McGrath returns to Sion line-up for final

MOUNT SION make just one change in personnel from the side that defeated Kilmaley for Sunday’s Munster club SHC decider against Toomevara at Semple Stadium.

Corner-forward Barry Browne, younger brother of Tony, who was substituted in the semi-final, has been dropped and his place in the full forward line goes to Roy McGrath.

He has been named at full forward, and in the only positional change, Brian Greene goes from there to Browne’s position at top of the left.

Ian O’Regan continues to inspire confidence in goal, and with Tony Browne playing his best hurling in a long time at centre-back, the defence has a really mean streak to it.

Fintan O’Shea continues to partner county star Ken McGrath at midfield.

The all-clear for Eoin McGrath, who picked up a finger injury in the semi-final, is a huge relief for Sion and he will line out on the 40 flanked by the Kelly brothers, Eoin and Daniel.

A lot of the Mount Sion hopes will be pinned on corner-forward Sean Ryan, who bagged all four goals in the defeat of Ahane and scored another against Kilmaley.

The continuing absence of Michael White, who sustained a fractured jaw against Ahane, is a big blow.

Eleven of Sunday’s team featured in the 2002 Munster final win when Mount Sion defeated Sixmilebridge.

The debutants are Kevin Flynn, Kenny Stafford, Fintan O’Shea and left half-forward Daniel Kelly.

Sion manager Jim Greene rubbishes the notion that they will go into the game as favourites.

“Semple Stadium is familiar terrain for Toomevara, and while we go there by choice rather than the ridiculous geographical venue of Limerick, it will take a huge effort to win,” he said.

However, he added: “We’re as ready as we can be and we’ll give it our all.”

Their opponents report no injury worries and are expected to name the same 15 that started against Na Piarsaigh in the semi-final victory.

MOUNT SION (SH v Toomevara): I. O’Regan; J. O’Meara, A. Kirwan (capt.), K. Flynn; B. Flannery, T. Browne, K. Stafford; K. McGrath, F. O’Shea; E. Kelly, E. McGrath, D. Kelly; S. Ryan, R. McGrath, B. Greene. Subs: B. Browne, J. Cleere, M. Gaffney, M. Frisby, M. Hoban, S. Twomey, P. McGrath, J. O’Farrell, K. O’Connor.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up