Distinction awards for 54 members

LEADERSHIP distinction awards were presented to 54 Macra members during the Bank of Ireland-sponsored county officer training.

Gold, silver or bronze awards recognise the hard work and achievements of county officers. A gold award confers eligibility for national leadership awards, or representation of Macra overseas.

Co Limerick had four gold winners — Anna Holland, Siobhan Dunne, Yvonne Daly, and Liam Galvin.

Gold awards went to three in Co Cork’s Seandun region — Caitriona O’Connor, Donal Sweeney, and John O’Sullivan.

Co Laois had three for gold — Julieanne Walshe, Alison Holmes, and Noel Duffy. Two each of the top awards went to Co Galway — Roslyn Martyn and Mona O’Donoghue-Concannon; Co Waterford — Aoife Connors and John Cummins; Co Wicklow — Garvan Hickey and Mairead Whitty; and Co Dublin — Joe White and Siobhan Kelleher.

Other gold recipients were William Holohan in Co Kilkenny; Brendan Byrne in Co Wexford; Michael O’Regan in Avondhu in Co Cork; Brian O’Mahony in Carbery in Co Cork; Caroline McCarron in Co Kerry;

Catherine McCollum in Co Cavan; Siobhan Coyle in Co Donegal; and Ann Marie Wade in South Tipperary.

Training for club officers, also supported by Bank of Ireland, will be held on September 24 and 25 in the Johnstown Hotel, Enfield, Co Meath. The deadline to apply to attend is September 14.

More in this section


Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from irishexaminer.com, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up
News Wrap

A lunchtime summary of content highlights on the Irish Examiner website. Delivered at 1pm each day.

Sign up