Thornton signs off in style for Brunell

Basketball: Singletons Supervalu Brunell 71 Glanmire 33: Singletons Supervalu Brunell made it three in-a-row Women’s U20 National Cup titles when demolishing Cork rivals Glanmire at the National Basketball Arena

Thornton signs off in style for Brunell

Edel Thornton, who heads to Quinepeke University in July, ended her club career in style when winning the MVP award for the third consecutive time.

Thornton, one of the best prospects in Irish basketball, was close to tears after receiving her award the first player in the history of Women’s basketball to achieve this incredible feat: “I am so emotional to be leaving girls I have soldiered with since I was a child, but I have to follow my dream to the States,” Edel said.

Thornton, who lost a schools final this week with St Vincent’s, knows the heartbreak of defeat also and paid tribute to the defeated Glanmire side: “We didn’t expect them to be so flat on the day but we played very well and I am delighted to have finished on a winning note,” added Edel.

The reigning champions dominated all through and set the foundation when racing into an 18-5 opening quarter lead. Brunell’s class was obvious again in the second quarter and by the interval Glanmire trailed 34-9.

Brunell ran them ragged in the second half with coach Mark Scannell surprised at his team’s poor showing: “I cannot believe how badly we played but I think when you have players involved with three teams it eventually catches up with you,” Scannell said.

Scannell also paid tribute to the winners: “They are an outstanding team and to win three consecutive titles in this grade is a great achievement. Knowing my players we will regroup and work on the negatives and I am sure we will be a better side in the coming years.” added Scannell.

Scorers for Singletons Supervalu Brunell: Edel Thorton 23, Amy Waters 18, Megan O’Leary 12.

Scorers for Glanmire: Meabdbh Campbell 9, Claire O’Brien 8, Lauren Falvey 5.

SINGLETONS SUPERVALU BRUNELL: G Kelleher, E Thornton, A Moynihan, O Connolly, A Waters, M O’Leary, C O’Connell, A Dineen, S Morrissey, A Macheta, J Lane, E Murphy.

GLANMIRE: H Lenihan, S Kenny, O Dupuy, H Herlihy, C O’Brien, L Falvey, E O’Mahony, C McCarthy, H McCarthy, L A Wilkinson, M Campbell.

Referees: Lynda Cassidy (Dublin), Indrek Aim (Dublin), Maurice Thornhill (Cork).

More in this section

Sport Newsletter

Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up