Corcoran makes history with award

TWELVE years after being selected in his debut season, Brian Corcoran last night collected a third Vodafone GAA Allstar award.

All-Ireland champions Cork gained their biggest representation at the awards since 1986.

Seven players were honoured and Waterford's Paul Flynn gained recognition after a 10-year wait, along with Dan Shanahan and Ken McGrath.

With McGrath named at midfield alongside Jerry O'Connor one of five first-time winners the selectors chose the same three half-backs as last year, JJ Delaney, Ronan Curran and Seán Óg Ó hAilpín.

Only once before in the 34 years of the scheme did this happen, when Pete Finnerty, Tony Keady and Bobby Ryan were chosen in 1986 and again in 1988.

Wayne Sherlock and Niall McCarthy also won their first awards, along with Dan Shanahan and Paul Flynn, who has been nominated five times since 1994.

Kilkenny ace Henry Shefflin picked up a fourth award, while Tipperary forward Eoin Kelly shared the same distinction.

Brian Corcoran's first award was at corner-back and his second in 1999 was at centre-back. Named last night at full-forward, he is only the second player (after Brian Whelahan) to win awards as a defender and forward. Ken McGrath's first award in 2002 was at left half-forward, while Tommy Walsh was at midfield on the 2003 team.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up

Discover the

Install our free app today

Available on


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.