Wexford shock for Cork as Tipperary beat brave Dublin

Wexford 2-13 Cork 1-13

Trailing by 0-11 to 0-3 at half time, the Leinster side landed 2-10 after the break and held the Rebels scoreless for the final 15 minutes.

Cork with wind assistance were in command for the opening 30 minutes with Ciara Healy, Una O'Donoghue, Gemma O'Connor, Jennifer O'Leary, Elaine Burke and Catriona Foley all on the scoresheet.

But Wexford stormed from the blocks on the restart. A goal from Michelle Hearne along with points from Michelle O'Leary and Kate Kelly cut the gap to three.

Despite Cork's Jennifer O'Leary hitting a goal, the Wexford girls held their nerve with centre back Aine Codd and Mary Leacy impressing on the forty.

Points from Lennie Holohan, Hearne, Kelly and Leacy had them back in contention before Hearne netted her second three-pointer close on full time.

Scorers: Wexford: M Hearne 2-1, K Kelly 0-5, M O'Leary, L Holohan and O Hernon 0-2 each, M Leacy 0-1. Cork: J O'Leary 1-2, C Healy 0-3, G O'Connor, U O'Donoghue and E Burke 0-2 each, E Watson and C Foley 0-1 each.

WEXFORD: M Darcy; A Moran, C O'Loughlin, K Atkinson; R Breen, A Codd, D Codd; C Murphy, K Kelly; M O'Leary, M Leacy, O Hernon; E Quigley, M Hearne, L Holohan.

CORK: A Murray; J O'Callaghan, M O'Connor, L O'Connell; C Foley, R Buckley, P O'Connor; G O'Connor, E Burke; M Deasy, S Burns, J O'Leary; E Watson, C Healy, U O'Donoghue.

Subs: S Hayes for U O'Donoghue.

Referee: E Browne (Tipperary).

Tipperary 1-10 Dublin 2-4

DUBLIN came close to causing another upset in Thomas Davis GAA grounds yesterday in the other Division 1 semi-final. But the greater experience of Tipp was decisive. The Premier County will now attempt to win their first league title since the competition's inception in 1977.

But it took an Eimear McDonnell goal in the 51st minute, followed by two points from Emily Hayden and Ciara Gaynor to decide this issue.

Spurred on by a Gillian McCluskey goal five minutes from the interval the metropolitan ladies led at the break 1-2 to 0-4. They kept that momentum after the resumption and when Valerie Reaney touched home their second goal for a 2-3 to 0-6 lead, Tipp appeared to be in trouble.

But with Paula Bulfin controlling midfield, they upped the pace. Aided by the introduction of three of their more seasoned players they weathered the storm with centreback Gaynor hitting four magnificent points.

Scorers: Tipperary: E McDonnell 1-2, C Gaynor 0-4, J Ryan, E Ryan, E Hayden and C Grogan 0-1 each. Dublin: V Reaney and G McGluskey 1-1 each, E Brannigan and A Fanning 0-1 each.

TIPPERARY: J Nolan; J Kirwan, H Breen, M Corcoran; S Nealon, C Gaynor, T Brophy; L Burke, P Bulfin; E Ryan, E Hayden, G Kinnane; E McDonnell, J Ryan, G Horan. Subs: C Grogan for E Ryan; D Hughes for G Horan, A McDermott for L Burke.

DUBLIN: E Butler; S Hanks, A Cullen, S Kinnane; J Murphy, E Talbot, C Lucey; L O'Hara, A Fanning; J Draeper, E Brannigan, V Reaney; E McFadden, G McCluskey, C Duffy. Subs: C Power for A Fanning, K Blood for E McFadden.

Referee: U Kearney (Armagh).

Meanwhile, Laois or Kildare will take over the mantle of Division Two champions following their victories over Wexford and Offaly. In the curtainraiser at Wexford Park, the hosts were denied a double final appearance when ousted by Laois, 3-7 to 1-8.

Goals from Therese Keenan (two) and Karen Cuddy within 10 minutes of the restart were decisive after both sides ended the half on six points.

Kildare defeated Offaly in Shinrone on Saturday, 2-6 to 0-9 after the Lilywhite's Bernie Kennedy goaled in both halves, while Michelle Davis was top scorer for Offaly with six points.

Both finals will be played in Nowlan Park on May 22.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: Wexford ParkPlace: TipperaryPlace: DublinPlace: ShinronePlace: Nowlan ParkPerson: Ciara HealyPerson: Una O'DonoghuePerson: Gemma O'ConnorPerson: Jennifer O'LearyPerson: Elaine BurkePerson: Catriona FoleyPerson: Michelle HearnePerson: Michelle O'LearyPerson: Kate KellyPerson: Aine CoddPerson: Mary LeacyPerson: Lennie HolohanPerson: HearnePerson: KellyPerson: LeacyPerson: M HearnePerson: K KellyPerson: M O'LearyPerson: L HolohanPerson: O HernonPerson: M LeacyPerson: J O'LearyPerson: CPerson: G O'ConnorPerson: U O'DonoghuePerson: E BurkePerson: E WatsonPerson: C FoleyPerson: M DarcyPerson: A MoranPerson: C O'LoughlinPerson: K AtkinsonPerson: R BreenPerson: A CoddPerson: D CoddPerson: C MurphyPerson: E QuigleyPerson: A MurrayPerson: J O'CallaghanPerson: M O'ConnorPerson: L O'ConnellPerson: R BuckleyPerson: P O'ConnorPerson: M DeasyPerson: S BurnsPerson: C HealyPerson: O'DonoghuePerson: S HayesPerson: E BrownePerson: Eimear McDonnellPerson: Emily HaydenPerson: Ciara GaynorPerson: Gillian McCluskeyPerson: Valerie ReaneyPerson: TippPerson: Paula BulfinPerson: GaynorPerson: E McDonnellPerson: C GaynorPerson: J RyanPerson: E RyanPerson: E HaydenPerson: C GroganPerson: V ReaneyPerson: G McGluskeyPerson: E BranniganPerson: A FanningPerson: J NolanPerson: J KirwanPerson: H BreenPerson: M CorcoranPerson: S NealonPerson: T BrophyPerson: L BurkePerson: P BulfinPerson: G KinnanePerson: G HoranPerson: D HughesPerson: A McDermottPerson: E ButlerPerson: S HanksPerson: A CullenPerson: S KinnanePerson: J MurphyPerson: E TalbotPerson: C LuceyPerson: L O'HaraPerson: J DraeperPerson: E McFaddenPerson: G McCluskeyPerson: C DuffyPerson: K BloodPerson: U KearneyPerson: Therese KeenanPerson: Karen CuddyPerson: LilywhitePerson: Bernie KennedyPerson: Michelle DavisOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: LeinsterOrganisation: RebelsOrganisation: Thomas Davis GAAOrganisation: TippOrganisation: Premier CountyOrganisation: ArmaghOrganisation: LaoisOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Kildare
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd