Crime drama ‘Love/Hate’ heads Ifta nomination shortlist

Crime drama Love/Hate has been nominated for a record 11 accolades in the Irish Film and Television Awards.

The third series of the RTÉ show is up for best television drama, with writer Stuart Carolan and director David Caffrey making the shortlist alongside Tom Vaughan Lawlor and Robert Sheehan for lead actor along with Charlie Murphy and Susan Loughnane for lead and supporting actress.

The winners of the 40 strongly contested categories for the 10th Iftas will be revealed on Feb 9.

Ifta chief executive Áine Moriarty said the past year had shown the industry to be resilient and hard-working, producing some of the most diverse, engaging and talked-about Irish dramas, documentaries, feature films, entertainment and factual programmes.

“There’s no shortage of new and upcoming Irish creative talent, ready to make their mark on the world stage,” she said.

Some 315 titles were submitted for consideration.

Best film nominations are family drama Death Of A Superhero, 1970s Belfast punk scene biopic Good Vibrations, comedy horror Grabbers, political drama Shadow Dancer, and suspense drama What Richard Did.

In film acting, Colin Farrell is nominated for Seven Psychopaths, alongside Martin McCann, Ruth Bradley and Anne Marie Duff, for Jump, Grabbers and Sanctuary respectively.

Newcomer Seana Kerslake receives her first nomination for Dollhouse, and is joined by Jack Reynor and Róisín Murphy for their roles in What Richard Did.

Back on the small screen, The Borgias, Game Of Thrones and Titanic: Blood And Steel will compete against Love/Hate for best TV drama.

Actors up for lead television roles include Gabriel Byrne (Secret State), Colm Meaney (Hell On Wheels), Orla Brady (Sinbad), Carrie Crowley (Rasai Na Gaillimhe) and Amy Huberman (Threesome).

The current affairs and news category will be battled out between BBC NI’s Spotlight on Sean Quinn’s Missing Millions, TV3’s Midweek on Rural Ireland Fights Back, Vincent Browne Tonight, and RTÉ Prime Time’s Profiteering From Prostitution.

A Time To Die? is nominated in the category for best documentary along with Congo 1961, WB Yeats: No Country For Old Men and medical documentary MND The Inside Track.

Documentary series Ray D’Arcy: How To Beat Depression and 24 Hours To Kill are both nominated alongside Bullyproof and The New Irish After the Bust.

In the entertainment section, last year’s winner Mrs Brown’s Boys is nominated alongside The Voice Of Ireland, The Savage Eye and Chris O’Dowd’s Moone Boy.

More in this section

War of Independence Podcast

A special four-part series hosted by Mick Clifford

New episodes available each Tuesday during December

Available on

Commemorating 100 years since the War of Independence