarthy, P. Cronin; C. Naughton, J. Deane, P. Horgan.

KILKENNY (U21 HC v Offaly): C. McGrath (St. Martins); P. Murphy (Danesfort), K. Joyce (Rower Inistioge), E. O’Shea (Clara); N. Prendergast (do.), P. Hogan (Danesfort), L. Ryan (Clara); J. Dowling (St. Martins), N. Walsh (Slieverue); C. Fennelly (Ballyhale/Shamrocks), N. Cleere (Bennettsbridge), TJ Reid (Ballyhale Shamrocks); M. Ruth (James Stephens), J. Mulhall (St. Martins), R. Hogan (Danesfort).

OFFALY (U21 HC v Kilkenny): J. Dempsey (Kinnitty); C. Hernon (St. Rynaghs), B. Watkins (Birr), S. Wynne (St. Rynaghs); J. Treacy (Tullamore), B. Leonard (Kilcormac/Killoughey), D. Morkan (Shinrone); C. Mahon (Kilcormac/Killoughey), D. Horan (St. Rynaghs); D. Molloy (Shamrocks), C. Egan (Belmont), D. Currams (Kilcormac/Killoughey); C. Coghlan (Kinnitty), J. Bergin (Seir Kieran), F. Kerrigan (Tullamore).

TIPPERARY (MHC v Antrim): B. McCormack (Thurles Sarsfields); L. Butler (Moyne-Templetuohy), K. O’Gorman (Thurles Sarsfields), S. O’Brien (Newport); L. Burke (Cashel King Cormacs), A. Ryan (Templederry Kenyons), E. O’Connell (Fethard); P. Acheson (Moyle Rovers), J. Gallagher (Kildangan); M. Sheedy (Portroe), T. Butler (Clonoulty-Rossmore), N. McGrath (Loughmore-Castleiney, capt.); J. O’Neill (Clonoulty-Rossmore), P. Murphy (Nenagh Eire Og), K. Shelly (Ballingarry)

LONDON (v Armagh: Christy Ring Cup): J J Burke; B Mulcahy, S McLoughlin, T Simms; T Abernethy, N Healy, M Mythen; F McMahon, C O’Halloran; B McCormack, S Quinn, N O’Grady; K McMullen, M Finn, M O Sullivan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaHurlingPlace: BallybofeyPlace: LondonPerson: HorganPerson: McCarthyPerson: Timmy McCarthyPerson: Pat HorganPerson: Ben O’ConnorPerson: Cathal NaughtonPerson: Diarmuid O’SullivanPerson: Dónal Óg CusackPerson: Daniel CurramsPerson: LiamPerson: John GormanPerson: Diarmuid HoranPerson: PádraigPerson: Derek MolloyPerson: Conor MahonPerson: Joe BerginPerson: Sean O’BrienPerson: Ciaran HaughPerson: Lee BurkePerson: Eoin O’ConnellPerson: Peter AchesonPerson: Michael SheedyPerson: Kieran ShellyPerson: Brian McIverPerson: Barry MonahanPerson: MonahanPerson: Padraig ClancyPerson: D. Og CusackPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: D. O’SullivanPerson: B. MurphyPerson: J. GardinerPerson: R. CurranPerson: S. Og O hAilpinPerson: T. KennyPerson: J. O’ConnorPerson: B. O’ConnorPerson: P. CroninPerson: C. NaughtonPerson: J. DeanePerson: P. HorganPerson: KilkennyPerson: C. McGrathPerson: P. MurphyPerson: K. JoycePerson: Rower InistiogePerson: E. O’SheaPerson: ClaraPerson: N. PrendergastPerson: P. HoganPerson: L. RyanPerson: J. DowlingPerson: N. WalshPerson: SlieveruePerson: C. FennellyPerson: N. CleerePerson: BennettsbridgePerson: TJ ReidPerson: M. RuthPerson: James StephensPerson: J. MulhallPerson: R. HoganPerson: J. DempseyPerson: KinnittyPerson: C. HernonPerson: RynaghsPerson: B. WatkinsPerson: BirrPerson: S. WynnePerson: St. RynaghsPerson: J. TreacyPerson: B. LeonardPerson: KillougheyPerson: D. MorkanPerson: ShinronePerson: C. MahonPerson: D. HoranPerson: D. MolloyPerson: C. EganPerson: D. CurramsPerson: C. CoghlanPerson: J. BerginPerson: Seir KieranPerson: F. KerriganPerson: TullamorePerson: TipperaryPerson: B. McCormackPerson: Thurles SarsfieldsPerson: L. ButlerPerson: Moyne-TempletuohyPerson: K. O’GormanPerson: S. O’BrienPerson: L. BurkePerson: Cashel King CormacsPerson: A. RyanPerson: Templederry KenyonsPerson: E. O’ConnellPerson: P. AchesonPerson: J. GallagherPerson: M. SheedyPerson: T. ButlerPerson: RossmorePerson: N. McGrathPerson: LoughmorePerson: CastleineyPerson: J. O’NeillPerson: Nenagh Éire ÓgPerson: K. ShellyPerson: J J BurkePerson: B MulcahyPerson: S McLoughlinPerson: T SimmsPerson: T AbernethyPerson: N HealyPerson: M MythenPerson: F McMahonPerson: C O’HalloranPerson: B McCormackPerson: S QuinnPerson: N O’GradyPerson: K McMullenPerson: M FinnPerson: M O SullivanEvent: All-Ireland SHC quarter-Event: LeinsterEvent: All-Ireland quarter-finalEvent: All-Ireland QualifierEvent: U21 HCEvent: Christy Ring CupOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: Offaly U21Organisation: KilkennyOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Faithful CountyOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DonegalOrganisation: MonaghanOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: DownOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: U21 HCOrganisation: St. MartinsOrganisation: BallyhaleOrganisation: ShamrocksOrganisation: DanesfortOrganisation: St.Organisation: MHCOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: FethardOrganisation: Moyle RoversOrganisation: KildanganOrganisation: PortroeOrganisation: ClonoultyOrganisation: BallingarryOrganisation: Armagh
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.