Third Personality of the Year Award for Ruth

DOLORES Ruth’s magnificent year continued at Shelbourne Park when she was presented with the Irish Greyhound Review Personality of the Year Award.

This was the third time for Ireland’s most successful female trainer to receive this award which is voted on by Ireland’s greyhound journalists.

An amazing year commenced with Dolores landing a 1-2 in the Easter Cup with half-brothers Makeshift and Razldazl George and then followed a veritable wave of successes with Kingo in the Hegarty 600, Fleeting Image in the Corn Cuchulainn, Razldazl George in the Irish Derby, Razldazl Dmagio in the Razldazl Open Unraced and Razldazl Rioga in the Irish Laurels.

What makes the achievement even more remarkable is that Dolores also bred and reared most of these winners in conjunction with Liam Marks from that fantastic brood bitch Razldazl Pearl.

The presentation was made by Minister for Greyhounds, Shane McEntee and he also handed over the Stud Dog of the Year award to Sean Dunphy, owner of Head Bound. This is a first time success for Head Bound which has been a huge success story for the Knocktopher, County Kilkenny kennel since he was imported from Australia. In a very close call, he just pipped Westmead Hawk.

The awards were presented in conjunction with the launch of the 2012 Irish Greyhound Review Annual, the 34th volume of the yearly publication. Now on sale at all leading newsagents, the Review is the leading annual publication in the world of greyhound sport and features in-depth interviews with leading figures of the sport such as Dolores Ruth, IGB Chairman Phil Meaney, Oaks winning trainer John Linehan and English Derby winning breeder Noel Fleming.

It provides a full review of the Irish greyhound year with a very strong UK review. The publication is available from all leading Irish newsagents or by post from P.O Box 7993, Dun Laoghaire, Co. Dublin. (Email: Cost (incl. p&p) €17.

Draw for the Comerford Cakes National Puppy Stake to be run at Shelbourne is:


Heat 1: 1 Hather George; 2 Slippery Patch; 3 Barefoot Guru; 4 Bubbly Phoenix (m); 5 Annual Cha (m); 6 Tyrur Sallyann (w).

Heat 2: 1 Citizen Direct; 2 Hillcroft Joe; 3 Ruthless Man; 4 Motor Bar Bound; 5 Tynwald Tom; 6 Drummerer Vixen.

Heat 3: 1 Paradise Martin; 2 Cornamaddy Glam; 3 Enova Cash; 4 Ballymac Barn; 5 Kizzies Brian (m); 6 Dusseldorf (w).


Heat 4: 1 Eabhas Fantasy; 2 Daylens Delight; 3 Razldazl Houdini; 4 Express Legend; 5 Fridays Scolari (m); 6 Tyrur Ernie (w).

Heat 5: 1 Hanover Laddie; 2 Carbury Cheetah; 3 Longrange Ivor; 4 Razldazl Will; 5 Rattlin Goldstar; 6 What A Gem (m).

Heat 6: 1 Slippery Rocky; 2 Swift Marathon; 3 Express Champ; 4 Highview Idol (m); 5 Tolpuddle Steve (m); 6 Ballybough Hawke (w).

Heat 7: Coolavanny Shine; 2 Dear Pa; 3 Highview Dusty; 4 Razldazl Dmagio; 5 Cabra Noel; 6 Parkfield Harvey (w).

Heat 8: 1 Fridays Carol; 2 Razldazl Clooney; 3 Highview Beauty; 4 Swords Jacko; 5 Memories Dash; 6 Farloe Noel.

More in this section


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up