Waterford minors shuffle pack for play-off clash with Clare

THE Waterford selectors have rung the changes for tonight’s ESB Munster Minor hurling championship play-off match against Clare in Thurles.

Dropped are Sean Leahy, Paddy Kennedy and Karl Geary from the team which lost heavily to Cork last week and they are replaced by Cormac Curran, Shane Kearney (Brickey Rangers) and Jason Foran.

There are also a number of positional switches also.

Noel Connors goes from midfield to corner back, where he impressed with DLS in the recent Harty Cup and All-Ireland colleges finals; Karl Duggan and Jason Foran form a completely new midfield partnership; Stephen Power moves to full forward with Craig Moloney selected at left half forward.

The only line to remain intact is the half back line consisting of Colm Clancy, Paul Horkan and Philip Mahony.

WATERFORD (MHC v Clare): M. Enright (Abbeyside); S. Kearney (Brickey Rovers), S. Fives (Cappoquin), N. Connors (Passage); C. Clancy (De La Salle), P. Horkan (Fourmilewater), P. Mahony (Ballygunner); K. Duggan (Dungarvan), J. Foran (De La Salle); C. Curran (Dungarvan), S. Kearney (Ballyduff Upper), C. Moloney (De La Salle); R. Fenton (Fourmilewater), S. Power (Ballygunner), G. Crotty (Dungarvan).

Subs: S. O’Keeffe (Ballygunner), P. Kennedy (De La Salle), K. Geary (Cois Bhride), D. Crowley (St. Saviours), S. Leahy (Tourin), T. Casey (Dunhill), S. Lawlor (Fourmilewater), T. Ryan (Cois Bhride), A. O’Neill (De La Salle).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd