Inniscarra hit back to beat Bishopstown

WITH nine permanent TSB Cork County IHC games down for decision, five in the premier division, clubs were out in force over the weekend with all the games finishing with conclusive results.

Last year's beaten finalists Inniscarra were pushed all the way by Bishopstown at Oven before advancing 1-9 to 1-5.

Indeed Inniscarra were were left in the starting blocks, but against the odds they showed great pride in overwhelming Bishopstown in the final 30 minutes.

Scorers: Inniscarra: D O'Connell 1-2, J O'Mahony 0-3 (frees), D O'Riordan 0-2 (frees), M O'Sullivan and J Olden 0-1 each. Bishopstown: D Crowley 1-1, D O'Mahony 0-3 (0-2 frees), S O'Neill 0-1 (free).

Courcey Rovers and Mallow served up a terrific premier game at Blarney with Courceys winning 3-8 to 2-9. Seamus Hurley was the hero of the hour for Courcey's with his late goal, but credit also to Mallow for their stirring second-half comeback.

Scorers: Courcey Rovers: J. Murphy 2-1, N. Murphy 0-5, S. Hurley, 1-0, V. Hurley 0-2. Mallow: P. Dineen 1-4, R. O’Connell 1-2, M. Maher 0-2, B. Carey 0-1.

AT last a championship victory for Ballincollig to savour and, more importantly, one to build upon.

Their young and energetic outfit, parading five debutantes, were brimful of energy at Carrigtwohill, punishing a wasteful Youghal side with four late points to win 1-11 to 0-11 with Cork minor Alan O’Donovan the star of the show with 1-4.

Scorers: Ballincollig: A. Donovan 1-4, D. Beale 0-5 (frees), N. Connaughton, J. O’Brien 0-1 each. Youghal: O. Coleman 0-7 (0-4 frees), D. Ring (frees), J.P. Joyce 0-2 each.

Darren Dineen's 55th minute pointed free proved the winner in this marvellous premier clash at Pairc Uí Chaoimh on Saturday. Ballinhassig just about deserved their 1-10 to 0-12 victory, but it could have been so different had Dan Twomey not wasted two gilt chances from 30 metre frees late in the game.

Scorers: Ballinhassig: D. Dineen 0-5 (0-4 frees); D. Duggan 1-0; S. Dineen, F. O’Leary 0-2 each; M. Coleman 0-1 (free). Aghabullogue: D. Twomey 0-7 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65); E. Twomey 0-3; P. Kelleher, F. Foley 0-1 each.

Despite being reduced to 14-men, brave Tracton still had enough in hand to clip Aghada's wings 2-14 to 2-7 in another premier clash at Church Road. Leading by just a point when wing forward Peter Kingston was sent off for a second yellow card offence, seven minutes from the end of normal time, Tracton turned in a grandstand finish to deny Aghada.

Scorers: Tracton: D. Walsh 1-7 (0-5 from frees); F. Walsh 1-1 (1-0 from free); F. Lynch 0-2; S. O'Sullivan 0-2; N. Collins and J. Kingston 0-1 each. Aghada: D. Creedon 1-0; S. O'Keeffe 1-0; V. Morrissey 0-4 (0-1 from free); P. O'Neill 0-2; G. Melvin 0-1.

In the first division newcomers Dromina got off to a winning start 1-12 to 0-10 when they overcame Cobh in a close encounter at Castletownroche. The difference between the sides was the winner’s brilliant full-forward Martin Finn, only just returned from Australia, who accounted for 1-7 of his side’s tally.

Scorers: Dromina:- M. Finn 1-7 (0-4 frees), A. O'Shaughnessy 0-2, G. Healy 0-1, J. Finn 0-1, L. Hayes 0-1. Cobh: D. Barrett 0-4 (0-3 frees), M. O'Connor 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 '65'), B. Meaney 0-2, P. Meaney 0-1.

Watergrsshill had a successful day out with a 1-15 to 0-12 victory over Bandon at Ballygarvan.

The Hill set the scene for this win with a super charged scoring surge in a 10 minute spell before the break when they notched 1-5 without reply with John Halbert’s goal in the 27th minute the highlight.

