Six vie for prestigious film award

THE shortlist for the fourth annual Irish Council for Civil Liberties Human Rights Film Awards has been announced in Dublin by a celebrity jury that includes Oscar winner Brenda Fricker, Oscar nominated director Kirsten Sheridan and Senator David Norris.

Announcing the shortlist in a ceremony at the Irish Film Censors’ Office in Smithfield, jury member Kirsten Sheridan said: “The six films shortlisted this year focus sharply on the need to improve respect for the human rights of vulnerable groups.

“The ‘stars’ of this year’s films are dissidents, exploited labourers, children separated from their parents, Travellers living in squalor, same-sex couples reluctant to express their love, and couples grappling with adoption dilemmas. Our shortlisted filmmakers capture the dignity of these vulnerable people as they struggle for the respect to which they are entitled.”

The shortlisted films are:

1 Padres, directed by Liz Lobato;

2 Hold on Tight, produced by Zlata Filipovic and directed by Anna Rodgers;

3 A Hard Road Travelled, directed by Kevin Flynn;

4 Machine Man, directed by Roser Corella;

5 Chen Guangcheng: Caged Bird, produced by Adam Shapiro with animator Trish McAdam;

6 Leave to Remain, directed by Anna Byrne.

The shortlist was chosen by a panel of experts in human rights and the arts, including Alan Fitzpatrick, managing director of Filmbase; John Maguire, film critic with the Sunday Business Post; Alicia McGivern, head of education at the IFI; Conor Power, Barrister and former ICCL Board member; Marc O’Sullivan, arts editor of the Irish Examiner; Suzanne Egan of the UCD School of Law; and Michael Finucane, solicitor and former ICCL Board member. The shortlist will be the subject of an exclusive Gala Awards screening at the Light House Cinema on the evening of Jun 28 where the jury will announce the winning film.

The jury comprises acclaimed filmmakers Kirsten Sheridan, Rebecca Miller, Tomm Moore and Ken Wardrop; actors Brenda Fricker, Stephen Rea and Victoria Smurfit; Senator David Norris; Grainne Humphreys, director of the Jameson Dublin International Film Festival; Rod Stoneman of the Huston School of Film, Galway; James Morris, chair of the Irish Film Board and John Kelleher, former Director of IFCO.

Further information:

— Marc O’Sullivan

More in this section