Cork quintet back to face Wexford

A QUINTET of All-Ireland winning stars, Donal Óg Cusack, Wayne Sherlock, Brian Murphy, Tom Kenny and Timmy McCarthy return to the Cork team for Sunday's crucial Allianz NHL clash with Wexford at Wexford Park.

Cusack takes over in goal from Anthony Nash, who performed splendidly in the runaway victory over Down last time out. Sherlock, who came on as a sub in that game, gets a starting position at right corner-back with Cian O'Connor moving to left half-back to the exclusion of Peter Kelly, who has been showing up well in recent games.

Brian Murphy, who missed the Down game because of injury, occupies the left corner-back position with Darren McSweeney dropping down to the subs.

Tom Kenny comes in at midfield, with John Gardiner switching to centre-back and Ronan Curran taking over the right half-back duties.

Timmy McCarthy is named at right half forward, with Kieran Murphy of Sarsfields, who held down that position in the Down game, selected at left corner forward.

Neil Ronan, Conor Cusack, Mickey O'Connell and Kevin Hartnett were ruled out because of injury and Ronan Conway now takes over Ronan's left half forward berth, while Ciaran McGann, who had quite an impressive debut in the Down encounter, continues at centre forward.

Tipperary have made four changes from the side that beat Antrim for their tie with Galway at Semple Stadium, Thurles on Sunday.

Paul Kelly, Ger O'Grady, John Devane and Shane McGrath replace Diarmuid Fitzgerald, John Carroll, Benny Dunne and Michael Webster.

Seanie McMahon is expected to return to the Clare team for their League game against Offaly at Cusack Park on Sunday.

Out with injury for the past month, the Clare captain returned to duty in a challenge game against Tipperary on Sunday last and suffered no ill-effects from his groin strain.

Kilkenny, who take on Antrim at Nowlan Park, will again be without Henry Shefflin, still recovering from a groin injury, but otherwise manager Brian Cody has a full squad to choose from.

Mark Vaughan, of Kilmacud Crokes, receives his call-up papers as Dublin attempt to bring Mayo's unbeaten run to an end at Parnell Park on Saturday. Vaughan is named at right corner forward in place of the injured Kevin Bonner. This is the only change from the side that lost by a point to Fermanagh last weekend.

The Cork football team to meet Fermanagh at Pairc Ui Rinn on Sunday wont' be announced until tomorrow night with several players undergoing fitness tests.

DLS Macroom's historic Corn Ui Mhuiri victory last Sunday has been further rewarded with two of their team winning their places on the Cork minor football team for Saturday's Munster championship clash with Clare.

Team captain Sean Kiely has been handed the number seven jersey, while David Gould is named at left half forward. The team is notable for the inclusion of eight of last year's provincial winning team, Jason O'Callaghan, Sean Kiely, Colm O'Driscoll, Colm O'Neill, Pat Carroll and Eric Hegarty. Gould was a sub last year along with Bart Daly who is again included among this year's subs.

CORK (SH v Wexford): D. Og Cusack; W. Sherlock, D. O'Sullivan, B. Murphy; R. Curran, J. Gardiner, C. O'Connor; T. Kenny, K. Murphy (Erins Own); T. McCarthy, C. McGann, R. Conway; J. Deane, B. Corcoran, K. Murphy (Sarsfields).

DUBLIN (SF v Mayo): S. Cluxton; P. Griffen, B. Cahill, D. Henry; P. Casey, C. Coggins, P. Andrews; D. MaGee, C. Whelan; D. Lally, T. Quinn, B. Cullen; M. Vaughan, C. Keaney, A. Brogan.

TIPPERARY (SH v Galway): B. Cummins; P. Curran, P. Maher, M. Ryan; E. Corcoran, C. O'Mahony, P. Kelly; L. England, C. Morrissey; S. McGrath, J. Devane, G. O'Grady; J. O'Brien, D. Fanning, D. Egan.

CORK (MFC v Clare): A. Seymour (Bishopstown); J. O'Callaghan (Doneraile), M. Power (Bishopstown), P. Carroll (Douglas); S. McLoughlin (Kanturk), B. Lombard (St. Michaels), S. Kiely (Macroom); C. O'Donovan (Valley Rovers), J. Fitzpatrick (Carbery Rangers); C. O'Driscoll (Caheragh), K. Coffey (Oliver Plunketts), D. Gould (Macroom); C. O'Neill (Ballyclough), E. Hegarty (St. Michaels), T. Murray (Bishopstown).

