New look Rossies ready for Galway

ROSCOMMON manager Michael Ryan gives championship debuts to three players for Sunday’s Connacht SFC clash with Galway in Pearse Stadium.

Mark O’Carroll has been handed the number six jersey, Conor Devaney is chosen at right half forward while Senan Kilbride is named at right corner forward. Devaney is the only member of the All-Ireland minor winning team of 2006 on the starting 15, but six of his team-mates are included among the subs.

John Rogers and Jonathan Dunning return after two years out of action due to injury while Seamie O’Neill is fully fit again after a back injury and will partner Karl Mannion at midfield.

Manager Ryan is also making his championship debut having been appointed five weeks ago.

At 30 years of age he is the youngest manager in the country. He won a Connacht championship medal at corner back in 2001.

Meanwhile Meath manager Colm Coyle will be without Seamus Kenny, Niall McKeigue, Shane McAnarney, Brendan Murphy and Nigel Crawford for Sunday’s Leinster SFC clash with Carlow after all five failed in their appeal to the CAC to have their suspension lifted following incidents in the National League game against Dublin.

Cavan have named four championship debutantes for their Ulster SFC first round clash against Antrim in Casement Park on Sunday. Rory Dunne and Barry Watters, who were both minors in 2007, start at full-back and wing-forward respectively, while Dermot Sheridan is named at right half-back. Michael McDonald comes in at midfield to partner Dermot McCabe, who takes over as captain in the absence of the suspended Mark McKeever. Defender Darren Rabbitt continues to be ruled out with a knee cartilage injury.

Wicklow are set to delay the announcement of their side for Sunday’s Leinster SFC tie with Kildare until tomorrow night. A decision will be known today on the appeal of John McGrath against the two-month suspension he incurred in the Leinster U21FC against Wexford. McGrath received a Leinster Council hearing last night and manager Mick O’Dwyer is also waiting on fitness reports of defenders Darren Power and Dara O’hAnnaidh.

ROSCOMMON (SFC v Galway): G. Claffey; P. O’Connor, A. McDermott, S. McDermott; J. Rodgers, M. O’Carroll, D. Hoey; S. O’Neill, K. Mannion; C. Devaney, G. Cox, C. Cregg; S. Kilbride, J. Dunning, G. Heneghan.

ANTRIM (SFC v Cavan): S. McGreevey; K. O’Boyle, A. McClean, J. Loughery; T. Scullion, J. Crozier, S. Kelly; A. Gallagher, M. McCann; T. McCann, K. Niblock, P. Close; P. Cunningham, CJ McGourty, K. Close.

CAVAN (SFC v Antrim): James O’Reilly; M Hannon, R Dunne, M Brides; D Sheridan, A Forde, M Cahill; M McDonald, D McCabe; M Reilly, R Flanagan, B Watters; C Mackey, S Johnston, Jason O’Reilly.

ANTRIM (MFC v Cavan): C. Devlin; J. Laverty, M. McAleese, P. Johnston; P. Gallagher, S. Finch, D. McClean; M. McGowan, JP McCann; M. McGuckin, C. Fleming, D. Gallagher; C. Loughren, S. Dowds, D. McVeigh.

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: Casement ParkPlace: KildarePerson: RossiesPerson: Michael RyanPerson: Mark O’CarrollPerson: Conor DevaneyPerson: Senan KilbridePerson: DevaneyPerson: John RogersPerson: Jonathan DunningPerson: Seamie O’NeillPerson: Karl MannionPerson: RyanPerson: Colm CoylePerson: Seamus KennyPerson: Niall McKeiguePerson: Shane McAnarneyPerson: Brendan MurphyPerson: Nigel CrawfordPerson: Rory DunnePerson: Barry WattersPerson: Dermot SheridanPerson: Michael McDonaldPerson: Dermot McCabePerson: Mark McKeeverPerson: Darren RabbittPerson: WicklowPerson: John McGrathPerson: McGrathPerson: Mick O’DwyerPerson: Darren PowerPerson: Dara O’hAnnaidhPerson: RoscommonPerson: G. ClaffeyPerson: P. O’ConnorPerson: McDermottPerson: S. McDermottPerson: J. RodgersPerson: M. O’CarrollPerson: D. HoeyPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: K. MannionPerson: C. DevaneyPerson: G. CoxPerson: CreggPerson: S. KilbridePerson: J. DunningPerson: G. HeneghanPerson: ANTRIMPerson: S. McGreeveyPerson: K. O’BoylePerson: A. McCleanPerson: J. LougheryPerson: T. ScullionPerson: J. CrozierPerson: S. KellyPerson: A. GallagherPerson: M. McCannPerson: T. McCannPerson: K. NiblockPerson: P. CunninghamPerson: CJ McGourtyPerson: K. ClosePerson: CavanPerson: James O’ReillyPerson: M HannonPerson: R DunnePerson: M BridesPerson: D SheridanPerson: A FordePerson: M CahillPerson: M McDonaldPerson: D McCabePerson: M ReillyPerson: R FlanaganPerson: B WattersPerson: C MackeyPerson: S JohnstonPerson: Jason O’ReillyPerson: C. DevlinPerson: J. LavertyPerson: M. McAleesePerson: P. JohnstonPerson: P. GallagherPerson: S. FinchPerson: D. McCleanPerson: M. McGowanPerson: JP McCannPerson: M. McGuckinPerson: C. FlemingPerson: D. GallagherPerson: C. LoughrenPerson: S. DowdsPerson: D. McVeighEvent: Connacht SFCEvent: ConnachtEvent: Leinster SFCEvent: Ulster SFCOrganisation: Galway RoscommonOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: CACOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: CavanOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: Leinster U21FCOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: Leinster CouncilOrganisation: SFC
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd