Motorsport: Keohane wins scholarship race

Michael Keohane’s race weekend at Thruxton ended with a superb win in the Scholarship class.

Michael Keohane’s race weekend at Thruxton ended with a superb win in the Scholarship class.

The Clonakilty driver in his Weathermaster/ Black

Pudding car came from seventh on the grid top take a fine win and cement his third place championship position.

Throughout the weekend he struggled as his Meritus team tried to find the perfect set-up.

Their endeavours proved fruitful as Keohane gave a strong performance in the final F3 race of the day.

By lap four he had passed all his rivals and went on to take the chequered flag.

Robbie Kerr and Mark Mayall were second and third.

Mathew Gilmore was fourth. Keohane also gained an additional championship point for setting the fastest lap.

The A class win went to Anthony Davidson ahead of James Courtney and Northern Ireland’s, Derek Hayes.

Eighth was enough for Japanese star, Takuma Sato to clinch the F3 title.

A dominant performance in the eleventh round of the Slick 50 Formula Ford saw Robert Dahlgren take over top spot in the series.

The Swedish driver was over six seconds ahead of second placed, Westley Barber.

Gary Turkington was the highest placed Irish driver. He finished the 14-lap race in seventh place. Other Irish finishers were Irish James Murphy in 12th, Tony Rodgers and Robert Scott - 16th and 17th respectively.

Cork’s Declan Swanton won the Junior Superstock motorcycle race at Brands Hatch. He claimed pole position, set fastest lap and regained second in the


In Mondello Park, an unlucky Alan Dwyer lost the lead on the penultimate lap and eventually finished down in sixth place.

The race was won by Alan Ring with Michael Devaney and Charlie Donnelly completing the podium line-up.

Championship leader, George McAlpin was fifth ahead of the unfortunate Dwyer.

Jonathan Fildes emerged victorious in the Dunlop RT2000 race to move into the championship lead - a point ahead of Brendan Donegan.

The opening rounds of the Hewison Autotest Championship in Cork resulted in wins for JJ Farrell and Eamonn Byrne.

Farrell won the first round with Byrne second.

The roles were reversed for today’s second round.

Sam Johnston was third on both occasions.

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up