Casey and Gaffney in for Déise

THE Waterford team to play Cork in the Munster U21 HC final tomorrow night in Walsh Park, shows two changes from the side that defeated Limerick in the semi-final.

Shane Casey, son of former senior star, Tom, is selected at corner forward after scoring a hat-trick in the intermediate decider win over Limerick. He comes in for Jamie Nagle who is serving a one match suspension. Michael Gaffney comes in at centre back for Jamie Kearney who is injured.

Jerome Maher is moved back to corner back to accommodate Gaffney; Mark Gorman switches from right corner forward to midfield, while Mark Fives goes from midfield to right half forward.

Waterford are appearing in their fifth final since the competition was first introduced in 1964. They have won three titles and lost one. Cork are contesting their 26th decider and have won 18 titles.

Waterford last won the title in 1994 when they beat Clare while Cork’s last success was in 2005 when they defeated Tipperary.

Cork too have made changes from the team which defeated Clare in their semi-final. Adrian Mannix comes in for Brian Moylan while Colm O’Neill is preferred to John Halbert. Captain Shane O’Neill moves back from midfield to right half back with Mannix partnering Leigh Desmond at midfield and O’Neill at top of the right. There is no Waterford senior from last Sunday’s epic All-Ireland quarter-final draw on their starting 15 while Cork include O’Neill, Pa Cronin and Cathal Naughton.

Both teams include several senior squad players however.

WATERFORD (U21 HC v Cork): D. Ryan (Mount Sion); J. Maher (Mount Sion), J. Kindergan (Abbeyside), T. Power (Ballygunner); C. Ryan (Mount Sion), M. Gaffney (do.), R. Foley (Abbeyside); J. O’Farrell (Mount Sion), M. Gorman (Abbeyside); M. Fives (Do.), K. Moran (De La Salle), W. Walsh (Ballygunner); S. Casey (Dunhill), R. O’Keeffe (Mount Sion), P. Kearney (Ballyduff Upper).

Subs: D. Ryan (Abbeyside), D. O’Sullivan (Ballygunner), JP Tutty (Dungarvan), P. Hurney (Abbeyside), K. Landers (Cappoquin), J. Gorman (Abbeyside), B. Scanlon (Do.), J. Regan (Dungarvan), J. Kearney (Ballyduff Upper), C. Burke (Roanmore).

CORK (U21 HC v Waterford): K. O’Halloran (Bishopstown); J. O’Callaghan (Inniscarra), E. Dillon (Milford), C. O’Driscoll (Oliver Plunketts); S. O’Neill (Bishopstown), E. Cadogan (Douglas), A. Ryan (Midleton); L. Desmond (Youghal), A. Mannix (Kilworth); P. Cronin (Bishopstown), K. Canty (Valley Rovers), C. Naughton (Newtownshandrum); P. Horgan (Glen Rovers), E. Murphy (Erin’s Own), C. O’Neill (Ballyclough).

Subs: R. O’Keeffe (Mayfield), N. Horgan (Glen Rovers), M. Walsh (Kildorrery), S. White (Ballygarvan), J. Halbert (Watergrasshill), D. Crowley (Bishopstown), B. Corry (Ballymartle), F. O’Leary (Ballinhassig), S. Moylan (Douglas).

More in this section

courtsgaahurlingplace: walsh parkperson: caseyperson: gaffneyperson: shane caseyperson: tomperson: jamie nagleperson: michael gaffneyperson: jamie kearneyperson: jerome maherperson: mark gormanperson: mark fivesperson: adrian mannixperson: brian moylanperson: colm o’neillperson: john halbertperson: shane o’neillperson: mannixperson: leigh desmondperson: o’neillperson: pa croninperson: cathal naughtonperson: d. ryanperson: j. maherperson: j. kinderganperson: t. powerperson: c. ryanperson: m. gaffneyperson: r. foleyperson: j. o’farrellperson: m. gormanperson: m. fivesperson: k. moranperson: w. walshperson: s. caseyperson: r. o’keeffeperson: p. kearneyperson: d. o’sullivanperson: jp tuttyperson: p. hurneyperson: k. landersperson: j. gormanperson: b. scanlonperson: j. reganperson: j. kearneyperson: c. burkeperson: corkperson: k. o’halloranperson: j. o’callaghanperson: e. dillonperson: c. o’driscollperson: oliver plunkettsperson: s. o’neillperson: e. cadoganperson: douglasperson: a. ryanperson: l. desmondperson: youghalperson: a. mannixperson: p. croninperson: k. cantyperson: c. naughtonperson: p. horganperson: e. murphyperson: c. o’neillperson: n. horganperson: m. walshperson: s. whiteperson: j. halbertperson: d. crowleyperson: b. corryperson: f. o’learyperson: s. moylanevent: munster u21 hcevent: all-ireland quarterorganisation: déiseorganisation: waterfordorganisation: corkorganisation: limerickorganisation: clareorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: u21 hcorganisation: mount sionorganisation: abbeysideorganisation: ballygunnerorganisation: de la salleorganisation: ballyduff upperorganisation: dungarvanorganisation: roanmoreorganisation: milfordorganisation: bishopstownorganisation: kilworthorganisation: valley roversorganisation: newtownshandrumorganisation: glen roversorganisation: erin’s ownorganisation: ballycloughorganisation: mayfieldorganisation: kildorreryorganisation: watergrasshillorganisation: ballymartle
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up