Charleville have to dig deep to overcome De La Salle

Charleville CBS 3-10 De La Salle, Waterford 2-9

They had to dig deep to withstand a second-half challenge from De La Salle Waterford in Ardmore, however.

A power-packed first-half performance had the Cork side in a 2-5 to 1-3 lead at half time after a 1-1 salvo by the DLS full-forward, Craig Moloney, in the opening minutes of the game.

Their other goal came from Michael Bowles who was perfectly placed to receive the ball from wing forward Robert O'Connor.

From here on they had the upper hand and, with centre-back Sean O'Riordan sweeping out of a thrifty defence, De La Salle were under pressure and full-forward Craig Moloney and wing-forward Owen Morrissey were retreating to aid an overworked midfield.

Charleville increased their lead two minutes into the second half when a poor puck out fell to corner forward Ryan Gifford and he pointed from close range.

Undaunted, De La Salle, pushed forward but they faced a resolute defence. When Craig Moloney scored from the middle of the field, wing-back Derry Murphy fielded a puck out and drove it straight over the bar in reply. Moloney pointed again from long range and sparking off the De La Salle revival - and a second goal by Sean Lukeman. Midfielder Jack Doran cut the arrears to a point turning into the final quarter, Charleville were under pressure, but they responded in style. Their first attack yielded a '65' which Sean O'Riordan pointed and their next saw keeper John O'Keeffe save from Michael Bowles but he could not recover in time to block Tom O'Brien's first time effort .

Shane Walsh kept De La Salle in touch but Bowles was quick to reply. Again Walsh cut the arrears to three points but Sean O'Riordan had the final say.

Scorers: Charleville CBS: M. Bowles 1-2, T. O'Brien and G. Morrissey 1-0 each, S. O'Riordan (0-2 frees) and R. Clifford (0-2 frees) 0-3 each and D. Murphy and R. Farrissey 0-1 each. De La Salle: C. Moloney 1-4 (0-3 frees), S. Walsh 0-4 (0-2 frees), S. Lukeman 1-0, J. Doran 0-1.

CHARLEVILLE CBS: P. O'Loughlin; J. O'Herlihy, D. Hawe, A, Donlon; S. Mullane, S. O'Riordan, D. Murphy; R. Farrissey, M. Flynn; M. Bowles, T. O'Brien, R. O'Connor; R. Fallon, G. Morrissey, R. Clifford.

DE LA SALLE: J. O'Keeffe; N. Kelly, C. O'Toole, S. Richardson; M. Sexton, S. Walsh, D. O'Sullivan; T. Connors, J. Doran; M. Grace, T. Currans, O. Morrissey; S. Lukeman, C. Moloney, D. Twomey.

Subs: D. Smith for D. Twomey; A. O'Neill for M. Grace, C. Sheehy for S. Lukeman.

Ref: Noel Cosgrove (Clonmel).

More in this section

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.221 s