Squads announced for hurling/shinty internationals

The GAA have announced the squads which have been selected for the U21 and senior hurling/shinty internationals against Scotland on Saturday next, October 18.

The senior international takes place in Nowlan Park, Kilkenny at 3pm while the U21 game will be held in Durrow, Co. Laois at 12 noon.

Manager Lester Ryan has named a strong senior squad, which includes Derek Lyng, Tommy Walsh and Eddie Brennan from All-Ireland champions Kilkenny as well as Cork’s Seán Óg Ó hAilpín.

The panel also includes three representatives from Carlow’s Christy Ring Cup-winning side, Des Shaw, Edward Coady and Shane Kavanagh, who captains the side, as well as Dermot Clarke and Michael Gilmartin from Nicky Rackard Cup winners Sligo.

The full senior panel is: Graham Clarke (Down), Geoffrey Bermingham (Wicklow), Paul Branniff (Down), Eddie Brennan (Kilkenny), Michael Burke (Meath), Dermot Clarke (Sligo), Edward Coady (Carlow), Declan Coulter (Armagh), Michael Gilmartin (Sligo), James Glancy (Leitrim), Shane Kavanagh (Carlow, capt), Stephen Kelly (Wicklow), Derek Lyng (Kilkenny), Brendan McGourty (Down), Brendan Murtagh (Westmeath), Seán Óg Ó hAilpín (Cork), Des Shaw (Carlow), John Shaw (Westmeath), Tommy Walsh (Kilkenny).

The U21 panel named by manager Paudie Butler is primarily made up of players from counties which play in the Christy Ring and Nicky Rackard Cup.

The side is captained by John Rogers (Carlow) and also includes Sean Bourke from host club The Harps as well as Keith Raymond (Sligo), man of the match in the Nicky Rackard Cup final and Niall Kilcoyne, son of Westmeath’s only All-Star, David.

The U21 panel is: Sean Ennis (Down), Sean Bourke (Laois), David Donoghue (Meath), John Doran (Carlow), Peter Durnin (Meath), Ronan Keddy (Wicklow), Niall Kilcoyne (Westmeath), Stephen Lambe (Monaghan), Eoin Madigan (Mayo), Eoin Mason (Wicklow), Barry McFall (Antrim), Andrew Neligan (Cavan), John O’Malley (Kildare), Keith Raymond (Sligo), John Rogers (Carlow, capt), Anthony Sheridan (Cavan), Darren Whelan (Carlow), Conor Woods (Down).

More in this Section

Josh van der Flier set for Ireland start as Leavy out of New Zealand clash

Matt Wallace shrugs off slow-play fine to set pace in Dubai

Ben Purkiss calls for evolution at the Professional Footballers’ Association

Dan Leavy ruled out of Ireland's test match against New Zealand

Breaking Stories

Wishlist: Colour Christmas gifts for the home

Live by the book or create your own wonderful outlook

Interiors are brought back to book

Significant winter auctions of Irish art are under way

More From The Irish Examiner