Ploughing brothers at the double

BROTHERS Ger and Kieran Coakley of Clonakilty scored a remarkable double at the All-Ireland Ploughing Championships last week.

They won two senior championships.

Both were clear winners of their classes on day one at Athy, Kieran winning the under-21 conventional, and Gerard taking the under-28 reversible class. He went on to be placed third in the senior reversible on Wednesday, and second in the test match on Thursday, thus gaining his place on the Irish team in the 2011 European Reversible Championships.

Ger and Kieran’s father, Gerry, represented Ireland in three world championships, and his sons now have a bright future in ploughing competitions.

Another Co Cork winner on day one was Ger Collins in the under-40 horse class.

While Bernadette Nolan of Wexford won the farmerette class, she was followed home closely by runner-up Rachel O’Driscoll (Cork West), and Sinead Hayes (Cork East) in third place.

Cork West’s Liam O’Driscoll maintained his position as one of the top reversible ploughmen, gaining second place in the open class, and his place on the Irish team for the 2011 European Championships.

Other competitors in the frame from Cork West were Geoffrey Wycherley (second, standard reversible); Jim Nyhan (third, three-furrow match class); John Keohane (fourth, mounted vintage); Barry O’Sullivan, (fourth, test match); Tim Lawlor (fourth, special horse class).

Flying the flag for Cork East were Jim Barrett (winner, standard three-furrow); Moss Fleming (winner, mounted vintage); Michael Linehan (third, intermediate); JJ Delaney (second, senior horse) and Jeremiah Delaney (third, under-40 horse class.

Other class winners from Munster included Michael John Dillane (Limerick) in the under-28 junior class.

James Prendergast (Waterford) was second in the three-furrow match class.

That class was won by Pat Furlong (Wexford); Willie Murphy (Wexford) won the trailed vintage class; and Bruno McCormack was the single-furrow winner.

James Kilgarriffe (Galway) was tops in the special horse class. However, stalwarts from Wexford and Carlow dominated in the main events, with John and Eamonn Tracey to the fore in the senior conventional class, and John Whelan dominant in the senior reversible class.

As a result, Eamonn Tracey and John Whelan are the Irish team for the World Championship in Sweden next spring.

The European Reversible Championships were a great attraction. John Whelan from New Ross, Co Wexford became the first Irishman to win it, in the Czech Republic last year.

He narrowly failed to retain the title, but it stayed in Ireland, with former world and European champion David Wright from Magherafelt, Co Derry winning it for Northern Ireland


European Reversible: 1, David Wright, Northern Ireland. 2, John Whelan, Wexford. 3, Stefan Schreur, Netherlands.

Senior Under-28: 1 and 2 (a tie), Padraig Brandon, Laois and Thomas Hartly, Kilkenny 208. 3, Benny Kent, Wexford, 206. 4, Michael Simms, Donegal, 201. 5, John Murphy, Cork West, 197.

Intermediate: 1. Trevor Cobbe, Offaly, 206 points. 2, David Bollard, Meath, 205. 3, Michael Linehan, Cork East, 204; 4, Harry Mallon, Donegal, 199.

Senior Under-21: 1, Kieran Coakley, Cork West, 222. 2, Sean Tracey, Carlow, 203. 3, Brendan Greene, Laois, 191. 4, Sean Monaghan, Longford, 188.

Junior Under 21: 1, Kevin Egan, Offaly, 169. 2, Lorraine Cunningham, Monaghan, 168. 3, Kevin O’Sullivan, Tipperary North, 159. 4, Michael Donegan, Kerry, 152.

Junior Under 28: 1, Michael J Dillane, Limerick, 186. 2, John O’Brien, Tipperary South, 182. 3, Paul Kirwan, Waterford, 179. 4, Eamonn McKeown, Louth, 170.

Under-40 Horse: 1, Ger Collins, Cork West, 164. 2, David King, Louth, 162. 3, Jeremiah Delaney, Cork East, 147. 4, Noel Hand, Monaghan, 145.

Senior Under 28 Reversible: 1, Gerard Coakley, Cork West, 238. 2, Martin Kehoe, Wexford, 220. 3, Paddy Nolan, Kilkenny, 218. 4, Dermot Ryan, Offaly, 194.

Three-Furrow Match:1, Pat Furlong, Wexford, 100. 2, James Prendergast, Waterford, 99. 3, Jim Nyhan, Cork West and Kieran Magee, Monaghan, 96 (tie).

