Nine names submitted for GAA positions

NINE candidates are in the running for the two prestigious positions of GAA trustees at this weekend’s Congress.

The positions are to be filled in a ballot decided on the PR (proportional representation) system.

Following the withdrawal of Noel Morris (Tipperary), the following are standing for election: Brendan Ward (Offaly), Ciaran McDermott (Sligo), Seamus Aldridge (Kildare), Gerry Brady (Dublin), Padraig Brennan (Roscommon), Senator Rory Kiely (Limerick), Pat Dunny (Kildare), Paddy Muldoon (Mayo) and Jimmy Treacy (Tyrone).

Seamus Aldridge, the former referee and ex-Leinster chairman, was an unsuccessful candidate 12 years ago.

Rory Kiely has stood in the last four elections.

Jimmy Treacy, Tyrone’s Central Council delegate, and the only candidate from Ulster, is favoured to gain one of the positions.

The other position is likely to go to one of the following: Paddy Muldoon, Seamus Aldridge or Gerry Brady.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up