Clon spring surprise on Nemo Rangers

THERE was a major shock in the permanent tsb Cork County SFC at Bandon yesterday when former All Ireland Club champions Nemo Rangers went under to Clonakilty 1-13 to 0-15.

With major success eluding them in recent years, it was clear that Clonakilty were not prepared to accept that fate any longer.

None more so than the brilliant Padraig Griffin, whose 55th minute blistering goal, proved to be the catalyst for this famous victory.

Nemo were striving for better fortune after last year’s premature exit. Colin Corkery - arguably the most talked about substitute in the grounds - was not introduced until stoppage time. The question that will never be satisfactorily answered is if his entrance came any earlier would he have made a difference?

Scorers: Clonakilty: P Griffin 1-2, B Walsh (0-1 free) and C Murphy 0-4 (frees) each, E O’Brien, T Anglin and K Meade 0-1 each. Nemo Rangers: A Cronin and J Masters 0-3 (0-1 free) each, M Cronin and M Kearney 0-2 each, M Kearney, J Kavanagh, M Daly, D Mehigan and C Corkery (free) 0-1 each.

In one other SFC clash at Carrigtwohill, Aghada produced a terrific finish, scoring four lightning-quick points in as many minutes, two from inspirational substitute Trevor O’Keeffe, to propel the East Cork side into the quarter-finals by 0-13 to 0-11.

Na Piarsaigh’s almost stole a draw when John Gardiner’s low-strike from whizzed over the crossbar, but it was not to be their night.

Scorers: Aghada: E O’Neill 0-5 (0-4 free); JP O’Connor, B Flaherty and T O’Keefe 0-2 each; J O’Connell and P O’Neill 0-1 each. Na Piarsaigh: J Gardiner 0-4; S Óg Ó hAilpín, S Glasgow (0-1 free) and C O’Sullivan (frees) 0-2 each.

With All Ireland club champions Newtownshandrum having negotiated a tricky encounter with Erin’s Own on Friday night, five more permanent tsb Cork SHC round three contests were completed over the weekend.

Blackrock strolled to a 5-21 to 0-9 win, at Páirc Uí Chaoimh. Some clinical finishing taking Muskerry apart in a contest that was all over once the Rockies struck two quick-fire goals courtesy of Barry Hennebrey and Colin O’Reilly in the 10th minute.

Brian O’Keeffe took the scoring honours in the second-half with a hat-trick of goals on a pleasing night for the Blackrock front men.

Scorers: Blackrock: B O’Keeffe 3-1, B Hennebrey 1-4, C O’Reilly 1-2, L Meaney 0-4, P Tierney 0-3, J Young, A Browne, A Coughlan 0-2 each, E Kiely 0-1. Muskerry: F Kiely 0-3 (0-2 frees, 0-1 ‘65), M O’Sullivan, J Russell 0-2 each, J Hurley, J Hughes 0-1 each.

Castlelyons had an opportunity of causing a major upset at Caherlag, but their failure to turn the screw when St Finbarr’s were on the rack cost them dearly as they lost 4-12 to 2-8.

Leading by three points at the interval, Castlelyons missed two gilt-edged point scoring opportunities immediately after the resumption and that was the start of the rot.

Scorers: St Finbarr’s: R O’Mahony 2-0; K Murray 1-4; C McCarthy 1-0; B O’Driscoll 0-6 (0-5 from frees; 0-1 from 65); M Ryan 0-2. Castlelyons: J Sexton 1-1; S McAuliffe 1-0; E Fitzgerald 0-4 (0-3 from frees; 0-1 from 65); T Hickey, O Murphy and C McCann 0-1 each.

A devastating seven-minute spell late in the second-half, yielding 3-1 without reply, earned Cloyne an emphatic 5-5 to 0-8 victory over Midleton in a disappointing game at Killeagh.

However, it was a result that didn’t look likely with 11 minutes to go after Midleton pulled down a five-point half-time lead to the minimum and wasted at least two chances to at least draw level.

Cloyne’s hurling was far more direct and paid a handsome dividend. They play St Finbarr’s in the quarter-finals.

Scorers: Cloyne: P O’Sullivan 2-1; C Cusack 1-1; C O’Sullivan 1-0; V Cusack 1-0; I Quinlan 0-2 (0-1 free); D O’Sullivan 0-1 (free). Midleton: L Walsh 0-3 (frees); J Moynihan, M O’Connell, M Keohane, G Manley, B Behan (free) 0-1 each.

