Limerick girls claim camogie title

Granagh/Ballingarry (Limerick) 1-10 Davitts (Galway) 1-6

The Limerick girls began in sparkling fashion, yet uncharacteristic indiscipline in front of goal meant that they had to work hard for their win.

However, their triumph was unquestionably deserved, as they were clearly the dominant force with their half-back line brilliantly led by Kay Burke, in total command, particularly in the opening 30 minutes.

Player-of-the-match Vera Sheehan and her sister Deirdre were others to shine during that opening period, and when the chips were down entering the closing quarter, Eileen O'Brien really came into her own. Yet, while the aforementioned brought much-needed direction to the Shannonsiders, this was essentially a 15-woman effort.

Boosted by brilliant scores early on from Joanne Clifford, O'Brien and Vera Sheehan, Granagh/Ballingarry, aided by the substantial breeze, chalked up an early advantage. However, in difficult playing conditions, scores were at a premium, thus resulting in a low-scoring interval lead of 0-6 to 0-2.

A brace of early points from Kavanagh settled Davitts after the restart, which also hauled them back into the game.

Clifford and Jean Cullinane soon cancelled these scores before Mary Kelly pegged one back for the Westerners. Then came a defining moment for the Limerick side when a superb goal was executed by full forward Meadhbh Nash after being brilliantly set up by Fiona Morrissey.

Davitts failed to recover, despite hitting a point from Olivia Forde. Their goal from Kavanagh arrived much to late to worry the champions, who finished with two excellent long-range frees from O'Brien.

Meanwhile, in the All-Ireland junior club championship final, Crossmaglen of Armagh defeated Offaly’s Drumcullen by five points (2-5 to 0-6).

Superbly led by player-of-the-match and midfielder Bronagh O'Donnell, two goals from pre-match replacement Debbie Lundy were the all-important strikes in the inaugural year of this championship final.

Scorers Granagh/Ballingarry: E O'Brien 0-5 (0-3 frees, 0-1 45m), M Nash 1-0, J Clifford 0-3, J Cullinane and V Sheehan 0-1 each. Davitts: L Kavanagh 1-4 (0-1 free, 0-1 45m), M Kelly and O Forde 0-1 each.

GRANAGH/BALLINGARRY: B O'Brien; A McCarthy, L Leslie (capt), M O'Gorman; K Burke, B Chawke, D Sheehan; M Collins, V Sheehan; J Cullinane, E O'Brien, A Sheehan; J Clifford, M Nash, F Morrissey.

DAVITTS: M Tynan; O Watson, R Broderick (capt), L Fahy; F Pierce, A Broderick, L Flynn; A Kelly, Caroline Kelly; D Kelly, D Murphy, Caitriona Kelly; O Forde, L Kavanagh, M Kelly.

Subs: A M Broderick for O Watson (52 mins).

Referee: A Derham (Dublin).

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.