Donnelly wins Killarney Forest Rally

Victory in the Bio-Clear Killarney Forest Rally secured the KBB Doors National Forest Championship

Victory in the Bio-Clear Killarney Forest Rally secured the KBB Doors National Forest Championship

title for Derry’s, Eugene Donnelly and his Kerry co-driver, Paul Nagle.

Driving a Toyota Celica, they finished the six stage Castleisland based event with a 16 second winning margin over the Escort WRC of Dermot Kelly/John Brennan with another Escort WRC, that of John McCarthy/Dan Maguire a further 31 seconds behind.

On the first stage near Brosna, John McCarthy posted the quickest time as he led Kelly and Niall Driver (Mitsubishi), who shared second place.

John Donnelly (Escort) and Eugene Donnelly followed behind.

Eugene Donnelly posted fastest times on the two remaining stages of the loop and took over as leader, albeit by three seconds from Kelly with McCarthy another three seconds off the pace.

Donnelly sealed his event and championship victory with a fine performance over the final loop of three stages where he was faster than his opponents.

Behind Kelly and McCarthy, Niall Driver’s Mitsubishi was fourth and top rear wheel drive competitor, Paul Staunton (Escort) rounded off the top six.

1. E. Donnelly/P. Nagle (Toyota Celica) 48m. 36s.

2. D. Kelly/J. Brennan (Escort WRC) 48m. 52s.

3. J. McCarthy/D. Maguire (Escort WRC) 49m. 23s.

4. N. Driver/F. Corrigan (Mitsubishi) 50m. 46s.

5. P. Staunton/B. Burgess (Ford Escort) 50m. 55s.

6. J. Murphy/C/ Mulcahy (Escort Cosworth) 51m. 26s.

7. J. Reid/B. Greene (Ford Escort) 52m. 34s.

8. B. Lawlor/P. Kavanagh (Ford Escort) 54m. 09S.

9. J. Roche/T. Snell (Ford Escort) 54m. 33s.

10. M. O'Sullivan (Ford Escort) 55m. 25s.

Niall Maguire, in a Subaru WRC, won the Inishowen Gateway Hotel Donegal Harvest Rally. He inherited the lead when local ace, Daniel Doherty crashed his Subaru WRC. Andrew Stewart (Mitsubishi) was second - 44 seconds in arrears.

James Gillen (Escort Cosworth) and the Mitsubishi of Stuart Darcy were third and fourth respectively.

1. N. Maguire/P. McLaughlin (Subaru WRC) 51m. 44s.

2. A. Stewart/F. McShane (Lancer N) 52m. 28s.

3. J. Gillen/V. Carrothers (Escort Cosworth) 52m. 44s.

4. S. Darcy/B. Godman (Mitsubishi) 53m. 10s.

More in this section

ieStyle Live 2021 Logo
ieStyle Live 2021 Logo

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Discover the great outdoors on Ireland's best walking trails

IE Logo
Outdoor Trails

Puzzles logo

Puzzles hub

Visit our brain gym where you will find simple and cryptic crosswords, sudoku puzzles and much more. Updated at midnight every day. PS ... We would love to hear your feedback on the section right HERE.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up