A spectacular, last-gasp equalising point from Cork panellist John Anderson denied Imokilly and kept never-say-die Glen Rovers in the hunt for honours (2-12 to 1-15) at Páirc Uí Rinn yesterday evening.

Unerring in his free-taking duties, he successfully converted six frees and a 65. A very subdued figure in general play, Anderson kept the best wine until last and saved the Glen with a great left-handed shot from 40 metres, four minutes into injury time.

Scorers: Glen Rovers: D Goggin 1-1, D Dorris 1-0, J Anderson 0-8 (0-6 frees; 0-1 65); N Harte, G Callinan, S McGrath 0-1 each. Imokilly: E Conway 1-0, M Fitzgerald 0-7 (0-4 frees), P Cahill 0-4, J Smiddy 0-2, B Coleman, D Barrett (free) 0-1 each.

Two goals in the final five minutes from Diarmuid O’Riordan earned CIT a dramatic 2-18 to 2-15 win over Killeagh in an absorbing third round tie at Páirc Uí Rinn last night.

Inspired by a terrific display from Joe Deane, it seemed to be Killeagh’s night when leading by two entering the final stretch. But powered by a masterful display from man-of-the-match Vincent Hurley and the opportunism of O’Riordan, CIT now go through to the quarter-finals for a rematch with Newtownshandrum.

Scorers: CIT: D O’Riordan 2-3; M O’Sullivan 0-6 (0-3 frees); R O’Dwyer 0-3; V Hurley 0-2 (0-1 free); G McCarthy, M Kelly, B O’Sullivan and P O’Flynn 0-1 each. Killeagh: J Deane 1-8 (0-4 frees; 0-1 ‘65’); Brendan Barry 1-2; B Walsh 0-2; M Byrne, J Brenner and J O’Connor 0-1 each.

More in this section

CourtsGaaPlace: BandonPlace: CarrigtwohillPlace: Páirc Uí ChaoimhPlace: Páirc Uí RinnPerson: Padraig GriffinPerson: Colin CorkeryPerson: P GriffinPerson: B WalshPerson: C MurphyPerson: E O’BrienPerson: T AnglinPerson: K MeadePerson: A CroninPerson: J MastersPerson: M CroninPerson: M KearneyPerson: J KavanaghPerson: M DalyPerson: D MehiganPerson: C CorkeryPerson: AghadaPerson: Trevor O’KeeffePerson: Na PiarsaighPerson: John GardinerPerson: E O’NeillPerson: JP O’ConnorPerson: B FlahertyPerson: T O’KeefePerson: J O’ConnellPerson: P O’NeillPerson: J GardinerPerson: S Og O hAilpinPerson: S GlasgowPerson: C O’SullivanPerson: MuskerryPerson: Barry HennebreyPerson: Colin O’ReillyPerson: Brian O’KeeffePerson: B O’KeeffePerson: BPerson: HennebreyPerson: C O’ReillyPerson: L MeaneyPerson: P TierneyPerson: J YoungPerson: E KielyPerson: F KielyPerson: M O’SullivanPerson: J RussellPerson: J HurleyPerson: J HughesPerson: St FinbarrPerson: FinbarrPerson: R O’MahonyPerson: K MurrayPerson: C McCarthyPerson: B O’DriscollPerson: M RyanPerson: J SextonPerson: S McAuliffePerson: E FitzgeraldPerson: T HickeyPerson: O MurphyPerson: C McCannPerson: CloynePerson: MidletonPerson: O’SullivanPerson: I QuinlanPerson: D O’SullivanPerson: L WalshPerson: J MoynihanPerson: M O’ConnellPerson: M KeohanePerson: G ManleyPerson: B BehanPerson: John AndersonPerson: ImokillyPerson: AndersonPerson: GlenPerson: DorrisPerson: J AndersonPerson: N HartePerson: G CallinanPerson: S McGrathPerson: E ConwayPerson: MPerson: FitzgeraOrganisation: Nemo RangersOrganisation: Cork County SFCOrganisation: All Ireland ClubOrganisation: ClonakiltyOrganisation: East CorkOrganisation: All IrelandOrganisation: NewtownshandrumOrganisation: Erin’s OwnOrganisation: BlackrockOrganisation: RockiesOrganisation: CastlelyonsOrganisation: CaherlagOrganisation: StOrganisation: MidletonOrganisation: St FinbarrOrganisation: CusackOrganisation: CorkOrganisation: Glen Rovers
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.