Hollywood horror for Rathnew

Hollywood 0-10

However their chances of winning eight titles in-a-row, to equal the record established by Baltinglass in the 1990s, is not over as Wicklow have introduced a back-door system this year.

After failing to convert a lot of chances in the first half, Rathnew led 0-4 to 0-2 at the break.

Hollywood got their game together in the second period, levelling the scores at 0-4, 0-6 and 0-8 before they took the lead on 57 minutes with a point by former county player Tony Hannon.

Hannon scored the last four pointsfor Hollywood, who took Rathnew to a replay last year before being beaten by two points.

Scorers for Hollywood: Tony Hannon (0-6), Liam Og Mooney (0-2) Keith Burke and Hugh Keogh (0-1 each).

Rathnew: Trevor Doyle (0-2), Ronan Coffey (0-2), Tommy Gill (0-2), Mark Doyle (0-1), Nicky Mernagh (0-1).

Monageer-Boolavogue 2-10

Naomh Éanna (Gorey) 0-11

Monageer-Boolavogue emerged with a deserved five point victory over Naomh Eanna in their Wexford SHC replay at Monamolin on Saturday.

Inspired by centre-back Trevor Kelly, combined with the accuracy of Nial O’Loughlin, they eventually got the better of a gallant Naomh Éanna side very much dependant on veteran full-forward Billy Byrne for scores.

A first-half goal from O’Loughlin paved the way for his side’s 1-6 to 0-5 interval lead, and a second-half effort from Morgan Rowesome clinched their second round passage.

NAOMH EANNA: C. Browne, S. McGuckian, G. Cushe, P. Cullen, B. Breen, M. Travers, D. Browne, D. Kenny, E. Kinsella (0-2), D. Curran, A. Doyle, J. Kenny (0-2), G. Kenny, B. Byrne (0-5), J. O'Brien (0-2).

MONAGEER-BOOLAVOGUE: D. Prendergast, K. Lacey, S. Greene, N. Flynn, J. Breen, P. Daly, P. Breen, T. Kelly (0-2), J. Millar, C. O’Loughlin, S. Fenlon, N. O'Loughlin (1-6, 4 frees), S. Murphy (0-1), J. O’Loughlin, M. Rowsome (1-1). Sub: A. Flynn for J. O’Loughlin.

Referee: M. Sinnott (St. Martin's).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up