Four Irish novels nominated for €100,000 literary award

FOUR Irish novels have been nominated for the 2011 International IMPAC Dublin Literary Award.

They will compete with 158 other titles for a prize of €100,000 to be presented in Dublin next year.

The four Irish nominees are Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann; Love and Summer by William Trevor; John the Revelator by Peter Murphy; and Brooklyn by Colm Tóibín, who won the IMPAC in 2006 for his novel The Master.

The 2011 award will be launched today by Lord Mayor of Dublin Gerry Breen, patron of the award, at a ceremony in Dublin City Library and Archive.

Dublin city librarian Margaret Hayes spoke of her delight at the number of Irish authors in competition for the prize.

“It is wonderful that four Irish authors have been nominated in the year that Dublin was designated as a City of Literature by Unesco,” she said.

The IMPAC long-list is compiled from nominations made by libraries around the world.

This year the 162 nominations come from 126 cities and 43 countries; 42 are titles in translation, and 35 are first novels.

“Two of the Irish authors were also the most popular choices,” said Ms Hayes. “Colum McCann’s Let the Great World Spin received 14 nominations and Colm Tóibín’s Brooklyn received 13.”

The IMPAC Award is the world’s most valuable annual literary prize for a single work of fiction. The eligible novels must be written in English, or translated into English.

The award is an initiative of Dublin City Council in partnership with IMPAC.

The 2011 judging panel includes Irish author John Boyne, British writer, translator and academic Susan Bassnett, Canadian/French author Nancy Huston, German poet and translator Michael Hofman and Welsh author and academic Tessa Hadley. The non-voting chairperson is Eugene R Sullivan.

Novels nominated for the 2011 award include Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel, winner of the 2009 Man Booker Prize; The Lacuna by Barbara Kingsolver, winner of the 2010 Orange Prize; and Brodeck’s Report by Phillippe Claudel, winner of the 2010 Independent Prize for Fiction.

Apart from Tóibín, a number of other previous winners have also made the long-list this year, including David Malouf, Orhan Pamuk, Tahar Ben Jelloun and Javier Marias.

The shortlist will be made public on April 12, 2011 and the Lord Mayor will announce the winner on June 15.

More in this section

War of Independence Podcast

A special four-part series hosted by Mick Clifford

Available on

Commemorating 100 years since the War of Independence