Subs: E. Kennedy (Aghada), F. O'Neill (Glanmire), B. Daly (Newmarket), B. Murphy (Glanmire), C. O'Driscoll (Ilen Rovers), P. Hogan (Nemo Rangers), L. Desmond (Youghal), D. Molden (Glanmire), S. Downey (Bantry Blues), D. Bracken (St. Finbarrs), S. Kelleher (Cill na Martra).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Wexford ParkPlace: Semple Stadium, ThurlesPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: Nowlan ParkPlace: Parnell ParkPlace: FermanaghPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: Dónal Óg CusackPerson: Wayne SherlockPerson: Brian MurphyPerson: Tom KennyPerson: Timmy McCarthyPerson: CusackPerson: Anthony NashPerson: SherlockPerson: Cian O'ConnorPerson: Peter KellyPerson: Darren McSweeneyPerson: John GardinerPerson: Ronan CurranPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: Neil RonanPerson: Conor CusackPerson: Mickey O'ConnellPerson: Kevin HartnettPerson: Ronan ConwayPerson: RonanPerson: Ciaran McGannPerson: Paul KellyPerson: Ger O'GradyPerson: John DevanePerson: Shane McGrathPerson: Diarmuid FitzgeraldPerson: John CarrollPerson: Benny DunnePerson: Michael WebsterPerson: Seanie McMahonPerson: Henry ShefflinPerson: Brian CodyPerson: Mark VaughanPerson: VaughanPerson: Kevin BonnerPerson: Seán KielyPerson: David GouldPerson: Jason O'CallaghanPerson: Colm O'DriscollPerson: Colm O'NeillPerson: Pat CarrollPerson: Eric HegartyPerson: GouldPerson: Bart DalyPerson: CorkPerson: D. Og CusackPerson: W. SherlockPerson: D. O'SullivanPerson: B. MurphyPerson: R. CurranPerson: J. GardinerPerson: C. O'ConnorPerson: T. KennyPerson: K. MurphyPerson: T. McCarthyPerson: C. McGannPerson: R. ConwayPerson: J. DeanePerson: B. CorcoranPerson: DUBLINPerson: S. CluxtonPerson: P. GriffenPerson: B. CahillPerson: D. HenryPerson: P. CaseyPerson: C. CogginsPerson: P. AndrewsPerson: D. MageePerson: D. LallyPerson: T. QuinnPerson: B. CullenPerson: M. VaughanPerson: C. KeaneyPerson: BroganPerson: B. CumminsPerson: P. CurranPerson: E. CorcoranPerson: O'MahonyPerson: EnglandPerson: MorrisseyPerson: S. McGrathPerson: J. DevanePerson: G. O'GradyPerson: J. O'BrienPerson: A. SeymourPerson: J. O'CallaghanPerson: DonerailePerson: M. PowerPerson: P. CarrollPerson: DouglasPerson: S. McLoughlinPerson: KanturkPerson: B. LombardPerson: St. MichaelsPerson: S. KielyPerson: MacroomPerson: C. O'DonovanPerson: J. FitzpatrickPerson: C. O'DriscollPerson: CaheraghPerson: K. CoffeyPerson: Oliver PlunkettsPerson: D. GouldPerson: C. O'NeillPerson: BallycloughPerson: E. HegartyPerson: T. MurrayPerson: E. KennedyPerson: AghadaPerson: F. O'NeillPerson: B. DalyPerson: P. HoganPerson: L. DesmondPerson: D. MoldenPerson: S. DowneyPerson: D. BrackenPerson: S. KelleherEvent: Munster championshipOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: DownOrganisation: SarsfieldsOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: ClareOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: Kilmacud CrokesOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: FermanaghOrganisation: Cork footballOrganisation: Cork minor football teamOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: MFCOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: Valley RoversOrganisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: GlanmireOrganisation: NewmarketOrganisation: Ilen RoversOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Bantry BluesOrganisation: St. Finbarrs
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.