Cavan decision pending in Tommy Murphy Cup

THE draw for the Tommy Murphy Cup will be made in Croke Park tomorrow morning.

Sligo, London, Antrim, Clare and Louth have confirmed their participation while Cavan County Board make a decision on the matter tonight.

The quarter-finals of the competition will be played on the weekend of July 24 and 25 with the semi-finals on August 7. The final will take place in Croke Park on August 22 as a curtain raiser to one of the All-Ireland SFC semi-finals. The winners will play in Boston against a North American Board selection later this year.

The GAA have confirmed tickets for the Ulster final between Armagh and Donegal are also available from the Ticket Office from today until Friday from 11am-7pm and on Saturday from 11am to 4pm. The stand in O’Moore Park, Portlaoise will also be ticketed for the clash of Dublin and Longford and tickets will be available through county boards. Cash will be taken at the stiles for entry to the terraces.

The GAA also said the meeting of Galway and Kilkenny in the hurling qualifiers will go ahead at 6.15pm in Thurles on Sunday as stated.

The Cork minor football team to play Kerry in Sunday’s Munster final shows one change from the side which trounced Waterford in the semi-final.

Kevin Canty replaces his Valley Rovers club mate Fiachra Lynch in the forward line, while Paul Kerrigan moves out to left half-forward with Canty taking over at left full.

Ken O’Halloran, Eoin Cadogan, Carthach Keane and Canty are chasing a Munster minor double after their hurling win against Tipperary.

Canty and Keane were members of the all-conquering St Brogan’s team which won Munster and All-Ireland vocational schools medals.

Meanwhile, Wexford welcome Colm Morris back for Saturday’s All-Ireland SFC qualifier against Offaly in Wexford Park. The corner- back missed the Leinster semi-final defeat by Westmeath due to suspension.

Offaly are concerned about the fitness of corner-forward Tomás Deehan, who injured his knee in a club game. Both teams will be announced tonight.

Darren Homan returns for Dublin’s clash with Longford. He broke three ribs in the Leinster championship game against Westmeath a month ago.

CORK (MFC v Kerry): K. O’Halloran (Bishopstown); R. Carey (Clyda Rvrs), N. Horgan (St Nicks), K. Harrington (Bantry Blues); M. Shields (St Finbarr’s), E. Cadogan (Douglas), S. Keohane (St Marys); A. O’Sullivan (Castletownbere), C. Keane (Newcestown); C. Callinan (Clonakilty), F. Gould (Macroom), P. Kerrigan (Nemo Rgrs); A. Concannon (Ballingeary), D. Goulding (Eire Óg), K. Canty (Valley Rvrs). Subs: T. O’Connor (Douglas), S. O’Donoghue (Ballincollig), G. O’Shea (Nemo Rgrs), K. O’Halloran (Mallow), D. Harrington (Garnish), J. Lane (Douglas), D. Crowley (Bishopstown), F. Lynch (Valley Rvrs), J. Halbert (Glenville).

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: croke parkplace: sligoplace: londonplace: bostonplace: armaghplace: donegalplace: o’moore parkplace: portlaoiseplace: galwayplace: thurlesplace: wexford parkplace: valley rvrsplace: bishopstownplace: glenvilleperson: kevin cantyperson: fiachra lynchperson: paul kerriganperson: cantyperson: ken o’halloranperson: eoin cadoganperson: carthach keaneperson: keaneperson: colm morrisperson: tomas deehanperson: darren homanperson: k. o’halloranperson: r. careyperson: n. horganperson: k. harringtonperson: m. shieldsperson: e. cadoganperson: s. keohaneperson: a. o’sullivanperson: c. keaneperson: c. callinanperson: f. gouldperson: p. kerriganperson: rgrsperson: a. concannonperson: d. gouldingperson: k. cantyperson: t. o’connorperson: douglasperson: s. o’donoghueperson: ballincolligperson: g. o’sheaperson: nemo rgrsperson: mallowperson: d. harringtonperson: garnishperson: j. laneperson: d. crowleyperson: f. lynchperson: j. halbertevent: tommy murphy cupevent: all-ireland sfcevent: ulster finalevent: munsterevent: leinster championship gameorganisation: cavanorganisation: antrimorganisation: cavan county boardorganisation: gaaorganisation: cork minor football teamorganisation: kerryorganisation: waterfordorganisation: valley roversorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: st broganorganisation: wexfordorganisation: offalyorganisation: westmeathorganisation: dublinorganisation: longfordorganisation: corkorganisation: clyda rvrsorganisation: st nicksorganisation: bantry bluesorganisation: st finbarr’sorganisation: st marysorganisation: castletownbereorganisation: newcestownorganisation: clonakiltyorganisation: nemoorganisation: ballingearyorganisation: éire
Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up