Munster boss Geaney slams timing of interprovincial series

MUNSTER football manager Sean Geaney last night joined the chorus of criticism regarding the timing of the inter-provincial championship. His selection options for tomorrow’s football semi-final against Leinster in Fermoy have been decimated by a combination of factors.

“The timing is all wrong. Had it been in three weeks time at least we’d have most of the players we wanted as the county championships would have been completed,” he said.

“I’m not making a big deal about it. It’s a tremendous honour for me to be involved and for those players who have been chosen to play. But I would prefer to be able to pick from a full deck. Cork and Kerry have only finished playing the All-Ireland final and their county championships have been on hold. It’s full steam ahead in both counties now to get them finished ahead of the provincial championships.

“It’s the same in the other counties. You also have the problem of players wanting time off after a heavy inter-county schedule. I know all those defections make way for players who normally wouldn’t get the chance to play for their province, but I take this job seriously and would like to have a full-strength team.

“Any player I’ve spoken to deemed it an honour to be asked. But the timing of the competition is wrong. I would advocate that it be played in November when only the county champions are still involved. Less players would be tied up and it would give selectors a big choice to pick from.”

Defeated All-Ireland finalists Cork have seven on the starting Munster 15 for their game against Leinster. Alan Quirke is in goal, with Graham Canty at full back. The entire half forward line consists of Cork players Fintan Goold, Pearse O’Neill and John Miskella.

All-Ireland champions Kerry have five players starting. They include Tom O’Sullivan, Aidan O’Mahony and Mike Frank Russell, but a notable inclusion at full-forward is Tommy Walsh, son of former stalwart Sean. The Kerins O’Rahillys player, a county minor in 2006, has yet to break into the county senior team.

There are three Waterford players. Thomas O’Gorman is at right corner back, Mick Aherne partners Seamus Scanlon at midfield, while Liam Ó Lionáin is at right corner forward.

Limerick players have boycotted the team in protest at the decision of the Munster Council to seed next year’s senior football championship. Local club games in Clare and Tipperary have ruled out players from both counties.

Leinster include 10 players from All-Ireland champions Kilkenny on their hurling team to play Munster, also tomorrow in Fermoy. James McGarry is in goal, with Tommy Walsh at wing back with James Ryall at midfield.

All six forwards are from Kilkenny. Michael Rice, Richie Power and Derek Lyng are in the half line, while Willie O’Dwyer, Eddie Brennan and Aidan Fogarty make up the full line.

MUNSTER (Interpro SF v Leinster): A. Quirke (Cork); T. O’Gorman (Waterford), G. Canty (Cork), T. O’Sullivan (Kerry); K. O’Connor (Cork), G. Spillane (Cork), A. O’Mahony (Kerry); S. Scanlon (do.), M. Aherne (Waterford); F. Gould (Cork), P. O’Neill (do.), J. Miskella (Do.); L. Ó Lionáin (Waterford), T. Walsh (Kerry), MF Russell (Kerry).

MUNSTER (Interpro SH v Leinster): B. Murray (Limerick); E. Murphy (Waterford), D. Fanning (Tipperary), G. Quinn (Clare); J. Gardiner (Cork), C. O’Mahony (Tipperary), S. Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork); M. Walsh (Waterford), D. O’Grady (Limerick); M. Fitzgerald (Limerick), S. O’Connor (Limerick), E. Kelly (Waterford); J. Mullane (Do.), N. Gilligan (Clare), L. Corbett (Tipperary).

Subs: G. Kennedy (Tipperary), T. McCarthy (Tipperary), M. O’Brien (Limerick), D. Fitzgerald (Tipperary), B. O’Connell (Clare), S. McGrath (Tipperary), A. Kearney (Waterford), A. Kearney (Waterford), B. Phelan (do).

LEINSTER (Inter-pro H v Munster): J. McGarry (Kilkenny); B. O’Leary (Wexford), B. Hogan (Kilkenny), D. Franks (Offaly); T. Walsh (Kilkenny), K. Brady (Offaly), J. Ryall (Kilkenny); D. Lyng (Kilkenny), M. Rice (do.); R. Power (do.), J. Young (Laois), W. O’Dwyer (Kilkenny); B. Lambert (Wexford), E. Brennan (Kilkenny), A. Fogarty (do.).

Subs: R Kehoe (Wexford), D. McCormack (Westmeath), R. Mullally (Kilkenny), B. Carroll (Offaly), J. Dalton (Kilkenny).

More in this section

GaaFootballPlace: FermoyPlace: ClarePlace: TipperaryPlace: KilkennyPerson: GeaneyPerson: Sean GeaneyPerson: Alan QuirkePerson: Graham CantyPerson: Fintan GooldPerson: Pearse O’NeillPerson: John MiskellaPerson: Tom O’SullivanPerson: Aidan O’MahonyPerson: Mike Frank RussellPerson: Tommy WalshPerson: SeanPerson: Kerins O’RahillysPerson: Thomas O’GormanPerson: Mick AhernePerson: Seamus ScanlonPerson: Liam O LionainPerson: James McGarryPerson: James RyallPerson: Michael RicePerson: Richie PowerPerson: Derek LyngPerson: Willie O’DwyerPerson: Eddie BrennanPerson: Aidan FogartyPerson: A. QuirkePerson: T. O’GormanPerson: G. CantyPerson: T. O’SullivanPerson: K. O’ConnorPerson: G. SpillanePerson: A. O’MahonyPerson: S. ScanlonPerson: M. AhernePerson: F. GouldPerson: P. O’NeillPerson: J. MiskellaPerson: L. Ó LionainPerson: T. WalshPerson: MFPerson: RussellPerson: B. MurrayPerson: E. MurphyPerson: D. FanningPerson: G. QuinnPerson: J. GardinerPerson: C. O’MahonyPerson: S. Og O hAilpinPerson: M. WalshPerson: D. O’GradyPerson: M. FitzgeraldPerson: S. O’ConnorPerson: E. KellyPerson: J. MullanePerson: N. GilliganPerson: L. CorbettPerson: G. KennedyPerson: T. McCarthyPerson: M. O’BrienPerson: D. FitzgeraldPerson: B. O’ConnellPerson: S. McGrathPerson: A. KearneyPerson: B. PhelanPerson: LEINSTERPerson: J. McGarryPerson: B. O’LearyPerson: B. HoganPerson: D. FranksPerson: K. BradyPerson: J. RyallPerson: D. LyngPerson: M. RicePerson: R. PowerPerson: J. YoungPerson: W. O’DwyerPerson: B. LambertPerson: E. BrennanPerson: A. FogartyPerson: R KehoePerson: D. McCormackPerson: R. MullallyPerson: B. CarrollPerson: J. DaltonEvent: All-Ireland finalEvent: Interpro SHEvent: Inter-pro H vOrganisation: MunsterOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Munster CouncilOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: Westmeath
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd