Senior hurlers subs on Cork U-21 football team to face Waterford

SENIOR hurlers John Gardiner and Setanta Ó hAilpín have been named amongst the substitutes for Cork’s meeting with Waterford in the Munster U21FC semi-final at Walsh Park tomorrow evening (6.30pm).

Two members of the senior football team are included with Noel O’Donovan at full-back and Conrad Murphy at centre-forward. Noel O’Leary is not selected on a team which includes 11 players who won minor All-Ireland medals in 2000.

Meanwhile, the minor football selectors have been forced to make two changes from the team which defeated Galway, for Sunday’s All-Ireland semi-final against Dublin.

Wing-back Gearóid O’Shea broke his leg during a recent hurling championship game with his club while Alan O’Connor broke a thumb while hurling with his home side.

Kevin Harrington (Bantry) and Joe Shanahan (Shamrocks) are the players introduced. There are a number of positional switches as a consequence.

Harrington comes in at left corner-back with Niall Horgan moving out to left half-back in place of O’Shea. Fintan Gould takes over at midfield from O’Connor.

In attack, Paul Kerrigan moves from corner-forward to right half-forward, Brian Cotter now leads the attack while Shanahan is in at left half-forward. John Hayes moves from right half-forward to left full-forward.

Hurlers Brian Clifford and Aisake Ó hAilpín are amongst the substitutes.

Dublin have postponed naming their team until after training tomorrow. Francis Fitzgerald, who injured his leg in the Leinster final and aggravated it further against Fermanagh in the All-Ireland quarter final, is their sole injury worry and is unlikely to start.

Meanwhile, the Cork intermediate hurling selectors are concerned about the fitness of full-back Jerry O’Brien and wing-forward Jonathan O’Callaghan ahead of Saturday’s All-Ireland final against Kilkenny in Thurles (4pm).

O’Brien picked up a knee injury in the semi-final against Galway while O’Callaghan has a badly swollen hand from a knock he received while playing with Avondhu against Cloyne in the SHC at the weekend. As a result, Coach Sean O’Brien has postponed naming his team until tomorrow.

CORK (U-21F v Waterford): K., Murphy (Boherbue); M. Prout (Shamrocks), N. O’Donovan (Bishopstown), R. McCarthy (St. Finbarr's): B. O’Regan (Nemo Rangers), E. Burke (Ballincollig), P. Nealon (O’Donovan Rossa); M. Kelleher (Whites Cross), K. Murphy (Erins Own); SP O’Connor (Aghada), C. Murphy (Clonakilty), G. McLoughlin (Douglas); J. Masters (Nemo Rangers), D. Barron (Banry), C. Brosnan (Ballinora); Subs. O. O’Brien (St. Nicholas), B. Crowley (Aghada), S. Marshall (Nemo Rangers), N. O’Leary (Kilnamartyra), D. O’Hare (Ballinora), P. Deane (Dohenys), J. Gardiner (Na Piarsaigh), M. Cussen (Glanmire), S. Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh).

KILKENNY (IH v Cork): R. O’Neill (Kilmacaw); P. Dermody (Graigue-Ballycallan), P. Costelloe (St. Lachtains), S. Lanigan (Thomastown); G. Joyce (Emeralds), E. Mackey (Mooncoin), A. Lawlor (St. Martins); J. O’Neill (John Lockes), P. Buggy (Shamrocks); J. Power (Carrickshock), A. Fogarty (Emeralds), P. Maher (St. Martins); D. Mackey (Mooncoin), J. Maher (St. Martins), N. Moloney (do.).

CORK (MF v Dublin): J. Down (Kilmurry); C. Barrett (Ballincollig), S. O’Donoghue (do.), K. Harrington (Bantry); M. Shields (St. Finbarrs), E. Cadogan (Douglas), N. Horgan (St. Nicholas); P. Kelly (Ballincollig), F. Gould (Macroom); P. Kerrigan (Nemo Rangers), B. Cotter (Ballincollig), J. Shanahan (Shamrocks); D. Goulding (Eire Og), C. Weste (Ballincollig), J. Hayes (Carbery Rangers). Subs. D. Moynihan (Aghabullogue), P. Murphy (St. Finbarrs), B. Clifford (Lisgoold), J. O’Sullivan (St. Finbarrs), M. Milner (Sam Maguires), A. Ó hAilpín (Na Piarsaigh), S. Bermingham (Douglas), C. Keane (Newcestown), P. O’Shea (Nemo Rangers).

