Tipp boost as Maher fit to face Waterford

PHILLY MAHER has been named on the Tipperary team to face Waterford in Sunday’s Munster SHC semi-final at Páirc Uí Chaoimh (RTÉ, 2pm).

The former All-Star full back sustained a knee injury in a club game at the weekend and manager Babs Keating admitted: “He was barely able to put the leg under him on Sunday.”

However, Maher is responding well to intensive treatment and, according to management “will be given every chance to prove his fitness”.

The side is unchanged from that which started in the first round win over Limerick. Colin Morrissey, who had to retire injured in the opening minutes of that clash, retains his place at midfield.

Dublin have announced an unchanged side for their Leinster SFC clash with Longford at Pearse Stadium on Sunday.

However, there are two Championship debutants in the Longford team, full back Noel Farrell and wing-half forward Padraig Berry. Both were members of the Under-21 Leinster runners-up this year.

They are joined on the team by two more under-21 players, midfielder Bernard McElvaney and corner forward Brian Kavanagh, while there are eight more of that team named among the subs.

All the starters — except Noel Farrell — would have played regularly throughout the league but he is given the start ahead of the Under-21 full back Barry Gilleran, who played there for most of the league, while Trevor Smullen, rejoins the squad at wing forward.

Laois are awaiting fitness tests on two of their top players, Derek Conroy and Billy Sheehan, ahead of their Leinster SFC clash with Carlow on Sunday.

Both Conroy and former Kerry player Sheehan are undergoing treatment for groin injuries, but manager Mick O’Dwyer is hopeful both will be passed fit.

The Laois team will be announced tomorrow, as will the Carlow side, who are anxiously awaiting a decision on full back Mark Brennan’s case.

Brennan was sent off in Carlow’s first round victory over Wicklow and his appeal is due to be heard tonight.

Waterford have revealed their IHC team to play Tipperary in the curtain-raiser at the Cork stadium. Brendan Landers, Brian Flannery, Peter Queally, Brian Wall and Sean Daly have all starred in the senior championship, with Flannery (once a former All-Ireland Under-21 medal winner) and Queally (a Youghal-based garda) two of the heroes of the Decies’ 2002 Munster senior final victory over Tipperary.

Sean Daly, who is named at full forward, won an All-Ireland U-21 medal (scoring a hat-trick of goals in the drawn game) when Waterford defeated a Brian Whelahan led Offaly in the 1992 replayed final.

He went on to established a permanent place in the county senior side before prematurely departing the scene. In recent years he played with Erin’s Own in the Cork championship before taking up residence in London.

Earlier this year, however, he transferred back to his native Lismore, and was in scintillating form in the two championship games played todate.

Dublin’s junior football starting 15 to face Wexford in tonight’s Leinster JFC tie in Parnell Park (7.30pm) contains three of the current senior panel.

Denis Bastick, Donnacha Reilly and Colin Prenderville will be hoping they can lead the Dubs to glory in a competition that has proven to be very unfruitful for the Dubs — the last of their 19 Leinster titles came in 1994.

Former senior panellists, goalkeeper Keith Gorman as well as forwards Peter Lawless and Graham Cullen (older brother of Bryan) are also included in the Dubs line-up.

TIPPERARY (SHC v Waterford): B Cummins; D Fanning, P Maher, P Curran; E Corcoran, C O’Mahoney, H Moloney; C Morrissey, S McGrath; J Carroll, G “Redser” O’Grady (Captain), J O’Brien; D Fitzgerald, M Webster, E Kelly

DUBLIN (SFC v Longford): S. Cluxton; N. O’Shea, B. Cahill, D Henry; P Casey, C Goggins, P. Griffin; C Whelan, S Ryan; K Bonner, A Brogan, B Cullen; T Quinn, C Keaney, M Vaughan.

LONGFORD (SFC v Dublin): D. Sheridan; D. Brady, N. Farrell, E. Ledwith; C. Conefrey; A. O Connor, D. Reilly; B. McElvaney, L. Keenan; T. Smullen, P. Barden, P. Berry; D. Barden, K. Mulligan, B. Kavanagh.

