ICC Trophy Ireland launched

International Cricket Council chief executive Malcolm Speed has officially launched the ICC Trophy Ireland 2005.

The trophy, which is celebrating its silver jubilee, will involve 12 countries and offer a route for five to qualify for the World Cup in 2007 in the West Indies.

The trophy, which is being held for the eighth time, will see 42 matches held at 25 venues across northern and southern Ireland, starting in Belfast on 1 July and concluding with the final at Clontarf, Dublin on 13 July.

The President of the Irish Cricket Union, Stan Mitchell, said: “The tournament will simply be the biggest event in the long history of the Irish Cricket Union and with five places at stake for the next ICC Cricket World Cup, it will build up terrific support.

“I have no doubt it will give a new lease of life to the sport throughout the island, not only at the highest level but also at that vitally important grass-roots, development level,” said Mr Mitchell.”

More in this section

Join us for a special evening of Cheltenham chat on Friday March 12 at 6.30pm with racing legend and Irish Examiner columnist Ruby Walsh, Irish Examiner racing correspondent Tommy Lyons, and former champion jockey and tv presenter Mick Fitzgerald, author of Better than Sex.


Latest news from the world of sport, along with the best in opinion from our outstanding team of sports writers

Sign up
Home Delivery


Have the Irish Examiner delivered to your door. No delivery charge. Just pay the cover price.