More in this section

CourtsGaaFootballPlace: Walsh ParkPlace: ThurlesPerson: John GardinerPerson: Setanta Ó HailpínPerson: Noel O’DonovanPerson: Conrad MurphyPerson: Noel O’LearyPerson: Gearoid O’SheaPerson: Alan O’ConnorPerson: Kevin HarringtonPerson: Joe ShanahanPerson: HarringtonPerson: Niall HorganPerson: O’SheaPerson: Fintan GouldPerson: O’ConnorPerson: Paul KerriganPerson: Brian CotterPerson: ShanahanPerson: John HayesPerson: Brian CliffordPerson: Aisake Ó hAilpínPerson: Francis FitzgeraldPerson: Jerry O’BrienPerson: Jonathan O’CallaghanPerson: O’BrienPerson: O’CallaghanPerson: Sean O’BrienPerson: K.Person: MurphyPerson: M. ProutPerson: N. O’DonovanPerson: R. McCarthyPerson: B. O’ReganPerson: E. BurkePerson: P. NealonPerson: M. KelleherPerson: K. MurphyPerson: SP O’ConnorPerson: C. MurphyPerson: G. McLoughlinPerson: J. MastersPerson: D. BarronPerson: C. BrosnanPerson: O. O’BrienPerson: B. CrowleyPerson: S. MarshallPerson: N. O’LearyPerson: D. O’HarePerson: P. DeanePerson: DohenysPerson: J. GardinerPerson: PIARSAIGHPerson: M. CussenPerson: GlanmirePerson: S. Ó hAilpinPerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: KilkennyPerson: R. O’NeillPerson: P. DermodyPerson: Graigue-BallycallanPerson: P. CostelloePerson: S. LaniganPerson: ThomastownPerson: G. JoycePerson: E. MackeyPerson: MooncoinPerson: A. LawlorPerson: St. MartinsPerson: J. O’NeillPerson: John LockesPerson: P. BuggyPerson: J. PowerPerson: CarrickshockPerson: A. FogartyPerson: P. MaherPerson: D. MackeyPerson: J. MaherPerson: N. MoloneyPerson: CorkPerson: J. DownPerson: KilmurryPerson: C. BarrettPerson: BallincolligPerson: S. O’DonoghuePerson: K. HarringtonPerson: BantryPerson: M. ShieldsPerson: E. CadoganPerson: DouglasPerson: N. HorganPerson: St. NicholasPerson: P. KellyPerson: F. GouldPerson: MacroomPerson: P. KerriganPerson: RANGERSPerson: B. CotterPerson: J. ShanahanPerson: D. GouldingPerson: ÓgPerson: C. WestePerson: J. HayesPerson: D. MoynihanPerson: AghabulloguePerson: P. MurphyPerson: B. CliffordPerson: J. O’SullivanPerson: M. MilnerPerson: Sam MaguiresPerson: A. O hAilpínPerson: S. BerminghamPerson: C. KeanePerson: P. O’SheaEvent: Munster U21FCEvent: All-Ireland semiEvent: Leinster finalEvent: All-Ireland quarterEvent: All-IrelandOrganisation: Cork U-21Organisation: WaterfordOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: GalwayOrganisation: DublinOrganisation: ShamrocksOrganisation: FermanaghOrganisation: KilkennyOrganisation: AvondhuOrganisation: U-21FOrganisation: BishopstownOrganisation: St. Finbarr'sOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: BallincolligOrganisation: O’Donovan RossaOrganisation: Whites CrossOrganisation: Erins OwnOrganisation: AghadaOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: DouglasOrganisation: BallinoraOrganisation: KilnamartyraOrganisation: IHOrganisation: KilmacawOrganisation: St.Organisation: Carbery RangersOrganisation: St. FinbarrsOrganisation: Newcestown
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Sport Push Notifications

By clicking on 'Sign Up' you will be the first to know about our latest and best sporting content on this browser.

Sign Up

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Cookie Policy Privacy Policy FAQ Help Contact Us Terms and Conditions

© Irish Examiner Ltd