Scorers: Watergrasshill: P. O’Regan (0-7, 0-6 frees, 0-1 65), J. Halbert (1-0), W. O’Leary (0-3), P. Cahill (0-2, 0-1 free), E. O’Reilly, K. Coakley, O. Curtin (0-1 each). Bandon: N. O’Rourke, D. Lucey (0-3 each), D. Cronin (0-2), J. Nyhan (0-1 free), J. HIckey, (0-1 free), D. O’Donoghue (0-1 free), K. Hurley (0-1).

Showing a greater degree of resolve, Nemo Rangers eventually came out on top 1-15 to 0-15 against Kanturk at Kildorrery yesterday. But, not before enduring a few anxious moments, and it was only when William Morgan scraped home the winning goal in the dying seconds that their fate was decided.

Scorers: Nemo Rangers: J Masters 0-9 (0-5 frees, 0-1 65m, 0-1 sideline), W Morgan 1-1, A Cronin 0-2, B Twomey 0-2 and K Walsh 0-1. Kanturk: F Browne 0-6 (0-5 frees), D Dwane 0-6 (0-1 free), P Kerins, B Mullane and A Nash (free) 0-1 each.

It was all too easy for Balymartle at Mallow yesterday when they subdued Milford's challenge 3-19 to 1-11 and subsequently condemned the losers to a second round clash with either Valley Rovers or St. Vincent's.

Referee Kevin Hennessey sent off both Rory Dwyer and Willie O’Leary nine minutes from time after a minor dust-up.

Scorers: Ballymartle: B. Coleman 2-1; B. Dwyer 0-7 (0-5 frees); C. O’Brien 1-0;P. Coughlan and G. Cummins (0-1 free) 0-3 each; D. McCarthy, J. O’Mahony, R. Dwyer and C. Sheehan 0-1 each. Milford: M. Morrissey 1-2 (frees); E. Dillon 0-5 (frees); J. O’Brien 0-2; S. Curtain and R. Geary 0-1 each.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: OvenPlace: CarrigtwohillPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Church RoadPlace: CastletownrochePlace: AustraliaPlace: BallygarvanPlace: KildorreryPlace: MallowPerson: D O'ConnellPerson: J O'MahonyPerson: D O'RiordanPerson: M O'SullivanPerson: J OldenPerson: D CrowleyPerson: D O'MahonyPerson: S O'NeillPerson: CourceysPerson: Seamus HurleyPerson: COURCEYPerson: MallowPerson: J. MurphyPerson: N. MurphyPerson: S. HurleyPerson: V. HurleyPerson: P. DineenPerson: R. O’ConnellPerson: M. MaherPerson: B. CareyPerson: Alan O’DonovanPerson: A. DonovanPerson: D. BealePerson: N. ConnaughtonPerson: J. O’BrienPerson: YoughalPerson: O. ColemanPerson: D. RingPerson: J.P. JoycePerson: Darren DineenPerson: Dan TwomeyPerson: D. DineenPerson: D. DugganPerson: S. DineenPerson: F. O’LearyPerson: M. ColemanPerson: D. TwomeyPerson: E. TwomeyPerson: P. KelleherPerson: F. FoleyPerson: TractonPerson: AghadaPerson: Peter KingstonPerson: D. WalshPerson: F. WalshPerson: F. LynchPerson: S. O'SullivanPerson: N. CollinsPerson: J. KingstonPerson: D. CreedonPerson: V. MorrisseyPerson: P. O'NeillPerson: G. MelvinPerson: DrominaPerson: Martin FinnPerson: M. FinnPerson: A. O'ShaughnessyPerson: G. HealyPerson: J. FinnPerson: L. HayesPerson: D. BarrettPerson: M. O'ConnorPerson: B. MeaneyPerson: P. MeaneyPerson: WatergrsshillPerson: John HalbertPerson: WatergrasshillPerson: P. O’ReganPerson: J. HalbertPerson: W. O’LearyPerson: P. CahillPerson: E. O’ReillyPerson: K. CoakleyPerson: O. CurtinPerson: N. O’RourkePerson: D. LuceyPerson: D. CroninPerson: J. NyhanPerson: J. HickeyPerson: D. O’DonoghuePerson: K. HurleyPerson: KanturkPerson: William MorganPerson: W MorganPerson: A CroninPerson: B TwomeyPerson: K WalshPerson: F BrownePerson: D DwanePerson: P KerinsPerson: B MullanePerson: A NashPerson: BalymartleEvent: JOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: InniscarraOrganisation: Courcey RoversOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: S.Organisation: CobhOrganisation: BandonOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Milford
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Execution Time: 0.204 s