Cork selectors keep faith in under-performing players

THE Cork selectors haven't made any changes for Sunday's Munster SFC final replay at Páirc Uí Chaoimh despite the indifferent form shown by a number of their players.

On Sunday Cork introduced Joe Kavanagh, Diarmuid O’Sullivan, Maurice McCarthy and Colin Crowley for Michael O’Sullivan, Alan Cronin, Nicholas Murphy and Philip Clifford.

However, the selectors have kept faith in the 15 players who were on from the start the last day.

Tipperary have also named the same side that started the drawn game. However, only goalkeeper Philly Ryan, midfielders Kevin Mulryan and Liam England, right half-forward Paul Cahill, right corner-forward Peter Lambert and full-forward Declan Browne have been selected in the positions they lined out in.

Sean Collum, Niall Kelly and team captain Damien Byrne are listed two, three and four respectively. On Sunday, Brendan Hahessy started in the right corner with Byrne at full-back and Kelly on his left.

Sean Maher, Collum and Niall Fitzgerald formed the half-back line the last day. Now Hahessy has been selected at right half, with Fitzgerald in the centre and Maher at left half-back.

Dual star Brendan Cummins, who started in the left corner last weekend, is named at centre-forward with Fergal O’Callaghan moving to left half-forward. Damien Ryan moves from the left wing to the left corner.

Benny Hickey, Willie Morrissey and Michael Spillane, all of whom were sprung from the bench on Sunday, will sit out the start again.

Meanwhile, Hank Traynor is still on the missing list for Meath, who meet Donegal in their All-Ireland qualifier at Croke Park on Sunday.

The teak-tough half-back missed the Royals’ 11-point victory over Laois because of a calf muscle injury.

Having recovered from that injury, Trayor damaged a hamstring in training over the weekend. Manager Sean Boylan is expected to again name Nigel Nestor at centre-back in the absence of Traynor.

For what will be the first championship meeting between the sides since the 1990 All-Ireland semi-final, which Meath won 3-9 to 1-7, Donegal will be without full-back and captain Mark Crossan because of a knee injury he sustained in the Ulster final against Armagh.

Ger Cavalan and Kieran Huges are doubtful for Tyrone’s qualifier against Sligo at Croke Park on Sunday. Wing-forward Cavlan fractured his jaw against Derry. Huges picked up an ankle injury in the same game.

Meanwhile, Antrim will be without leading forwards Conor McCambridge and Aidan Delargy for the following week’s All-Ireland hurling qualifier against reigning champions Tipperary.

CORK (SF v Tipperary): K. O’Dwyer; E. Sexton, C. O’Sullivan, A. Lynch; S. Levis, R. McCarthy, G. Canty; N. Murphy, M. O’Sullivan; B. J. O’Sullivan, M. Cronin, A. Cronin; P. Clifford, C. Corkery, F. Murray. Subs. A. Quirke, J. Miskella, N. O’Donovan, P. Kissane, D. O’Sullivan, C. Crowley, N. O’Leary, J. Kavanagh, K. Murphy, M. McCarthy, N. Geary, J. O’Shea, M. O´ Croinín, J. O’Donoghue

TIPPERARY (SF v Cork): P. Ryan; S. Collum, N. Kelly, D. Byrne; B. Hahessy, N. Fitzgerald, S. Maher; K. Mulryan, L. England; P. Cahill, B. Cummins, F. O’Callaghan; P. Lambert, D. Browne, D. O’Brien. Subs. B. Enright, W. Morrissey, N. Sheehan, R. Costigan, E. Hanrahan, T. Ormonde, M. Tarrant, M. Spillane, B. Hickey, C. O’Dwyer, C. McMenamin.

More in this section

gaafootballplace: páirc uí chaoimhplace: tipperaryplace: croke parkperson: joe kavanaghperson: diarmuid o’sullivanperson: maurice mccarthyperson: colin crowleyperson: michael o’sullivanperson: alan croninperson: nicholas murphyperson: philip cliffordperson: philly ryanperson: kevin mulryanperson: liam englandperson: paul cahillperson: peter lambertperson: declan browneperson: sean collumperson: niall kellyperson: damien byrneperson: brendan hahessyperson: byrneperson: kellyperson: sean maherperson: collumperson: niall fitzgeraldperson: hahessyperson: fitzgeraldperson: maherperson: brendan cumminsperson: fergal o’callaghanperson: damien ryanperson: benny hickeyperson: willie morrisseyperson: michael spillaneperson: hank traynorperson: trayorperson: seán boylanperson: nigel nestorperson: mark crossanperson: ger cavalanperson: kieran hugesperson: cavlanperson: hugesperson: conor mccambridgeperson: aidan delargyperson: k. o’dwyerperson: e. sextonperson: o’sullivanperson: lynchperson: s. levisperson: r. mccarthyperson: g. cantyperson: n. murphyperson: m. o’sullivanperson: b. j. o’sullivanperson: croninperson: a. croninperson: p. cliffordperson: c. corkeryperson: f. murrayperson: a. quirkeperson: j. miskellaperson: n. o’donovanperson: p. kissaneperson: d. o’sullivanperson: kavanaghperson: k. murphyperson: gearyperson: o’sheaperson: o´ croinínperson: o’donoghueperson: p. ryanperson: s. collumperson: n. kellyperson: b. hahessyperson: k. mulryanperson: p. cahillperson: cumminsperson: f. o’callaghanperson: p. lambertperson: d. browneperson: d. o’brienperson: b. enrightperson: w. morrisseyperson: n. sheehanperson: r. costiganperson: e. hanrahanperson: t. ormondeperson: m. tarrantperson: m. spillaneperson: b. hickeyperson: c. o’dwyerperson: c. mcmenaminevent: munster sfcevent: all-irelandevent: 1990 all-ireland semi-finalevent: ulsterorganisation: corkorganisation: meathorganisation: royals’organisation: laoisorganisation: donegalorganisation: armaghorganisation: tyroneorganisation: sligoorganisation: derryorganisation: antrimorganisation: sf
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.