Three-Furrow Standard: 1 Jim, Barrett, Cork East, 94. 2, James Murphy, Tipperary South, 83. 3, Michael Reilly, Leitrim, 75. 4, Paul O’Brien, Sligo, 73.

Vintage Trailer: 1, Willie Murphy, Wexford, 162. 2, Thomas Pierce, Wicklow, 159. 3, Cecil Wray, Armagh, 157. 4,. Bertie Murray, Carlow, 156.

Vintage Mounted: 1, Moss Fleming, Cork East, 2, John McBride, Offaly. 3, Billy Ritchie, Derry. 4, John Keohane, Cork East.

Single Furrow: 1, Bruno McCormac, Meath, 154. 2, Willie Haden, Wexford, 153. 3, Noel Cummins, Kildare, 150. 4, Danny Glynn, Galway, 144.

Farmerette: 1, Bernadette Nolan, Wexford, 91. 2, Rachel O’Driscoll, Cork West, 87. 3, Sinead Hayes, Cork East, 86. 4, Nollaig Mahon, Offaly, 84.

Senior Conventional:1, Eamonn Tracey, Carlow, 460. 2, David Gill, Down, 446. 3, John Tracey, Carlow, 429. 4, Willie John Kehoe, Wexford, 424.

Senior Reversible: 1, John Whelan, Wexford, 501. 2, Liam O’Driscoll, Cork West, 489. 3, Ger Coakley, Cork West, 476. 4, Tom Donnelly, Wicklow, 435.

Three Furrow Reversible: 1, Declan Brennan, Laois, 105. 2, Geoffrey Wycherly, Cork West, 104. 3, Alex Watchorn, Kilkenny, 103. 4, Rodney Cox, Offaly, 100.

Senior Horse:1, Gerry King, Louth. 2, JJ Delaney, Cork East. 3, Benny Mohan, Galway.

Special Horse: 1, James Kilgarriffe, Galway, 160. 2, Gerry King, Louth, 155. 3, Jeremiah Delaney, Cork East, 153. 4, Tim Lawlor, Cork West, 151.

More in this section

courtsplace: clonakiltyplace: athyplace: irelandplace: wexfordplace: limerickplace: waterfordplace: galwayplace: carlowplace: swedenplace: new rossplace: coplace: czech republicplace: magherafeltplace: derryplace: netherlandsplace: southperson: brothers gerperson: kieran coakleyperson: kieranperson: gerardperson: gerperson: gerryperson: ger collinsperson: bernadette nolanperson: rachel o’driscollperson: sinead hayesperson: liam o’driscollperson: geoffrey wycherleyperson: jim nyhanperson: john keohaneperson: barry o’sullivanperson: tim lawlorperson: jim barrettperson: moss flemingperson: michael linehanperson: jj delaneyperson: jeremiah delaneyperson: michael john dillaneperson: james prendergastperson: pat furlongperson: willie murphyperson: bruno mccormackperson: james kilgarriffeperson: johnperson: eamonn traceyperson: john whelanperson: david wrightperson: stefan schreurperson: padraig brandonperson: thomas hartlyperson: benny kentperson: michael simmsperson: john murphyperson: trevor cobbeperson: david bollardperson: harry mallonperson: sean traceyperson: brendan greeneperson: sean monaghanperson: kevin eganperson: lorraine cunninghamperson: kevin o’sullivanperson: michael doneganperson: michael j dillaneperson: john o’brienperson: paul kirwanperson: eamonn mckeownperson: david kingperson: noel handperson: gerard coakleyperson: martin kehoeperson: paddy nolanperson: dermot ryanperson: offalyperson: kieran mageeperson: jimperson: barrettperson: james murphyperson: michael reillyperson: paul o’brienperson: thomas pierceperson: wicklowperson: cecil wrayperson: bertie murrayevent: all-ireland ploughing championshipsevent: 2011 european reversible championshipsevent: 2011 european championshipsevent: three-furrowevent: european reversible championshipsorganisation: co corkorganisation: cork westorganisation: cork eastorganisation: munsterorganisation: wexfordorganisation: northern irelandorganisation: laoisorganisation: kilkennyorganisation: donegalorganisation: offalyorganisation: meathorganisation: longfordorganisation: limerickorganisation: waterfordorganisation: cork westorganisation: armaghorganisation: carlow

Keep up-to-date with all the latest developments in Farming with our weekly newsletter

Sign up

Our Covid-free newsletter brings together some of the best bits from, as chosen by our editor, direct to your inbox every Monday.

Sign up