Macra news: Two-in-a-row! Donoughmore is Macra Club of the Year

For the second year in a row, Donoughmore Macra has taken the coveted prize of Macra Club of the Year.
Macra news: Two-in-a-row! Donoughmore is Macra Club of the Year

The Muskerry, Co Cork club, which was reformed in 2004, beat off stiff competition from six other clubs to take the title at the Limerick Rally.

Club of the Year recognises Macra clubs’ achievements throughout the year, and is the highest accolade a club can achieve.

Fellow Cork clubs, Awbeg of the Avondhu region, Seandún club Carrigaline, Carbery club Ballinascarthy, as well as East Laois and Maudabawn clubs, also made the final.

Runners up were East Laois Macra, with Carrigaline Macra second runners up. Donoughmore was presented with a cheque of €500, and members extended thanks to well wishers and sponsor, Pat Barry’s Bar, for their support.

Mallow Macra president Fergal Buckley competed against 11 other finalists for the title of Best New Member.

Having made the shortlist of 12 members from throughout the country, following an interview, he was awarded the title for his dedication and commitment to his club in his first 12 months as a member.

Meanwhile, the final of the Know Your Ag quiz also took place at the Rally.

A team from Ferbane/ Banagher Macra in Co Offaly came out on top.

Second was a team from Freemount Macra, Co Cork, while a group from Portlaoise came third.

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up