Cork await response to Croker fixture protest

CORK GAA officials are seeking thea re-arrangement of their teams’ schedules in the All-Ireland SFC and SHC championship in Croke Park.

The footballers are to play their All-Ireland quarter-final match on Saturday August 5, with the senior and minor hurlers contesting All-Ireland semi-finals the following day, much to the annoyance of officials and supporters.

“We have made representations to headquarters on the matter and we’re awaiting a response to that,’’ Cork county board secretary Frank Murphy said last evening.

“We applied from the outset for the three-match programme involving the three Cork teams. We’re disappointed that has not been accommodated up to now and we have made further representations.’’

Mr Murphy said that it was in everybody’s interest to have a decision taken as soon as possible.

“There is the whole question of tickets and the issue of them. And we have had a lot of complaints from supporters relative to difficulties they are experiencing, even in getting accommodation in Dublin on the weekend.

“We made all these points initially to the GAC (Games Administration Committee) on the matter.’’

What was all the more disappointing, he added, was that what Cork had asked for ‘was being accommodated’ the following weekend with the other (hurling) semi-final.

In this instance, the football quarter-final between Mayo and either Laois or Offaly has been switched from Saturday, to form a double-header with the Kilkenny/Clare All-Ireland semi-final.

To enable this to happen, the GAC switched the Nickey Rackard Cup final to Saturday as a curtain-raiser to Dublin’s All-Ireland SFC quarter-final.

“What was agreed basically accommodates the Dublin position, which we think is a common-sense decision,’’ said Mr Murphy. “But, it would be equally common-sense not just for Cork supporters but also from the point of view of the financial return to the Association, if the two Cork (senior) teams were on the one programme.’’

Meanwhile, Kerry manager Jack O’Connor has made numerous changes for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Longford in Killarney.

Captain Declan O’Sullivan, Eamon Fitzmaurice and Brian Sheehan have all been omitted from the side which lost the Munster final replay to Cork.

The selectors have also made a number of positional changes.

Defence remains intact, though Tom O’Sullivan and Mark Ó Sé swop corners in the full-back line. Tommy Griffin will now partner Darragh Ó Sé at midfield. In attack, Kieran Donaghy and Mike Frank Russell replace Eamon Fitzmaurice and Declan O’Sullivan.

Paul Galvin is the only player to hold his place in the half-forward line. Eoin Brosnan will lead the attack, while Darren O’Sullivan is on his right. Colm Cooper who has been handed the captaincy, keeps his place at right corner forward. Donaghy is at full-forward, while Russell, who did well when introduced against Cork, holds on to the left corner-forward position.

Offaly have made four changes from the side that lost to Dublin in the Leinster final for their qualifier with Laois at Portlaoise on Sunday.

Axed are centre-back Scott Brady, midfielder Alan McNamee, left half-forward David Hunt and full-forward John Reynolds. They are replaced by Cathal Daly, Mark Daly, Colm Quinn and Jim Coughlan.

The Kerry minor selectors have made one change to their team from the side which defeated Tipperary in the Munster final, for Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Mayo in Ennis.

Jamie Doolan comes in for Stephen Browne, but it necessitates a couple of positional changes. Michael Moloney moves from midfield to full-back with Browne stepping down to the subs bench; Tommy Walsh switches to midfield; Paul Curran will now lead the attack, while Pat Curtin moves from left corner to full-forward with Doolan taking over in the corner.

KERRY (SFC v Longford): D. Murphy; M. Ó Sé, M. McCarthy, T. O’Sullivan; T. Ó Sé, S. Moynihan, A. O’Mahony; D. Ó Sé, T. Griffin; Darren O’Sullivan, E. Brosnan, P. Galvin; C. Cooper, K. Donaghy, MF Russell.

OFFALY: (SFC v LAOIS): P. Kelly; G. Rafferty, S. Sullivan, N. Grennan; P. McConway, C. Daly, K. Slattery; C. McManus, M. Daly; N. Coughlan, P> Kellaghan, C. Quinn; T. Deehan, J. Coughlan, N. McNamee.

