Fenlon ready to quit, says Wexford boss

WEXFORD veteran Adrian Fenlon looks set to retire from inter-county hurling. Manager Seamus Murphy confirmed yesterday that while the midfielder had not made contact, he believes that the Enniscorthy Rapparees man has called time on his Model career.

Murphy said: “At this stage his mind is aiming towards retirement from inter-county activity.

He has not been in any contact but the news along the grapevine is Adrian has decided to call time on his inter-county career.

“We’ll respect that decision for he has given wonderful service to Wexford over 13 seasons. He has lots of mileage in the legs. He made it clear at the start of 2005 that it would be his last season. He’s a man to his word and he seems to be sticking to that.”

Corner-back Colm Kehoe has also retired, leaving Damien Fitzhenry and Rory McCarthy as the last two links with the 1996 All-Ireland-winning team.

Murphy faces a selection dilemma for Sunday’s Allianz NHL opener with Waterford in Dungarvan.

Murphy has already ruled out Dessie Mythen (broken finger), MJ Furlong (broken finger), Barry Lambert (shoulder), Paul Roche (heel) and Andrew Kavanagh (groin), while he rates Declan Ruth (hamstring), Darren Stamp (back) and team captain Keith Rossiter (ankle) as extremely doubtful.

However, Murphy received a boost with full-back Darragh Ryan’s return to training last Thursday.

Waterford will be without Fergal Hartley, who has retired, and Tony Browne, who is in America.

All-Ireland champions Cork introduce three newcomers and have also recalled Mickey O’Connell to their side for Sunday’s opening NHL game against Offaly in Birr.

Given their call-up papers are Bishopstown’s Shane O’Neill and Ronan Conway, together with Cloyne’s Killian Cronin.

Cronin has been selected at full-back, with his club colleague and Allstar Diarmuid O’Sullivan moving to right half-back. O’Neill is introduced at left half-back in place of the injured Seán Óg Ó hAilpín, while Conway makes his debut at left wing-forward.

O’Connell, out of the inter-county scene since 2004, makes his return as midfield partner to Kevin Hartnett of Russell Rovers.

Wayne Sherlock and Cian O’Connor hold down the corner-back positions, with Graham Callinan reintroduced at centre-forward. In another experiment, Erins Own’s Kieran Murphy is given the full-forward berth.

Offaly will be without the Whelahan brothers, Brian and Simon, both are recovering from knee operations, while three members of last season’s squad, Colm Cassidy, Paudge Mulhare and Niall Claffey, have retired.

Defender Liam England and midfielder Niall Curran will make their league debuts for Tipperary in Sunday’s meeting with Limerick.

Both players were members of the 2005 Tipperary football panel which captured the Tommy Murphy Cup.

Eoin Kelly, Diarmuid Fitzgerald and Micheal Webster are nursing injuries while Ger ‘Redser’ O’Grady of Thurles Sarsfields will captain the side.

Clare, who open their campaign against Down at Cusack Park, could introduce former Tipperary player Shane O’Brien.

O’Brien won a Harty Cup medal with St Flannan’s two years ago and now plays his club hurling with Newmarket-on-Fergus.

Barry Nugent, Conor Plunkett and Fergus Flynn are also in line for first-team places but regular corner-back Brian Quinn has announced his retirement from the top flight.

Eugene Cloonan is expected to make his return to the Galway team for their opening game in the league against Antrim at Casement Park.

Kilkenny, who play host to Laois at Nowlan Park, will be without DJ Carey, Henry Shefflin and Martin Comerford. Carey is not playing in the league, while Shefflin and Comerford are sidelined with groin injuries.

Sligo parted company with their manager Dom Corrigan last night following opening NFL defeats by Waterford and Tipperary. Corrigan was in the job since November 2004. Barnes Murphy is in the running to take over.

CORK (SH v Offaly): D. Óg Cusack; W. Sherlock, K. Cronin, C. O’Connor; D. O’Sullivan, R. Curran, S. O’Neill; K. Hartnett, M. O’Connell; T. McCarthy, G. Callinan, R. Conway; K. Murphy (Sarsfields), K. Murphy (Erins Own), J. Deane.

TIPPERARY (SH v Limerick): B Cummins; D Fanning, P Maher, P Curran; E Corcoran, C O’Mahoney, L England; E Brislane, N Curran; B Dunne, C Morrissey, G O’Grady; S Butler, J O’Brien, D Egan.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: DungarvanPlace: AmericaPlace: BirrPlace: Cusack ParkPlace: TipperaryPlace: Casement ParkPlace: LaoisPlace: Nowlan ParkPerson: FenlonPerson: Adrian FenlonPerson: Seamus MurphyPerson: MurphyPerson: AdrianPerson: Colm KehoePerson: Damien FitzhenryPerson: Rory McCarthyPerson: Dessie MythenPerson: MJ FurlongPerson: Barry LambertPerson: Paul RochePerson: Andrew KavanaghPerson: Declan RuthPerson: Darren StampPerson: Keith RossiterPerson: Darragh RyanPerson: Fergal HartleyPerson: Tony BrownePerson: Mickey O’ConnellPerson: Shane O’NeillPerson: Ronan ConwayPerson: CloynePerson: Killian CroninPerson: CroninPerson: Diarmuid O’SullivanPerson: O’NeillPerson: Seán Óg Ó hAilpínPerson: ConwayPerson: O’ConnellPerson: Kevin HartnettPerson: Wayne SherlockPerson: Cian O’ConnorPerson: Graham CallinanPerson: Kieran MurphyPerson: WhelahanPerson: BrianPerson: SimonPerson: Colm CassidyPerson: Paudge MulharePerson: Niall ClaffeyPerson: Niall CurranPerson: Eoin KellyPerson: Diarmuid FitzgeraldPerson: Micheal WebsterPerson: Ger ‘Redser’ O’GradyPerson: ClarePerson: Shane O’BrienPerson: O’BrienPerson: Barry NugentPerson: Conor PlunkettPerson: Fergus FlynnPerson: Brian QuinnPerson: Eugene CloonanPerson: DJ CareyPerson: Henry ShefflinPerson: Martin ComerfordPerson: CareyPerson: ShefflinPerson: ComerfordPerson: Dom CorriganPerson: CorriganPerson: Barnes MurphyPerson: CorkPerson: D. Og CusackPerson: W. SherlockPerson: K. CroninPerson: C. O’ConnorPerson: D. O’SullivanPerson: R. CurranPerson: S. O’NeillPerson: K. HartnettPerson: M. O’ConnellPerson: T. McCarthyPerson: G. CallinanPerson: R. ConwayPerson: K. MurphyPerson: J. DeanePerson: TipperaryPerson: D FanningPerson: P MaherPerson: P CurranPerson: E CorcoranPerson: C O’MahoneyPerson: L EnglandPerson: E BrislanePerson: N CurranPerson: B DunnePerson: C MorrisseyPerson: G O’GradyPerson: S ButlerPerson: J O’BrienPerson: D EganEvent: Allianz NHLEvent: TipperaryOrganisation: WexfordOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: All-IrelandOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: OffalyOrganisation: Russell RoversOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: TipperaryOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: Thurles SarsfieldsOrganisation: St FlannanOrganisation: Newmarket-on-FergusOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: AntrimOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: SligoOrganisation: NFLOrganisation: SHOrganisation: Sarsfields
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.