Larkin fury at Down turn

FORMER Down footballer James McCartan will not be disciplined by the GAA arising out of the challenge game a year ago in which Westmeath’s Kenny Larkin suffered a broken jaw in an off-the-ball incident.

Larkin fury at Down turn

While the Games Administration Committee had planned to hold a fresh investigation into the incident, an appeal to the Management Committee by the Down County Board proved successful at the weekend.

According to a statement issued yesterday from Croke Park, the appeal was upheld on the basis that Rule 152 (which deals with investigation procedures) was 'misapplied'. The news has been met with disbelief in Westmeath with county chairman Seamus Whelan describing it as "extremely disappointing".

Already a subscriber? Sign in

You have reached your article limit.

Unlimited access. Half the price.

Annual €130 €65

Best value

Monthly €12€6 / month

More in this section

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy Brand Safety FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Examiner Echo Group Limited