Nine farms shortlisted for Quality Milk Awards

Nine dairy farms have been short-listed as finalists for the 2012 National Dairy Council & Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards. The nine are:

* David Cassidy, Coppenagh, Lisnagar, Cootehill, Co Cavan: supplier of milk to Glanbia.

* Danny and Patrick Cremin, Ballintubber, Newcastlewest, Co Limerick: suppliers of milk to Kerry Agribusiness.

* Noel Collins, Knockavoher, Leap, Co Cork: supplier of milk to Drinagh Co-op.

* Robert Groves, Ballyackey, Tralee, Co Kerry: supplier of milk to Lee Strand Co-op.

* Patrick Guinan, Ballycumber Road, Moate, Co Westmeath: supplier of milk to Arrabawn Co-op.

* Anne Maria Keane and Patrick Cotter, Lacca East, Kilmorna, Listowel, Co. Kerry: suppliers of milk to Kerry Agribusiness.

* Conor Murphy, Clonlea, Clonakilty, Co Cork: supplier of milk to Lisavaird Co-op.

* John Payne, Torboy, Moydow, Co Longford: supplier of milk to Connacht Gold Co-op.

Merle Tanner (Mrs), West View House, Aglish, Coachford, Co Cork: supplier of milk to Dairygold Co-op.

Countdown to finals

It is expected that the results will be announced on Oct 11. The overall, winning farmer will receive a prize of €5,000 and the NDC and Kerrygold Quality Milk Awards perpetual trophy.

This year’s competition updates, and results, when available, will be posted to

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up
News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up