WATERFORD (IHC v Tipperary): B. Landers (Lismore); P. Murray (Tallow). S. Kearney (Lismore). B. Flannery (Mount Sion); P. Murphy (Roanmore). B. Wall (Fourmilewater). J. Coffey (Stradbally); R. Walsh (Passage East). D. Howard (Lismore); J. Wall (Colligan). P. Queally (Ballydurn). G. Power (Stradbally); E. Bennett (Lismore). S. Daly (do). N. Dunphy (Dunhill).

DUBLIN (JFC v Wexford): K. Gorman; A. Daly, C. McCormack, D.Daly; D. Reilly, K. Kavanagh, C. Prenderville; D. Bastic, C. Daly; P. Whelan, K. McMenamon, D. Reilly; E. Kinsella, G. Cullen, P. Lawless.

More in this section

GaaHurlingPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Pearse StadiumPlace: CarlowPlace: CorkPlace: LondonPlace: LismorePlace: Parnell ParkPlace: TipperaryPerson: MaherPerson: Philly MaherPerson: Babs KeatingPerson: Colin MorrisseyPerson: Noel FarrellPerson: Padraig BerryPerson: Bernard McElvaneyPerson: Brian KavanaghPerson: Barry GilleranPerson: Trevor SmullenPerson: Derek ConroyPerson: Billy SheehanPerson: ConroyPerson: SheehanPerson: Mick O’DwyerPerson: Mark BrennanPerson: BrennanPerson: Brendan LandersPerson: Brian FlanneryPerson: Peter QueallyPerson: Brian WallPerson: Sean DalyPerson: FlanneryPerson: QueallyPerson: Brian WhelahanPerson: Denis BastickPerson: Donnacha ReillyPerson: Colin PrendervillePerson: Keith GormanPerson: Peter LawlessPerson: Graham CullenPerson: BryanPerson: D FanningPerson: P MaherPerson: P CurranPerson: E CorcoranPerson: C O’MahoneyPerson: H MoloneyPerson: C MorrisseyPerson: S McGrathPerson: J CarrollPerson: G “Redser” O’GradyPerson: J O’BrienPerson: D FitzgeraldPerson: M WebsterPerson: E Kelly DUBLINPerson: S. CluxtonPerson: N. O’SheaPerson: B. CahillPerson: D HenryPerson: P CaseyPerson: C GogginsPerson: P. GriffinPerson: C WhelanPerson: S RyanPerson: K BonnerPerson: A BroganPerson: B CullenPerson: T QuinnPerson: C KeaneyPerson: M VaughanPerson: D. SheridanPerson: D. BradyPerson: N. FarrellPerson: E. LedwithPerson: C. ConefreyPerson: A. O ConnorPerson: D. ReillyPerson: B. McElvaneyPerson: L. KeenanPerson: T. SmullenPerson: P. BardenPerson: P. BerryPerson: D. BardenPerson: K. MulliganPerson: B. KavanaghPerson: B. LandersPerson: P. MurrayPerson: TallowPerson: S. KearneyPerson: B. FlanneryPerson: P. MurphyPerson: B. WallPerson: J. CoffeyPerson: StradballyPerson: R. WalshPerson: D. HowardPerson: J. WallPerson: ColliganPerson: P. QueallyPerson: BallydurnPerson: G. PowerPerson: E. BennettPerson: S. DalyPerson: N. DunphyPerson: DUBLINPerson: K. GormanPerson: A. DalyEvent: Munster SHCEvent: Leinster SFCEvent: All-Ireland Under-21Event: All-Ireland U-21Event: Cork championshipEvent: Leinster JFC tieOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: RTÉOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LongfordOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: CarlowOrganisation: WicklowOrganisation: IHCOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: DubsOrganisation: SHCOrganisation: SFCOrganisation: LismoreOrganisation: Dunhill
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.

Execution Time: 0.2 s