Unbeaten Waterford ready to test holders

IT’S make-or-break time for the eight teams left in the Credit Union Harty Cup quarter-finals today.

St. Flannan's v Waterford Colleges

Cashel, 2 p.m.

HOLDERS St. Flannan's face difficult opponents in Waterford Colleges. The teams met in the 2004 final won comfortably by the Ennis side but both teams have changed considerably.

The Waterford side, a combination of four schools, came through their group with maximum points from four games while Flannan's lost one game in their group.

Flannan's tradition will make them favourites, but they haven't set the world on fire this season.

However, if they play to their potential they are capable of a big game.

Their team is built around Stephen Hickey, who played in last year's minor All-Ireland final with Limerick, Ciaran O'Doherty, Colm Madden and Conor Tierney.

Waterford have been impressive and have a number of excellent players in Ger Dunphy, Sean Hehir, Chris O'Gorman and Paul Murray.

Lack of group training may tell against them and that should give Flannan's the edge.

Verdict: A St. Flannan's win.

St. Colman's v Nenagh CBS

New Inn, 2 p.m.

COLMAN'S, who were involved in the best Harty game of the year when they defeated Flannan's by a point, look to have too much power for the north Tipperary school.

Adrian Mannix, a Cork minor in 2005, will spearhead their challenge along with Shane Cotter, Leo Sexton, Mark O'Callaghan, younger brother of county senior Jonathan, and Shane Kearney.

In Tony Dunne, Ronan Sherlock, Robert Duff and Dave Gleeson, Nenagh have players to trouble Colman's.

Verdict: A St. Colman's win.

Our Ladys v Midleton CBS

Kildorrery, 2 p.m.

From very early on, Midleton were being tipped as one of the favourites and nothing has happened to alter that view.

Indeed they have improved with every outing and youthful Our Lady's are unlikely to stop them.

The Templemore school showed tremendous heart and skill in forcing a draw last week against Carrigaline and with team captain Johnny Ryan set to return after injury, they'll make it very hard for the East Cork school, who will look to Paudie O'Sullivan, Robert and Kieran Mulcahy to see them through.

Verdict: A Midleton CBS win.

Rathluirc CBS v Thurles CBS

Claughaun, 2 p.m.

LAST year's beaten finalists Thurles CBS have made no secret of their ambitions to make amends, and having won all four Round Robin games, will be favourites.

John Joe Burke has been scoring freely and could have a big say in the destination of the honours. Liam Dwane and Pa Burke are others who will be key players for Thurles.

Rathluirc lost one game to Waterford Colleges but recovered well to qualify for the knock-out stages. Their team includes several members of the successful Newtown under 16 and minor teams.

In Ryan Clifford they have a forward of exceptional talent and along with Michael Bowles, Richard Farrissey and Gavin Morrissey should provide Thurles with their toughest outing yet.

Verdict: Thurles CBS.

Corn Uí Mhuirí quarter-final: St. Fachtnas, Skibbereen v Limerick Colleges, Liscarroll, 3 p.m.

THIS game has been brought forward to facilitate the Limerick amalgamation.

The journey is close on 100 miles for the West Cork school, but the result should go their way.

Backboned by players from senior clubs O'Donovan Rossa and Castlehaven, Fachtna's play a great inter-passing game.

Shane O'Driscoll, Mark Cahalane, Stephen Hurley, Sean Cahalane and Colin Crowley are Skibb's main men and it would be a major surprise if they are beaten.

Limerick dumped the holders CSN out of the competition and mustn't be taken likely. Pat Mullins, Padraig Kennedy, Jamesie Carroll and Eoin O'Brien will spearhead the Shannonsiders challenge.

Verdict: A St Fachtna's win.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: North TipperaryPerson: Stephen HickeyPerson: Ciaran O'DohertyPerson: Colm MaddenPerson: Conor TierneyPerson: Ger DunphyPerson: Sean HehirPerson: Chris O'GormanPerson: Paul MurrayPerson: FlannanPerson: NenaghPerson: ColmanPerson: Adrian MannixPerson: Shane CotterPerson: Leo SextonPerson: Mark O'CallaghanPerson: JonathanPerson: Shane KearneyPerson: Tony DunnePerson: Ronan SherlockPerson: Robert DuffPerson: Dave GleesonPerson: Johnny RyanPerson: Paudie O'SullivanPerson: RobertPerson: Kieran MulcahyPerson: RathluircPerson: John Joe BurkePerson: Liam DwanePerson: Pa BurkePerson: Ryan CliffordPerson: Michael BowlesPerson: RICHARD FARRISSEYPerson: Gavin MorrisseyPerson: Shane O'DriscollPerson: Mark CahalanePerson: Stephen HurleyPerson: Sean CahalanePerson: Colin CrowleyPerson: SkibbPerson: Pat MullinsPerson: Padraig KennedyPerson: Jamesie CarrollPerson: Eoin O'BrienPerson: St FachtnaEvent: Credit Union Harty CupEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: WaterfordOrganisation: St. FlannanOrganisation: Waterford Colleges CashelOrganisation: Waterford CollegesOrganisation: EnnisOrganisation: FlannanOrganisation: LimerickOrganisation: St. Colman'sOrganisation: CBS New InnOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: Our Lady'sOrganisation: Templemore schoolOrganisation: CarrigalineOrganisation: East CorkOrganisation: CBSOrganisation: ThurlesOrganisation: RathluircOrganisation: NewtownOrganisation: St. FachtnasOrganisation: SkibbereenOrganisation: Limerick CollegesOrganisation: LiscarrollOrganisation: West CorkOrganisation: O'Donovan RossaOrganisation: CastlehavenOrganisation: FachtnaOrganisation: Shannonsiders
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd