Cork succeed in getting U-21 clash postponed

FOLLOWING a meeting of the Munster Council GAC in Limerick last night, Cork succeeded in postponing tonight’s Munster U21 football championship semi-final against Waterford.

The council said the fixture must be played on or before August 27 with extra-time and the final is fixed for September 4. Meanwhile, the Kerry team to play Tipperary in the Munster U21 FC semi-final at Kilmallock on Friday night includes four seniors, Séamus Scanlon, Declan O’Sullivan, Declan Quill and Colm Cooper, and Páidí Ó Sé will be hoping they all come through unscathed as their All-Ireland SFC semi-final clash with Tyrone approaches. The selectors have given a vote of confidence to the team which started and beat Limerick in the opening round in Newcastlewest.

Galway and Mayo will endeavour to salvage something from a season that has gone horribly wrong on them at senior level when they meet in tonight’s Connacht U21 FC final at Pearse Stadium, Tuam.

Both these counties have hogged this particular grade in recent years with victories alternating between them. Last year Galway were successful by a point and went on to take the All-Ireland title, while Mayo won the title in 2001 but failed to Tyrone in the All-Ireland semi-final.

The Mayo team for tonight’s final shows one change from that which defeated Sligo in the semi-final recently. Conor Moran comes in at right half back in place of Stephen Drake.

Team boss John Maughan will include nine seniors on the starting 15, the most notable being Conor Mortimer, keeper Fintan Ruddy, and David Munnelly. The team will be captained by Alan Dillon.

Following their shock exit from the senior All-Ireland last Sunday, John O’Mahony who is also coach to the U21 team, has a huge task on his hands in trying to lift Galway football for tonight’s final. He has included five seniors on the starting 15, Michael Comer who will captain the team, Kevin Brady, Mathew Clancy, Michael Meehan and Nicholas Joyce. The goalkeeping position has been left vacant as the regular keeper Brian O’Donoghue who is also the senior netminder, was injured in the kick about before last Sunday’s All-Ireland quarter-final against Donegal. A decision on whether he plays or not won’t be taken until just before the throw-in.

The outcome may hinge on how well Galway can cope with Conor Mortimer and Mayo handle Michael Meehan. Both are tremendously gifted forwards, and the fact that the defending champions will include Mathew Clancy, another forward with huge potential, coupled with home advantage, may give Galway the edge.

Tipperary include five seniors on their team, Brian Enright, Niall Sheehan, Patrick Halley, Robbie Costigan and Tony Doyle who will captain the team.

KERRY(U-21 FC v Tipperary): S. Clifford (Laune Rangers); N. Lynch (do.), E. Lawlor (Gneeveguilla), F. Griffin (Glenbeigh/Glencar); P. Sheehan (Dromid Pearses), C. O’Connor (do.), E. Kavanagh (Dr. Crokes); S. Scanlon (Currow), P. Kelly (Ballylongford); R. Donovan (Spa), D. O’Sullivan (Dromid Pearses), M. Collins (Austin Stacks); D. Quill (Kerins O’Rahillys), C. Cooper (Dr. Crokes), DJ Fleming (Kilcummin).

Subs. P. O’Sullivan (Valentia), B. O’Mahony (John Mitchels), D. Walsh (Cromane), S. O’Sullivan (Waterville), D. MacGearailt (An Gaeltacht), R. McAuliffe (Gneeveguilla), B. Donaghy (Austin Stacks), D. O’Sullivan (Lispole).

TIPPERARY (U-21 FC v Kerry): B. Enright (Cahir); N. Sheehan (Arravale Rangers), P. King (Ballina), P. O’Flaherty (Cahir); P. Halley (Rockwell Rovers), R. Costigan (Cahir), J. Hassett (Moyle Templetuohy); D. Byron (Galtee Rovers), D. O’Brien (Burgess); D. Hickey (Ballina), P. McCarthy (Galtee Rovers), D. McKeogh (Ballina); T. Doyle (Killenaule), B. Coen (Fethard), S. McKeogh (Ballina).

MAYO (U-21 FC v Galway): F. Ruddy; L. O’Malley, P. Nevin, R. Walsh; C. Moran, E. Devenney, D. Costello; P. Doherty, P. Harte; J. Varley, A. Dillon, A. Moran; C. Mortimer, S. Mangan, D. Munnelly.

GALWAY(U-21 FC v Mayo): AN Other; M. Comer, R. Murray, C. Monaghan; K. Brady, D. Mulally, A. Burke; J. Devane, B. Cullinane; E. Killeen, M. Clancy, D. Ward; D. Burke, M. Meehan; N. Joyce.

More in this section

courtsgaafootballplace: limerickplace: kilmallockplace: newcastlewestplace: pearse stadiumplace: valentiaperson: seamus scanlonperson: declan o’sullivanperson: declan quillperson: colm cooperperson: páidí ó séperson: conor moranperson: stephen drakeperson: john maughanperson: conor mortimerperson: fintan ruddyperson: david munnellyperson: alan dillonperson: john o’mahonyperson: michael comerperson: kevin bradyperson: mathew clancyperson: michael meehanperson: nicholas joyceperson: brian o’donoghueperson: brian enrightperson: niall sheehanperson: patrick halleyperson: robbie costiganperson: tony doyleperson: kerryperson: s. cliffordperson: e. lawlorperson: f. griffinperson: p. sheehanperson: dromid pearsesperson: c. o’connorperson: e. kavanaghperson: dr. crokesperson: s. scanlonperson: currowperson: p. kellyperson: r. donovanperson: d. o’sullivanperson: m. collinsperson: austin stacksperson: d. quillperson: kerins o’rahillysperson: c. cooperperson: dj flemingperson: kilcumminperson: p. o’sullivanperson: b. o’mahonyperson: john mitchelsperson: d. walshperson: s. o’sullivanperson: d. macgearailtperson: r. mcauliffeperson: b. donaghyperson: b. enrightperson: n. sheehanperson: p. kingperson: p. o’flahertyperson: cahirperson: p. halleyperson: r. costiganperson: j. hassettperson: moyle templetuohyperson: d. byronperson: d. o’brienperson: d. hickeyperson: p. mccarthyperson: d. mckeoghperson: t. doyleperson: b. coenperson: s. mckeoghperson: f. ruddyperson: l. o’malleyperson: p. nevinperson: r. walshperson: c. moranperson: e. devenneyperson: d. costelloperson: p. dohertyperson: p. harteperson: j. varleyperson: a. dillonperson: a. moranperson: c. mortimerperson: s. manganperson: d. munnellyperson: m. comerperson: r. murrayperson: c. monaghanperson: k. bradyperson: d. mulallyperson: a. burkeperson: j. devaneperson: b. cullinaneperson: e. killeenperson: m. clancyperson: d. wardperson: d. burkeperson: n. joyceevent: munster u21 football championship semi-finalevent: u21event: all-ireland sfcevent: connacht u21 fcevent: all-irelandevent: all-ireland semievent: all-ireland quarter-finalorganisation: corkorganisation: munster council gacorganisation: waterfordorganisation: kerryorganisation: fcorganisation: tyroneorganisation: limerickorganisation: galwayorganisation: mayoorganisation: sligoorganisation: u21organisation: donegalorganisation: u-21 fcorganisation: tipperaryorganisation: laune rangersorganisation: glencarorganisation: cromaneorganisation: gneeveguillaorganisation: lispoleorganisation: arravale rangersorganisation: ballinaorganisation: rockwell roversorganisation: galtee roversorganisation: killenauleorganisation: fethard
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day.