KERRY (JFC v Roscommon): S. Óg Ó Ciardabhain (Cordal); S. Hegarty (Legion), J. Costello (St. Pats), D. Doyle (Churchill); D. O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), B. Hickey (Skellig Rangers), J. King (Beale); JP Brosnan (Gneeveguilla), A. Garnett (Spa); N. Fleming (Ballydesmond), M. Murphy (Gneeveguilla), C. Daly (Churchill); R. McAuliffe (Gneeveguilla), S. Wallace (Ardfert), J. Buckley (Currow).

KERRY (MFC v Mayo): T. Macan tSaoir (An Gaeltacht); B. Russell (Spa), M. Moloney (Dr Crokes), D. Ó Sé (An Gaeltacht); E. Enright (Tarbert), A. Greaney (St. Pats), B. Cosello (John Mitchels); T. Walsh (Kerins O’Rahillys), G. O’Driscoll (Skellig Rangers); J. Buckley (Dr Crokes), P. Curran (Waterville), D. Moran (Kerins O’Rahillys); G. Sayers (Keel), P. Curtin (Moyvane), J. Doolan (Dr Crokes).

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Croke ParkPlace: DublinPlace: KillarneyPlace: PortlaoisePlace: EnnisPerson: Frank MurphyPerson: MurphyPerson: Jack O’ConnorPerson: Declan O’SullivanPerson: Eamon FitzmauricePerson: Brian SheehanPerson: Tom O’SullivanPerson: Mark O SéPerson: Tommy GriffinPerson: Darragh Ó SéPerson: Kieran DonaghyPerson: Mike Frank RussellPerson: Paul GalvinPerson: Eoin BrosnanPerson: Darren O’SullivanPerson: Colm CooperPerson: DonaghyPerson: RussellPerson: Scott BradyPerson: Alan McNameePerson: David HuntPerson: John ReynoldsPerson: Cathal DalyPerson: Mark DalyPerson: Colm QuinnPerson: Jim CoughlanPerson: Jamie DoolanPerson: Stephen BrownePerson: Michael MoloneyPerson: BrownePerson: Tommy WalshPerson: Paul CurranPerson: Pat CurtinPerson: DoolanPerson: KerryPerson: D. MurphyPerson: M. O SéPerson: M. McCarthyPerson: T. O’SullivanPerson: T. O SePerson: S. MoynihanPerson: A. O’MahonyPerson: D. Ó SéPerson: T. GriffinPerson: E. BrosnanPerson: P. GalvinPerson: C. CooperPerson: K. DonaghyPerson: MF RussellPerson: P. KellyPerson: G. RaffertyPerson: S. SullivanPerson: GrennanPerson: P. McConwayPerson: C. DalyPerson: K. SlatteryPerson: C. McManusPerson: M. DalyPerson: N. CoughlanPerson: T. DeehanPerson: J. CoughlanPerson: S. Óg Ó CiardabhainPerson: S. HegartyPerson: J. CostelloPerson: D. DoylePerson: ChurchillPerson: D. O’SullivanPerson: PearsesPerson: B. HickeyPerson: J. KingPerson: JP BrosnanPerson: A. GarnettPerson: N. FleEvent: All-Ireland SFCEvent: SHC championshipEvent: All-Ireland quarter-finalEvent: All-IrelandEvent: All-Ireland semi-finalEvent: Nickey Rackard Cup finalEvent: All-Ireland SFC quarter-finalEvent: MunsterEvent: Leinster finalEvent: Munster finalOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: CrokerOrganisation: Cork GAAOrganisation: Cork CountyOrganisation: GACOrganisation: Games Administration CommitteeOrganisation: MayoOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: KerryOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: JFCOrganisation: RoscommonOrganisation: CordalOrganisation: LegionOrganisation: St. PatsOrganisation: Skellig RangersOrganisation: GneeveguillaOrganisation: Spa
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.